Credit Cards

We have a policy at the restaurant that if a credit card isn’t signed, we have to ask for ID.  If the person cannot produce a valid ID, we can’t accept the credit card.  Not signing a card is supposed to be one safety measure in the event the card is lost or stolen.  Most people are very shocked and happy when you ask for their ID because, apparently, no one does. 

Tonight a man gave me a credit card and a ticket for $100.03.  The credit card wasn’t signed so I asked for his ID.  He said he didn’t have it so I asked Chetto if we could accept it.  See, if the card was lost or stolen and I ran it without checking the ID, if the bank declined the charge guess who would pay for it.  That would be me.  And guess who would lose her job.  Yeah, that would be me again.  Chetto refused to accept the credit card and the guy got all ignorant with me.

He told me he never signs them.  I repeated our policy.  He said no one ever asks for his ID.  I apologized and repeated our policy.  Then he snatched a pen out of my hand and said, “Fine.  I’ll sign it right now.”

Dude.  How stupid are you?  It isn’t a matter of the card not being signed, it’s that you can’t prove it’s yours.  Signing it right now means dick unless you have a signature I can compare it to.  A signature on something like, well, AN ID

So then this smart ass 20-something year old from the same table stomped to the register and flipped his unsigned card out at me and said, “This one isn’t signed either and you’re not seeing my ID.” 

Wow!  You got me there.  I’m intimidated now.  I less than politely told him he wasn’t using the card without an ID, so he threw a hundred dollar bill on the counter and said, “See, I told you I wasn’t showing you my ID.”

Well, F. me.  You won that round.  Why didn’t I see that coming.  Because I are stupid.

Assholes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 14:56:25

    Ah, the future of our nation is safe in the hands of our youth, don’tcha think? I mean, with brains like that, what will we have to worry about?

    I’m so glad people like him can vote.

    Who coughed up the three cents? And I’m guessing NO one tossed a 20 down for a tip, right? Or even a 10 spot? Fiver?

    Surprisingly enough, he tipped $20 and the 3 cents came out of the penny jar. I think he only tipped that much because he was trying to put on a good show after all the ruckus.

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 15:41:26

    But that’s standard policy everywhere. They must’ve known that!
    And who doesn’t carry ID – they must’ve known that too.

    Around here if you don’t have ID it’s because you lost your license for something like drunk driving. Even at that, you should always have some sort of ID.

    Sounds to me like they were either being dishonest or looking for someone to pick on. And if they take their issues out on someone else they’re bullies.

    The second guy was being a bully, but I didn’t give a crap. Our policy is our policy and he could shove his smart assed attitude up his ass as far as I was concerned.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 09:29:50

    HOW DARE YOU ASK TO SEE MY ID!!!

    tards

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 15:15:14

    Morons. It even says on the letter the company sends with your card that the first thing you do is SIGN YOUR CARD. I say again, “Morons!”

    A lot of people don’t sign their cards or they write ‘See ID’ in the hopes a cashier will verify that it is truly their card. If you want to get right down to it, unsigned credit cards are not valid. I think it says that as well in the letter the company sends.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 20:27:34

    They wouldn’t let you see their ID? What in the world is wrong with them? You can use a credit card without an ID, that’s just SOP.

    It used to be that you had to produce your ID so the cashier could compare the signature on the card with your driver’s license. People are so lazy and apathetic anymore who cares if it’s somebody else’s card.

    The reason we have such a strict policy is a few years ago a couple ripped off several credit cards and went around the Big Horn Basin on a spending spree. I can’t remember how many thousands of dollars they charged in a weekend before they were caught. They went to prison and every business who let them use the stolen credit cards were out the money because they didn’t check ID.

    What jerks. I’m glad you gave them what-for.

    I always give what-for.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

