Super Bowel 2009

I am so thankful I am working as a cashier for Super Bowl.  Last year I was one of two servers and I made less than $20 in tips for a 6 hour shift.  This year I have a guaranteed wage no matter how dead we are.

There is one other thing for which I’m thankful.

The highlight of last year’s Super Bowl Sunday was when two elderly, local people came in to eat less than an hour before closing.  The other server had left since we were dead, and I was trying to get the restaurant cleaned so I could take my meager earnings and go home right after we locked the doors.  No such luck.

They ordered salad bar and ate like old people until about 15 minutes after we closed.  All I had left to do was clean the restrooms, but I wanted to wait until after they were gone because I KNEW one of them was going to make a mess in one of the restrooms.

So the woman went to the register to pay and the man hobbled off with his cane to the men’s room.  The woman paid, stood at the front and waited.  And waited.  Then waited some more.

Suddenly, the old guy came high tailing it out of the restroom, smoke flying from his cane.  Judging from the amount of time he spent in the restroom and the haste in which he was leaving, I knew he made a mess.

Oh yeah.  He had shit on the floor and wiped his ass with the toilet seat.  I was so fucking mad.  And as if that wasn’t bad enough, he also walked in it and tracked it all the way across the dining room, which I had to re-mop with about a gallon of bleach.

This year I’m not responsible for any old guys shitting on the floor.  For that, I am counting my blessings.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 09:34:43

    Oh, lord. That reminds me of when I worked in a Wrangler factory, and somebody would smear poo all over the walls and the toilet in this one stall, several times a week. I understand if you’re having problems, but do you have to smear it on the wall? That’s what toilet paper is for. I just don’t understand that kind of mess.

    Which brings me back to the sex in the bathroom story. People spit boogers and wipe shit on bathroom walls. Do you really want that in your hair?

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 17:48:27

    That is so gross.
    I’m glad you’re working as a cashier this round too.

    I feel blessed.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 00:14:44

    Why in the world would he go on the floor?? Oh my gosh, at his age you’d think he’d know better! That’s just terrible.

    I’m sure it was an accident. I was less mad at him and more mad at the situation of getting older and not being able to control your body. No, I was mad at him for walking in it and tracking it through the dining room.

    I hope things were much better this year!

    They were.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

