What’s Your Name Again?

My daughter has always been a performer.  Since the days of elementary school, if we were going somewhere as mundane as Walmart, it was a reason for her to dress up.  Someone might be watching.  I usually had to say, “This isn’t a big production, we are just going through McDonald’s drive thru, so put your clothes on and let’s go.”

As she got older she started playing the flute.  There were recitals and festivals and while the other girls were running around in a panic, my girl was patiently waiting for her time to shine in the spotlight.

Then came figure skating.  This was a perfect medium for her…the glamourous costumes, the theatric make up, the dramatic music, the captive audience, and the applause.  Don’t forget the applause.

There have been beauty pageants and state drama competitions.  If there is an audience, my girl is there to perform for it.

So back in 2002 when she was 15 and the Draper Museum of Natural History opened, she was honoured to play ‘God Bless America’ on her flute for the opening ceremony.  More than 4,000 people attended the grand opening, the very thought of which made me cower at home, but they gave my girl wings. 

She was so excited the morning of the event, yet when I picked her up afterward, she was grouchy and subdued. 

“So, how did everything go?” I asked, always worried that she would have a spirit breaking performance. 

“Fine.”

Hmmm…  “So what’s wrong?”

“Mom, no one paid any attention to me.  They were all interested in some old dude.” 

“Oh.  Who was he?”

“I don’t know his name.  Clint something…”

It's Mr. Eastwood to you.

Yep, bless her heart, my girl was offended that people were more interested in Clint Eastwood than her.  

Someday when she’s the one everyone is clamouring to see, maybe she will remember to look around and find the little flute player thriving on the audience and give her a little more of the spotlight.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 03:36:25

    What a lovely anecdote, and what a talented girl you have!

    Why thank you.

    Figure skating and flute playing and drama – that’s a lot of hard work and dedication. Wow. She certainly deserves to succeed.

    Currently she’s coaching figure skating and going to school for kinesiology so she can coach at a higher level.

    I wonder what Clint would think if he knew that 23 yr olds don’t know who he is? Would it make his day? 🙂

    I don’t think he cares what 15 year olds think. She knows who he is now because of his directing, which she thinks is top notch.

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 07:00:44

    Aw, how cute. I guess that’s the road my 11yo is going down. I have the same problems with my daughter’s crazy need to be dressed up at every moment of the day. She wants to be a fashion designer, but she also loves performing. I used to, too, but I outgrew it in my early thirties.

    Yeah, my idea of ‘dressed up’ is to make sure I’m wearing pants. She was a trial when she was younger because I didn’t (and sometimes still don’t) understand the need for primping. I had to learn to respect her needs and how they are different from mine.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 10:32:11

    That is an AWESOME story, Holly. AWESOME.

    Thank you. Kids have to be good for something right? I had her pre-read it to make sure I wasn’t violating any privacy and she said it was funny but embarrassing. My kids embarrassed me enough when they were growing up, now it’s my turn to embarrass them.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 13:12:06

    What a great story! “Some old dude.” Poor Clint! LOL

    I’m sure he doesn’t mind.

    I never understood spotlight people myself, but I do understand that it’s people like me who are able to help give them what they need. I love nothing more than to sit in that audience and just watch. 🙂

    I’m much more of a watcher…even a watcher of the watchers. I’m the one sitting way on the sidelines profiling everyone in the room. It takes all kinds to make the world go ’round.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 09:20:54

    I think it’s just hysterical that she didn’t know who Clint Eastwood was! It sounds like she’s learned that she isn’t going to be the center of attention if she’s coaching now!

    HAHAHA! Did you see the pictures of her? Does it look like she’s ready to give up the spotlight? She’s more mature now and understands when it’s about her and when it’s about someone else.

    Reply

  6. steve
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 13:21:00

    That is truly a great story..(was listening to Joh Mayer – Heart of Life) while i read your story it seemed to match perfectly. With a great mom like you she will be the girl everyone looks at someday……Funny that she didnt know who Clint Eastwood was though…zman sends

    Thank you for the kind words. I think John Mayer is a douche bag so I’ll have to take your word on the song.

    I was dumbfounded when she told me who her competitor was. I thought everyone was born knowing who Clint Eastwood is.

    Reply

  7. Brandy
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 00:07:33

    I’m vain… what can I say? lol but I would take a bullet for a stranger.

    And I may know who Clint Eastwood is now but he’s still that “old dude.”

    HAHA! Silly girl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

