Things I Like; Things I Don’t

It seems there are a couple of creepy men cruising around town trying to sell vacuums and, of course, the child abduction alert is high.  Anytime someone new shows up in town everyone assumes they are going to steal kids.  The joys of life in a small town. 

There have been complaints of these guys shoving their way into peoples’ homes and doing the high pressure sale.  Why doesn’t anyone try to shove themselves into my home?  Why do other people get all the excitement?  Could it be the big ‘Beware of Dog(s)’ signs I have posted everywhere? 

I know my neighbours ruin my fun by warning unsuspecting salesmen ahead of time.  The last salespeople I had at my house were three women trying to sell me some religion.  They stood on the sidewalk and knocked on the front of the house.  My dogs hate that shit even more than they hate people knocking on the door.  When I went outside to see what was going on, the women told me they had been warned about my dogs and were afraid to come to the door.  And yet they still persisted.  Must have been some good religion.

**********

There are some things I never get tired of watching on YouTube. Here are a few of them:

Skidboot, the amazing dog.

Just plain fun.

Much more dramatic and amazing.

Miss Wyoming 2006, Jenileigh Sawatzke

My very own girl is on the left in the orange dress and she shows up doing a comedy monologue at about 30 seconds in.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 19:21:51

    I think the Beware of Dog signs probably are a big factor to you missing all the excitement. Just a thought. 😉 In my mind, it’s one of those things to be thankful for.

    I can’t watch vids on this comp, but I see you did the sand art one. Stinker! I’m using that next week! I’ve had it sitting in my drafts folder for like 6 mos and now when I finally get around to posting it, you beat me to it! Ah well, you get the early bird prize on this one, LOL.

    Sorry. Is it the same sand artist? There are lots of interesting ones out there.

    You beat me to the post about sleeping with a warm body and now I can’t seem to get ‘Sleeping Between my Bitches’ to work out the way I want. What goes around comes around. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 00:32:49

    Woo, they’re amazing, all of them. Thankyou for sharing those!

    Skidboot is my favourite. I don’t care how many times I watch it, I cry like a little girl.

    Was your girl a runner up?

    No, that year she won a small scholarship. The next year she won a really nice scholarship. I don’t know if she’s through competing or if she’ll give it another try.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 04:37:56

    When people drive around my town trying to sell things, everybody just assumes the stuff is either hot or a knock-off. So is how it going’s in the big city.

    HAHAHA! I never thought about that. Maybe the vacuums are hot.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 04:39:47

    As for child abduction, it’s impossible these days. Little Dakota is never alone long enough for somebody to steal her. Hell, like she’s ever even see daylight. Only time she leaves the house is to go the car with takes her to her ballet classes or school or whatever the heck parents force their kids into these days.

    Parents are pretty lax around here. I’m surprised kids haven’t been abducted.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 14:57:10

    Yes, abduction alert SHOULD be high, IMO. And the vacuum cleaner sales guy pushing their way into the house is a FAST way to get arrested. Why hasn’t THAT happened?

    Rumour has it the police can’t find them. Uh…town of 351 people and 2 cops can’t find strangers? It might just be a slow gossip day around town for all I know.

    Very creepy story. I bet there’s a novel in there somewhere. Maybe someone will flesh it out. 🙂

    (No, not me.)

    Not me either. All my stories end in death and dismemberment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

