Halo, the Destroyer

I destroy everything.

ate my phone.  Oh, yes she did.  I went in to town to have coffee with my friend and when I came home, I found my phone in the middle of the living room floor, naked.  Its clothes were in the kitchen.  It made me cry.  Poor naked and ruined phone.

Luckily, I have my old Treo to fall back on.  The Treo was the first phone to give me a serious case of phone lust.  Before I held one, I didn’t really care about cell phones.  They were kind of annoying and texting was a pain in the ass.  Then I picked up a Treo and had to have its touch screen and qwerty keyboard.  When I was eligible for an upgrade, I switched to the Centro because it was the same thing only smaller.

I’m due for another upgrade in two months and since they don’t make the Centro any more, I picked out a Pixi.  It’s the same thing as the Centro, only smaller.  The only thing holding me back from being overjoyed at my impending upgrade was the $30 a month data package required on all smart phones and that I LOVED my Centro. 

Well, Halo, the Destroyer made that decision for me.  Since I had to go back to the Treo and since it’s a smart phone, I had to have the $30 charge added to my phone starting today.  The Centro was a smart phone, but since I added it before the January 1 data package requirement, I didn’t have to pay the extra $30 a month.  Trust me, I plan to get $30 worth of internet use every month.  Bastards.

As for Halo, I think I’m going to pluck her nose hairs.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 03:56:30

    Have you thought about getting her hearing checked? Maybe she thought it was a bone, not phone… Dogs, don’t ya just love ’em!

    HAHA! I never thought of that. I probably got a phone call while I was gone and she was just trying to answer it and take a message. That’s the thought that’s keeping her alive.

    Reply

  2. blogmella
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 07:49:01

    Oh no, I’d go mental if my dog did that. I had a Shih Tzu for twelve years and that bloody thing kept weeing on my bed, right through to the mattress. I danced on her grave when she died.

    I had a Pomeranian who would pee/poop on my bed if she was mad at me. She found out what the inside of a dog crate looked like.

    My phone is bog standard and does very little but I still love it. It’s small and it is one of the very few things I’ve got for myself, without feeling guilty. When it was new everyone gasped at how cool it was – but that was a while back.

    If it works for you and makes you happy, that’s all that matters.

    I’m sorry you dog was so destructive… Pluck away.

    It’s something to expect when you have young dogs. I know how she is, I shouldn’t have left the phone where she could reach it. I AM supposed to be smarter, after all.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 18:06:20

    Sounds like Halo is not so deserving of her name, and should be renamed to Pitchfork. Or something. 😉

    Her Indian name is Dog with Bare Upper Lip.

    I’m so sorry about your phone – I know you really loved it. Maybe you will love your new one even more when you get it.

    I will love the Pixi even more. I just didn’t want to pay the extra $30/month, but now that horse has left the barn. I’m probably going to cut back on minutes since no one actually talks on their phone anymore. I can probably shave $30/month off that way.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 19:13:56

    Do NOT get me started on that godd#&% $30/month mandatory data package thing. I should be able to use the phone any frickin’ way I want, with or without having to have that data package. That p!sses me off like nothing else on Earth.

    I didn’t realize it was required. When he told me I had to have the $30/month data package, I told him I just didn’t get on the internet with the phone. The Treo is internet capable, but it isn’t necessary for the phone to function. He said it was mandatory on all smart phones added to a plan after January 1. The data package is essential on some of the newer phones and I figured I would have to bite the bullet, but it’s complete bullshit that I have to have it on a 4 year old phone.

    And those Treo knock-offs keep getting smaller, pretty soon no one over the age of 6 is going to have fingers small enough to use them. WTF is up with that?!

    This morning when my alarm went off, I pulled the phone out from under my pillow and I shrieked when I saw it. It’s freaking HUGE! Half asleep I thought, ‘WTF happened to my phone’ before I remembered. The Treo has a much larger keyboard which even man fingers can use. I could use the Centro by typing with my thumbnails, but since most men don’t have those, it’s useless to them. The Pixi is the same width & length as the Centro, just thinner with more of a touch screen. I think the keyboard is the same size since I don’t know how it could be smaller.

    *Sigh* Sorry. I’m sorry about your phone too.

    I’m over it. I think.

    Reply

  5. heif
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 15:41:03

    That totally sucks. At least you didn’t drop it in your drink or something. Let me know how you like the new one. The one I have now has a touch screen and qwerty. I’m thinking of going to a blackberry style next. I need something I can text with one hand. At least I had the generic internet on this phone when my home was out

    The Palm ones (Pixi, Pre) are small enough to text with one hand. My daughter has a blackberry and I don’t think I could text one-handed on it. Some of the smaller blackberries have old school keyboards, which I just can’t go back to.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 16:00:04

    I think each dog is programmed to destroy a specific item. My golden retriever Murray likes footwear, specifically the right shoe of every footwear I own.

    It would be so cool if Halo destroyed only one thing. Halo destroys everything. I keep telling myself she’ll grow out of it as I put things higher and higher out of her reach, but she just reaches higher. She lulled me into complacency with the phone. She never showed any interest in it until the day she decided to eat it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

