Quirks

Everyone who know me knows I’m a little odd.  Maybe that’s a bit of an understatement.

One of my quirks is I’ll look at something in my house and decide it’s pissing me off and the next thing I know it’s out in the yard.  A couple of years ago my refrigerator was annoying me to no end.  Everytime I opened the door I saw filth.  Rotten, disgusting filth.  So I decided it had to go.  Not the filth, but the refrigerator.

I took all the shelves and drawers out and pitched them on the deck.  Then I tried to get the refrigerator out the door, but it wouldn’t fit no matter how hard I shoved.  I resolved the issue by hooking up the garden hose and spraying out the inside. 

Once it was clean, I asked myself what was it that was pissing me off.  For one thing, the refrigerator was in an awkward place in relation to the stove and sink and the door opened the wrong way.  So I got out my skill saw and got rid of about 4 feet of counter space.  Now the refrigerator is next to the sink and stove, and the door opens the right way.  Problem solved.

Except that no matter how I looked at, the refrigerator shelves were still pissing me off.  Food gets stacked on them and shoved to the back where it quietly rots.  So for two years the shelves and drawers have sat on the deck.  My mother has commented on them.  Something along the lines of “you live like a coyote”, whatever that means.

Today while I was (yet again) repairing the dog fence, I saw two of the drawers in the duck yard and I thought maybe it was time to bring the shelves back in.  Now that I’m alone (and never have food in the house) maybe I can keep track of rotting food. 

If not, I’ll cut out a bigger door and the whole damn thing will be on the deck.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:19:37

    That’s kind of like me, too; I get wild hairs over my butt and want nothing less than to destroy whatever it is that’s ticking me off.

    My favourite was when I hauled my bathroom scale down two flights of stairs and to the Dumpster at 2 in the morning. I suddenly felt so much lighter.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:29:28

    among some north american aboriginal tribes, the coyote is a significant figure in lore, something to do with being the trickster or something.

    I don’t think she meant it as a compliment. 😦

    I would link to a quirky little short story if I could remember it. Something I read in college. I’ve got it a home, but I’m not at home.

    I’ll remind you when you get home.

    Reply

  3. Heif
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 16:12:53

    I dream of doing things like that. To bad I’m lazy with no follow through!

    It has nothing to do with ambition. Trust me.

    Reply

  4. Kate
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 16:22:04

    Oh good grief, you hosed out the fridge, and then took a skill saw to the counter!! When you want kitchen renovations ‘who ya gonna call’. That’s hilarious, practical, but too funny. 😀

    I’m not a great handywoman, but it works for me.

    and for some reason I have suddenly got this image of you when you’re a really old lady sitting out on the porch with a shotgun and a bottle of whisky, taking potshots at passing Jehovah’s Witnesses. 😉

    No shotgun, remember the dogs. Sic! Sic! 🙂

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 17:08:44

    Oh my gosh, you gave up prime counter real estate? I think I’d suffer with the awkward fridge rather than give up counter space. I know the door can be switched so that’s not a problem but the rest I’d just live with.

    The counter space I ditched was unused and unuseable except for piling crap. When I got rid of it, I got rid of the crap pile and created a space for the mop and broom as well as the refrigerator.

    Hey, if you need help with things like the fridge, check out http://repairclinic.com

    Lots of great, and useful info there. 🙂

    Oh, you don’t want me going to places like that. I’m great at starting projects, not so great at finishing them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

