It’s Official

The Manager isn’t coming back this summer.  I have mixed feelings about this.  On one hand he was crazy as shit, but on the other hand he dished out repercussions for bad behaviour.  But then, all the things we got in trouble for under his management might not be as important now.  New rules may apply and the people who are breaking the old rules might be less annoying if the old rules are no longer enforced (or ignored).  Does that make a bit of sense?

The owner hired an elderly woman to be an assistant manager today.  She worked at the restaurant before and has spent her whole life in food service.  I’m sure she will bring new ideas with her and it will be nice to have a change of pace.  I just hope she’s ready for our young crew.  We are a handfull.

The big news is Darren was promoted to General Manager.  I’m very proud of him and the changes he’s made in his life.  He has a huge responsibility and he has done well with it so far.  As long as he doesn’t stress out and start chasing servers around with a knife, I’ll be happy.  I hope everyone can help him succeed because in the end we will all succeed.

Now if I could just get rid of my overwhelming desire to chase customers around with a knife…

From my “I Hate People” file…a few nights ago when my daughter went to work, she discovered someone had crapped in the hot tub.  This is at a nice hotel, so you would assume people would be on their best behaviour.  This is yet another reason why I hate hot tubs and swimming pools.  What is wrong with people?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 21:04:20

    My first answer to “What is wrong with people” is generally, “A lot.” Crapping in a hot tub is just one more reason why if you don’t own your own reservoir of water to bathe/swim/recreate, stay the f**k out of the public ones for your own good.

    *Sigh*

    I remember a time when only kids, the elderly, and the mentally handicapped shit themselves. Now it seems most of the population does it.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 21:53:21

    Well, maybe the new person will be better at enforcing the rules and whatnot. Could be a change for the better. 🙂

    At the very least it will be an interesting change. Part of the reason we get on each other’s nerves in the winter is it’s the same old/same old everyday. New people bring new stuff to gossip about.

    As for that person in the hot tub … I just have no words. Beyond “Ewww!” Sick, sick people.

    I was in that hot tub just days before it happened. I broke my NO PUBLIC WATER rule since it is such a nice place. I guess nice means nothing these days.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 23:54:29

    I hope the changes at work make life better – as you say, whatever happens it’ll be interesting to watch.

    The hot tub incident… I really wonder if people have any boundaries these days. I so often see people acting thoughtlessly and selfishly – it seems as if nobody cares about anything but satisfying their own immediate desires.

    There is a huge level of selfishness. I thought it was Americans, but maybe not.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 03:55:47

    Maybe there was a line-up for the toilet.

    Does it matter? It’s disgusting and rude.

    Reply

  5. Sherri
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 05:46:49

    Well good for Darren! I feel like I know all these people you talk about.

    That’s what I’m trying to do…I write about the ones I like and I only write about the ones I dislike when they are on my last damned nerve. They are my characters.

    Reply

  6. brknhrt75
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 16:16:49

    Interesting about the hot tub incident. I notice that people just don’t seem to care about things that don’t belong to them.

    There seems to be a tide of disrespect and lack of consideration sweeping the planet. Or maybe I’m just now noticing.

    Oh, and as an American I would like to just say that we’re not all selfish. Thank you. :p

    I’m American too and I’m not selfish, but since I deal with mostly Americans, I see more than my share of selfish, inconsiderate ones. Maybe if I was somewhere else I’d change my opinion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

