Boring Tuesday

I should have left for home today.  My daughter went to Denver to a concert (that was canceled) and she’s spending the night there.  My son has been in school all day and now he’s at the gym.  I’ve been alone doing laundry (the kids’), tidying the house, and watching TV.  Snore.

I did go back to the Salvation Army store and found a bright yellow jacket that’s sure to offend everyone with it’s yellowness. 

As I was walking to the front door of the store, I heard a clatter and saw this guy fall down and roll as if he’d been thrown from the store.  I don’t know of any thrift stores which throw you to the curb, but I want to know ahead of time what I’m getting myself into.  I approached him and realized he was an old bum.  I asked if he was okay and offered to help him up (please say no, please say no).  He said he could get up on his own so I chased his hat down the sidewalk and brought it back to him.  When I gave his hat back he said, “The damned wind blew me over.”

You know you’ve hit rock bottom when you’re doing the bum slouch outside the Salvation Army and the wind blows you over and knocks your hat off.  Crap.  I have so much to look forward to.

I leave for home tomorrow.  It’s supposed to snow tonight, but hopefully all roads north are dry.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 19:17:10

    Damn that bum has it bad. How old did he look?

    He looked about 70, but he could have been 50. I felt sorry for him.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 19:20:35

    Well, at least the kids will appreciate all the clean clothes, right? LOL

    Drive safely, avoid the snow as much as you can, all that jazz. I know you’re a grown up and will take the appropriate precautions, I just feel better to say it. 🙂

    And I adore yellow! 😀

    I’m disappointed that I couldn’t find anything in bright orange. Yellow and orange make me happy.

    I will drive safe and I have the dogs to deter any creepers.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 21:50:42

    Safe travels, Holls. Guess I’d better practice keeping my balance in the wind for when my situation finally rots out from under us.

    I could so see myself as that bum except I weigh too much for the wind to blow over.

    Reply

  4. blogmella
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 22:28:35

    Awww, poor old bloke. I’m glad you treated him like a person.
    Doing housework when visiting the kids is quite fun, I’ve found. It isn’t like working at home, it is more like playing house.

    It is kind of fun. I am a lousy housekeeper and I wouldn’t have this much ambition at home.

    Reply

  5. whatigotsofar
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 03:59:56

    Still getting snow. Yikes.

    More today. I’m sick of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

