Colour Coordinating

I never know if I like it or not when women completely colour coordinate their clothes.  Is it overkill or a smart look?

Recently a woman came in the restaurant all decked out in turquoise.  She had on a turquoise skirt, matching pumps, fake turquoise pearls and earrings, a white blouse and a jaunty turquoise hat.  In my opinion she looked pretty awful since turquoise isn’t a kind colour unless you have dark skin, which she didn’t.  She was happy with herself and I guess when it comes down to it, that’s all that matters.

Another woman in the restaurant took it a little too far with the lavender, though.  She had on lavender slacks with matching sandals; lavender earrings and necklace, and a lavender shirt/vest combo.  Peeking out of her lavender purse was a lavender box of Monistat.  I about peed my pants.  I had to clap my hand over my mouth and run for the waitstation.

I guess this begs the question:  Do you buy products based on their colour?  If multiple products are available, are you more inclined to pick the package with your favourite colour?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 10:05:19

    One guy from my baseball team likes colour co-ordinating everything. he will buy blue baseball cleats to match his uniform.

    My son does that. I call him a queer.

    I was told yesterday by Bobette, that I try to hard to colour coordinate.

    I’ve been dumped for not colour coordinating…pink shoes, green socks, yellow sweatshirt, orange shorts. I like to wear colours that make me happy.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 11:31:56

    If you notice the person right away then the person either looks really great or looks really bad. And chances are, it’s the really bad option, not the really good.

    I agree. I’ve seen many more bad colour coordinations than good ones.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 12:26:30

    I sort of agree with WIGSF. And I have a nature aversion to being matchy in my clothes; NO idea why. Gimme contrast, as long as it doesn’t clash.

    In my free time I wear what I like and I don’t care if it matches or clashes. If I’m happy so is everyone else.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 15:36:04

    I’ve probably been guilty of the matchy match thing, when I had more clothes and shoes in more colors. I try not to though, because I’ve noticed old ladies tend to do it, and I have no idea why. It’s not like they make garanimals for grown-ups.

    These were both older ladies who had probably been accumulating these outfits for years and were very proud of them.

    Although, someone probably should, because I’ve also seen some really atrocious combinations out there.

    Oh yes. I’ve seen things that make me think people have stopped buying mirrors.

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 16:32:17

    It can look good. But usually on very small kids. Then it’s cute.

    Kids look cute in lots of stuff that adults shouldn’t wear.

    I once saw someone who was wearing all mid blue, including ear rings and had rinsed her grey hair to match. Funnily enough she actually looked quite nice, but in her case she had the personality to carry it.
    Oh gosh I’m getting snarky 😦

    That wasn’t snarky at all. If a person has the personality to carry off something truly horrible, they should go for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

