Glory, the Horrible

I went to work early today to get something to eat before my shift started.  I stopped by a fast food taco place, and since it was a nice day, I sat on the curb by the back door to eat my illegal food.  As I was chowing down, a man in a van from the local broadband company pulled up at my feet.

“I’m here to get your equipment,” he said.

“Okay,” I said.

“Do you have that black box that hooks into the computer?” 

“Do you see what I’m doing?”

“Eating.”  Wow, he IS smart enough to have a driver’s license.

“Yeah, I’m eating.  Where would you think that black box is?”

“Uh…inside?”

“Yeah, probably inside with the manager unless it’s up my ass and I don’t know about it.”

“I’m was just asking.”

“Well, it was a dumb question.”

So he got out of his truck, did some door slamming, probably thought about punching me, dropped his ladder on the ground, then went around the side of the building to get the dish off the wall.  When he came back Tom the dishwasher was outside.  He asked Tom if he was the manager.

I sort of lost it.  “For crying out loud.  The manager is inside.  Probably in the kitchen.  Stop being lazy.  Go in the building and look for a big ass Mexican.  You can’t miss him.  He will help you.”  

I thought Tom was going to fall over.  He said, “I see the rumours about you are true.  You really aren’t very nice.”

No shit. 

Don’t interrupt my meal because you are too dumb and lazy to do your job.  If the black box is attached to the computer, common sense should tell you that it’s inside.  Common sense should also tell you someone in charge needs to sign off on the paperwork not just some bum looking woman sitting on the curb eating junk food.  I mean really.  As often as I get accused of being homeless, do I look like anyone who knows anything? 

**********

The new assistant manager called this morning, which was supposed to be her first day, and declined the job.  Darren offered a supervisory position to Kayla.  I think she will do very well.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 23:18:28

    There’s assertive and there’s scarey, you seem to do both quite well. Hope you didn’t hurt his feelings and make him feel dumb!

    HAHAHA! I’m sure I did, but maybe next time he’ll use his head and get off his ass to perform the work he’s being paid to do.

    Reply

    • blogmella
      Apr 16, 2010 @ 16:30:10

      “You hurt my feelings and made me feel dumb!” – We all say that in our house now… Glory has written a catchphrase that people far away in the UK use! It’s her claim to fame.

      I’m glad to be useful. I say many other things, but you probably can’t repeat those. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Bob
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 04:46:19

    How was your food?

    HAHAHA! It was quite good for being fast food.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 20:23:20

    Is that Taco Hell you were crunching? I gotta tell ya, I LOVE fast food, and I love tacos, but TB isn’t really tacos. Was it something else? All I can think about is the tacos.

    Our Taco Hell disappeared. One day I was ordering something tasty off the dollar menu, the next day a big crane was hauling off the drive thru ordery thing and there was a supersize Dumpster by the back door. My taco food was from Taco Johns, a Wyoming franchise, and it was a super burrito minus the meat. Very yummy.

    Oh, and that guy? He’s pretty dumb. I’d have done something similar.

    Stupid is as stupid does.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 22:20:08

    LOL For all he knew you might not have worked there. Sheesh, what an idiot! “Excuse me miss, would you happen to know where I can find the manager of this business?” Seriously, how hard is that? Heh, I did it and I don’t even work for them.

    I was sitting on the curb eating food from a different place and talking to one of the other servers. He looked directly at me when asking his dumb questions. I could have been there visiting the server. How hard would it have been for him to walk through the front door and ask the hostess for the manager? My guess is he didn’t even want to get his ass out of the van.

    Speaking of, WTH? Did this new ass manager decide she didn’t need the job or something? So now someone on the inside is getting a promo – why not you? Unless you already told him you didn’t want the headache, but can you imagine being the boss of LMKIA? THAT would be awesome! LOL

    One of the servers is friends with the ass manager and I heard she wanted to be the general manager in charge of everything rather than the ass manager in charge of some things.

    I have made it very clear I don’t want to be any sort of a manager. I want to show up, earn my money and go home. I don’t want to worry about who isn’t going to show up for a shift or who is fighting with whom.

    LMKIA is starting to realize the level of hell I can take her to now that my vacation is over and I don’t give a shit whether she stays or goes.

    Reply

  5. CarolKing
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 18:37:24

    A dear friend told me this a long time ago and I never forgot it:

    Common Sense is not common. I always try to remember this when dealing with the public. Or anyone for that matter.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    You are very right. I’ve found that the farther away people travel from home, the less common sense they have. It’s like they forgot to pack it or something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

