My Centro Part 2

I bought a replacement Centro off ebay because the Treo was like packing a brick around.  It’s funny how the heft of the Treo never bothered me until I got something smaller that did the same thing.  Also, since the Treo is so old it didn’t work the way it should.  I randomly received texts and calls and that’s all well and good until it’s a phone call from someone stranded on the highway.  Halo better keep her filthy little mouth off this phone.

I love ebay.  I have never had a bad transaction from there.  It is always the first place I shop for pretty much everything.  I’ve even purchased a vehicle off ebay.  I would like to sell stuff on ebay and make a little extra pocket change, but it appears as if I’m not very good at that. 

Do any of you have ebay success/horror stories?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 22:45:52

    Only good experiences with eBay. I sold some stuff there and bought a couple things too. Everything went as it should. One guy kept calling me about something he bought which was damaged in shipping, but that was pretty much his problem. I couldn’t help. I tried to guide him through the process and he seemed to take it well. UPS can pay for a replacement.

    Everything I’ve ever done on eBay was exactly what I hoped. It used to be pretty great. Haven’t used it in years, but it was cool then. People have sold everything from used Tupperware to Virginity there. It’s what capitalism is all about. 🙂

    I wish I was better on the capitalism end of things. I know some people earn a living selling on ebay, I just can’t seem to figure it out.

    Reply

  2. blogmella
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 23:10:01

    I’ve never used eBay but I have a friend who absolutely loves it.

    This song says it all. One of the best parody songs of all time:

    HAHAHA! That’s pretty funny and true. When I first started buying on ebay I bought loads of pure crap just cuz it’s fun getting stuff in the mail.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 23:23:02

    Wow, it embedded it… I won’t be offended if you delete that – it might slow the page down, or something. I dunno, I never understand this shit.

    It’s fine. I don’t understand it either. I can work for hours trying to get something to embed and then when I want to post a link, it embeds.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 00:03:07

    Well, what Darc said. I’ve never bought or sold anything myself on eBay. I’ve heard about horror stories, but short of a friend we had who got a bad computer, I don’t think I know anyone personally.

    There are eBay stores all over out here, where you can take your stuff to them, and they act as a middleman selling it and keeping a fee I assume. I know there are lots of books out there that will tell you how to do the eBay thing.

    I kind of tried that, but people here have retarded stuff that nobody wants.

    And I know of one lady who got a book contract thanks to something she put up on eBay.

    Huh? What!

    Reply

  5. Zombieman
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 07:26:14

    I love ebay, I use it in spurts, like every two years or so when it is time to clean out the basement. Selling gets easier as you build a rating up, typically I only purchase lower cost items from lower rated sellers. I’ve had one bad transaction in about 150 buys/sells, the product was never delivered and I lost about $15 on the deal, which kind of pissed me off, but only $15 bucks worth.

    For selling I tend start everything at a buck, most of the stuff I put up I want to get rid of and the free market tends to drive the price up to the actual worth of the item anyway. I also mention the shipping costs in the description (in addition to the ‘normal’ place) and sometimes throw in free shipping if I think the item will go above a certain level. I’ve only used the ‘reserve’ option on a few items and only one of those didn’t meet the reserve. Photos of the actual item are good, a clear, un-embellished description of the condition has also worked well for me. Oh and one other thing, it is a good idea to search ebay for the item you are selling, just to see what the prices are so you know what to expect, this can help you decide if you want to sell it at all or wait for the annual garage sale or good will run.

    I haven’t sold anything in years until recently. They have a handy thing on the main sell page which tells you the average price the item sold for and how many have sold. I had a few things I thought might sell, but when I saw that other people couldn’t get rid of them, I saved the listing fee and donated them to the thrift store.

    I’ve been trying to figure out the best ‘timing’ to sell items, when to start the auctions and when to have them end. I think timing them to end at night, when most people are not working and might be following their bids has worked out best, but I can’t decide on the best ‘end day’. I hope this helps!

    I guess I never thought about that. I actually buy stuff to sell on ebay and it’s a hit and miss endeavour. The things I think won’t sell turn a huge profit while the things I think will make a profit end up sitting on my shelf. I don’t know what interests people, I guess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

