The Sister Restaurant

There is another restaurant like ours on the other side of Yellowstone Park in Jackson Hole.  Tourists in Jackson stop at that restaurant then see another one just like it as they are driving into Cody.  We are compared to the Jackson restaurant a lot:  our food, service and prices are better and our restaurant is cleaner.  The Jackson restaurant is kind of famous so we are happy when we hear the praise.

Saturday night I answered a phone call at the front desk.  It went something like this:

“Good evening thank you for calling the Cody restaurant…”

“Ijustpickedupanorderfromyouandthestirrupsaretoohighandtheywon’tstayon.”

“Uh…what?”

“Ijustpickedupanorderfromyouandthestirrupsaretoohighandtheywon’tstayon.”

Me thinking:  Okay something about an order and stirrups.  The Miss Cody Stampede competition was today, did we sponsor anything?  No.  Did we provide food for it?  No, no food went out today.  We had a wedding reception yesterday, but why would they call 24 hours later and what the hell is with the stirrups?  We don’t have stirrups.

“I’m sorry, I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

“THE STERNOS!  THE STERNOS!  FOR THE PANS!  I PICKED UP 40 POUNDS OF MEAT AND THE PANS ARE TOO LOW FOR THE STERNOS AND THEY WON’T STAY ON!”

“I’m sorry, I still don’t know what you’re talking about.  Let me get the manager.”

So Chetto got on the phone with her and the conversation went something like this:

“Hello, this is Chetto how can I help you?”

“Ijustpickedupanorderfromyouandthestirrupsaretoohighandtheywon’tstayon.”

“I’m sorry, but we didn’t rent out any of our pans today.”

“Yes. You. Did.  I just picked up 40 pounds of meat and a gallon of beans and a gallon of cole slaw and we can’t keep the meat warm.”

“I’ve been here all day and we didn’t have a bulk order.”

“LISTEN TO ME!  I just picked this up from the back door of your restaurant and the pans won’t work!”

“I’m sorry, but we don’t send food out the back door.  It’s against the health code.  I’ve been here all day.  I would have noticed a bulk order like that.”

“LISTEN TO ME!  This is the restaurant in Jackson, right?!”

“Uh…no, this is the restaurant in Cody.”

“Oh.” 

Click.

I wonder if she was a little more humble when she called the correct restaurant or if she was just as bitchy and bossy?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 21:46:33

    “Oh.”

    ROFLMAO!! Don’t you wish you have a video phone at times like those?

    If there was ever a time for a Jetson’s phone, this would have been it. I would have loved to see her red, pissed off face slam shut when she realized she screwed up.

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 01:36:39

    That’s too funny!

    What did Chetto say after??

    He was a little dumbfounded, but had a good laugh. I guess she was even more rude than I protrayed.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 01:56:08

    Was she feeding an army?! That’s a lot of meat… Maybe she was panicking too much to read the phone book properly.

    It was for some benefit. That was another reason I was confused. Cody is a small town and most benefits are widely advertised. Even though I couldn’t understand her, I knew there wasn’t a benefit dinner going on.

    I Googled Sternos – I learn something new every day.

    I love Google even though I’ve been sorry on some of my search words.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 03:52:59

    I’ll bet you dollars to donuts she was more bitchy and complainy when she called the right place.

    I’ll bet she was full on tirade bitch when she got the other restaurant.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 05:25:40

    I’m sorta with WIGSF: She was prob’ly WORSE when she finally got the right restaurant on the line. You can tell by the “Oh” and abrupt disconnect. Nice doin’ business with you, lady.

    If we were nice we would have called the other restaurant and given them a heads up, but we aren’t nice.

    Reply

  6. Bob
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 06:45:13

    Its funny until the end there when you identified the caller’s sex, I was imagining it was a man calling.

    No, it’s always women who flip out in restaurants. The men are usually just along for the ride, the women are the trouble makers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

