What Will the Canadians Think of Next?

I found this article on a web search. My comments are in bold.

Mildred’s Temple Kitchen, Canadian Restaurant, Encourages Customers To Have Sex In Its Bathrooms
Huffington Post | Adam Taylor

Mildred’s Temple Kitchen, a restaurant in Toronto, Canada, are invited to spice up their love life this Valentine’s Day with a trip to the bathroom. (Well, I know where somebody is going for Valentine’s Day.)

“Have you given any thought to moving beyond the bedroom?” patrons were asked in a not-too-subtle promotional e-mail.

The individual bathrooms will be open for sexual escapades from the 12-15th February. According to the manager, Rory Gallagher, a french maid (hooker?)  will be working the toilets, making sure everything is “going smoothly (huh?) and kept clean.”

(Is she going to be in there listening to all the action or is she there simply for the clean up?  Will she need a bucket and a hose?  How much does one get paid for that sort of job?  Is tipping required?) 

“We’ve always had little trysts in our bathrooms,” co-owner Donna Dooher told The Toronto Star. (The only trysting in our restrooms is the self-serve kind.  Someone bragged about it on the wall once.  He wrote, “I mastirbated here.”  I hoped he jacked off better than he could spell.) We’re taking it to the next level on Valentine’s weekend.” She added that customers are expected to bring their own condoms.  (Are customers expected to bring their own silverware?  I think not.)

Perhaps surprisingly, Toronto’s Public Health food safety program manager said the restaurant wasn’t breaking any laws as long as there’s no intercourse in the kitchen and the bathrooms are kept clean.  (How about public indecency?  All food service employees know you have sex in the walk-in coolers, not in the kitchen.  Duh.)  

“As far as bodily fluids, it’s pretty much similar to the other human functions going on in there,” said Chan, slightly undercutting the erotic value of the venture.  (Just when I thought public toilets couldn’t get any more disgusting.)

The article without my 2 cents is here.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 11:05:40

    If you are implying that I am that somebody going there on St. Valentine’s Day, you are surely mistaken. I don’t screw in restaurant restrooms.

    Sorry if I offended. I’d have to go just to see if it was for real.

    I heard about this yesterday on the radio. I only caught the last half of the interview with some guy representing the restaurant. I found it so ridiculous, I didn’t quite believe what I was hearing and thought I might be half asleep and hallucinating the discussion.

    What people do in the privacy of their own bedrooms is their own business. But a restaurant bathroom??? I don’t care if the restaurant encourages that sort of behaviour. You know that old saying “Don’t eat where you shit.” Well, don’t eat vag where you shit. This is nastier than that swinger’s club that opened a couple years ago.

    It’s just too disgusting to think about.

    This restaurant is located a stone’s throw from an insane asylum, er, sorry, mental health centre. Fitting.

    I guess that explains it.

    This is what’s wrong with Toronto. There is absolutely no sense of shame in this town. Regular hard-working people have no say anymore. The extra-special interest groups have way to much free reign to do whatever the hell they want. And nobody says “boo” to them because in this screwed up country, you can get sued for depriving somebody of their civil right to be an absolute asshat!

    So this is what you mean when you go off on the hippies? I believe people have the right to be free until it encroaches on my right to be free as well.

    I hope that the police raid this place and throw everybody in jail. That’ll never happen. If the police even try, they’ll get hauled in front of the Human Rights Tribunal and lose, lose badly.

    If this is what Toronto is going to allow to happen in order to up tourism, I’m friggin’ ecstatic that I’m taking my vacation pay south of the border where people aren’t as fucked up.

    The area where I live relies on tourism, but no one here would dream of doing something like that. They would be raided/shut down before the event even happened.

    (Just so you know, I don’t live in Sodom or Gomorrah, er Toronto, I live in a regular, ordinary, suburban, corrupt-politician-run town north of Toronto. Where people do normal things like go to work and then spend evenings and weekends with friends and family doing relatively dull, law-abiding and non-perverted activities.)

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 12:04:47

    How funny would it be if you go into the washroom to take a huge stinky shit and it ruins the mood for everyone in the other stalls. Or hell, how weird would it be to listen to everyone else having sex while you are using a urinal in the same room as them.

    This would be the only reason I would want to go. That and to see what type of perverts are attracted by this sort of thing.

    Part of me wants to go to this place now. I need to find out where it is.

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 12:53:12

    No, what would make you think that? I thought you were interested in shitting on other people’s days? You already said you weren’t going to the place for romantic reasons.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 14:33:11

    Toronto? Really? I’m surprised that ad didn’t come from San Francisco. It sounds nasty – who wants to do the dance of love in the poopy room? Ewww!

    And who wants to do it where you KNOW someone else has just finished? There isn’t enough bleach in the world.

    I had a roommate after I got divorced several years ago, and she and her boyfriend broke my toilet from doing it in/on the potty. I was pissed. No pun intended. And that’s just gross. *shudder*

    Ahh, Bob and WIGSF, planning pranks. Be sure to blog about it after you prank this place, you guys, so the rest of us can laugh too! 😉

    Yeah, you’ve been saying you’re out of blog ideas. This one evening would give you at least a week’s worth of material.

    Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Feb 05, 2010 @ 15:41:09

      Toronto’s current mayor is originally from San Francisco. Toronto is in many ways, a colder, flatter San Francisco.

      Reply

  5. Kate
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 19:45:33

    Do they serve coffee in the restrooms as well?
    “Mildred’s Temple Kitchen” – sounds like a good name for a brothel. Oh wait..

    Maybe the restaurant is just a cover for the real business.

    Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Feb 06, 2010 @ 15:21:32

      TO has plenty of brothels and frankly, they’re almost flaunted. Currently at the Human Rights Tribunal, a case is underway to work towards legalizing whoring.

      Can I move to your town?

      Yes you could.

      To give you an example of how conservative things are here, a few years ago this retired guy bought some commercial property in an industrial area to build a workshop. He got tired of people nosing in his business, so he smarted off and said he was building an adult bookstore. In less than a week, the city council scheduled a meeting to discuss this proposed bookstore and the story ended up on the front page of the local newspaper. The guy was ranting to his wife about somebody opening an adult bookstore only to find out HE was the one they were denying the permit for. HAHAHA!

      Be warned, we’re conservative AND bored.

      Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 23:56:49

    I want to know if they’re going to allow post-coital smoking in the restrooms, too. Why not? How’s that any more nasty than screwing in a public restroom?

    Frankly, I’d rather smoke than screw in a public restroom. It’s way more sanitary.

    Reply

  7. Brea
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 13:03:23

    Ok, this has to have been a prank. The co-owner’s name is Donna DOO HER??

    It was dead serious. I found it on several news stories. I didn’t notice the last name until you pointed it out though. All I can say is ewwww.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

