Vacation Requests

We have a little form we fill out at work for any requested time off.  We are not allowed to take vacation time from May 1st to August 31st and the requests are fill on a first come, first serve basis.

So last month I requested March 28th-April 4th off.  I always take off Wednesday-Sunday of Holy Week and this year I decided to combine my vacation time with my religious time.  Last year my daughter and I went to this great, old hotel in Buffalo, Wyoming and spent a week doing nothing but taking hot baths and getting pampered. It was such a fabulous experience, I want to do it again this year. 

While I was filling out my request, the stupid new girl looked over my shoulder (which annoys me to no end) because she wanted to see how it was done.  The next day, she requested the same time off as I did.  When Kayla told her I had my request in first and only one person could go at at time, her response was, “We’ll see.”  Essentially, she turned my vacation plans into a popularity contest.  I’m more than a little pissed about this since it creates a hardship for Darren and somebody is going to get screwed.

Darren asked her why she believed she deserved time off since she’s only worked a couple of months, and why it had to be at the same time I requested my time off. Oh, because it’s her daddy’s birthday and she wants to go to Oregon to surprise him. She doesn’t have the gas money to make it to the state line, so I don’t know who she’s shitting.

I’ve been in a bit of a quandry this week because I don’t know if my daughter can take the time off both work and school to go back to Buffalo. We’ve been talking and I decided it she can’t go, I’ll go to Laramie and hang out for the week. Not a great vacation, but I’ll be with my kids.

The stupid new girl heard me talking about my plans with Kayla and now my vacation isn’t nearly as important as hers since I can go hang out with my kids any time. Who the fuck does she think she is?

  • I requested first.
  • It has been a year since my last vacation.
  • She has worked there a matter of months.

I am really bitched out about this.  I know I will get my time off, but she didn’t need to cause this sort of controversy and headache for Darren.  It’s pure middle school and complete bullshit.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 17:10:17

    Yes. Yes it is. And I’d be bitched out about it too. I say take her behind the dumpster and f*ck her up royale, mafia style. Old school. Tonya Harding school.

    I think about this a lot.

    But, since you’re probably more mature than I am, I guess you’ll have to be quick on the draw next year or she’s going to make sure she beats you out for that time.

    It’s doubtful she will be here next year.

    I hate that kind of sh!t. I really do.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 17:13:42

    She is such a child. She doesn’t deserve vacation time, especially if she’s only part-time. A full year! She needs to work there a full year before she can request vacation time! Sheesh! Talk about expecting gimmes!

    I was raised with the idea of not asking for time off since your employer may realize just how little s/he needs you. Seriously though, most places expect you to work much longer than 3 months before you ask for a week long vacation.

    I sure hope things work out with your daughter, that sounds like so much fun. 🙂

    It will be great whether we are in Laramie or Buffalo. I like to be with my kids.

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 21:40:54

    Ooh that hotel looks good, must be if Butch Cassidy stayed there. 🙂

    It was great. It was the most relaxing week I’ve ever had.

    It’s awful when that sort of thing happens at work, the little !!?$#**!
    And if she left next week that’s still a long time.

    She’s an insecure baby.

    Reply

  4. steve
    Feb 13, 2010 @ 08:03:56

    I wouldnt agree she doesnt deserve vacation time…but i would think seniority should have its privilages….your time should get approved first then hers…i hope it does and you have a great time…you deserve a vacation getting paid TIME AND A HALF…zman sends

    Why thank you! I do get a paid vacation, just not time and a half.

    Reply

  5. Heif
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 07:23:48

    Ughh, I hate her for you. What a winner. If for some reason she does get off instead of you, the MOST DESERVING, I hope she gets some kind of itching dripping infection that no pill will cure….it’ll be a vk she’ll always remember

    HAHA! I hope she gets one anyway.

    Reply

  6. Jamie Bowman
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 02:22:33

    Let’s light her hair on fire. Better yet let’s tell her she’s bad at her job. and maybe she will get a new one. Kinda like when you told her she had to put her hair ALL THE WAY up and she went and told Darren you told her it was too long and she had to cut it. I’m hoping she makes that kind of correlation with everything. ???

    I’m hoping she stops working the same days I do.

    Reply

  7. Brandy
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 01:56:19

    When I come visit can I be mean to her? Please please please.

    She will avoid you so you probably won’t get the chance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

