Power Outage, Snow and Shopping

The power went out out my kids’ house at around 11:30 this morning.  I woke up when the fan went off and got up to let the dogs out.  That’s when I noticed it snowed about 4 inches.  Marvelous.  So I went back to bed for several more hours.

This afternoon my daughter and I went to a gigantic indoor flea market.  They have lots of cool antiques, furniture, knick knacks, and straight out junk.  We spent about two hours looking at all the stuff.  I bought a little round wooden box for me and a desk and two ceramic pigs for my daughter.

As we were leaving, we heard the cashier tell some guy that Highway 287 was finally open.  Apparently, the snow had closed all roads into and out of Laramie for most of the day.  Driving on 15th Street across the interstate, we could see trucks and cars lined up on the interstate for miles.  Poor bastards.

We ate at a chain sandwich shop called McAllisters.  It was meh.  I could do better at home.

Months ago I bought a Roku, which is a little device for streaming movies and TV shows from your computer to your TV.  It has been in the box until I got to Laramie.  My son and I set it up and I could do nothing but lie in bed and watch Netflix movies, and TV and movies from Amazon on Demand.  This little thing is so freaking cool.  Talk about yet another way to waste time. 

We plan to go skiing tomorrow and have a nice dinner at Jeffery’s Bistro tomorrow night.  For the most part we are being so lazy I’ve lost track of the days.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 19:48:40

    So lazy the days blur and haze is nice, but when it’s a finite vacation time, that’s sad and a depressing.

    It seems like a long time, but it will be gone before I know it.

    Glad you’re having fun!

    Roku, eh? Hmm….

    Yeah, it was $80 and well worth it. I guess PS2 & xbox work the same way. Things are changing faster than I can keep up. You can buy digital movies through Amazon and keep them in your online library. Weird.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 21:03:54

    What an awesome way to spend a vacation!

    I wonder about that McAllisters place. We ate at a place that felt like a chain when we were in Laramie a few years ago. It was fairly close to 80. But I can’t recall the name of it. I remember orange, lots of orange.

    This isn’t far off I-80 but I wonder if you are thinking of Village Inn. My belly has decided it doesn’t like McAllisters.

    Hope the rest of your vacation is as relaxing and fun. 🙂

    I just want to mosey around and be a slug. My daughter wants to do do do.

    Reply

  3. Jamie
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 00:17:06

    oh it sounds lovely! lol. Write a novel, and don’t come back to work too soon. You’re not missing anything

    I’m not missing anything when I’m there.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 14:05:48

    I’m so glad you’re having fun!! Let yourself just relax and have a good time. Be as lazy as you wanna be!

    Trust me, I am. 🙂

    Reply

  5. blogmella
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 16:10:38

    Lazy is good but skiing will be fun too. I haven’t been for about 4 years and I miss it.

    We didn’t go today because the wind is blowing about 70 miles an hour and it’s cold as hell. So much for spring weather.

    Reply

  6. whatigotsofar
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 04:02:23

    I love flea markets. As long as they’re not too ghetto.

    This one was pretty nice. Lots of vinyl albums and antiques.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

