Friday’s Catch-Up

(Brought to you a day late by Halo who can’t keep her teeth off anything, including internet cords.)

I’ve noticed something really irritating about being a hostess.  When I take people to their table, much like the head sheep leading the herd, they stand right behind me while I’m putting the menus on the table.  When I step back, 9 times out of 10, I step on some sheeple and nearly fall down.  WTF?  Can they not think one step ahead and realize I have to get away from the table, so standing right behind me probably isn’t a good idea?  Or is it like Dani says, they think I am going to climb over the table?  One of these days I might try that. 

********

It was sad and disturbing to learn a former waiter at the restaurant died from an asthma attack while living in Las Vegas.  He was only 38 years old and he and his partner just had a baby.  Thirty-eight is way too young to die and an asthma attack is no way to go.

Peace be with you, Dru.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 00:51:24

    It’s truly amazing how many people stand behind like that. And move sideways the wrong way as well.
    That’s awful about your friend – 38 is far too young.

    They are like sheep…they go where led and need a border collie to tell them what to do. I might have to start bringing Otis to work with me.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 15:52:58

    Well now, I guess I don’t feel so stupid now for following like 8 feet behind! LOL

    So, so sorry about your friend. That IS an awful way to go.

    8 feet behind is great. I like it when people lollygag when I’m trying to seat them. I can put the menus down and get turn around/get away without them crowding up behind me or kicking me in the knees as they rush to sit down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

