Going Postal

I make fun of people.  It’s what I do.  Therefore when it comes back around to me, I don’t get too uptight about it.

Yesterday I had to mail a package.  When I went into town for coffee, I forgot the item I needed to ship, so I couldn’t mail it from the Meeteetse post office.  They don’t let me have tape or scissors in the Meeteetse post office.  They supervise me and sometimes even offer to do it all for me if I’ll just leave.

The people at the Cody post office don’t know me.  The Cody post office has boxes and boxes and boxes.  And tape and pens.  Priority mail?  They have 37 different sizes from which to choose.  Express mail?  Don’t even go there ‘cuz I can’t afford it.  Boxes to buy that you can ship priority or parcel post?  There’s a gazillion of those. 

It took me about 13.5 minutes just to find a box to ship parcel post.  I noticed the only tape on the table was for priority mail, but there was a shipping tape dispenser on the counter with the mail clerk.  So I carried my half assembled box to the counter and asked if I could use his tape.  He told me they only had tape for priority mail and offered to check the difference in postage between priority and parcel post.  They were pretty much the same so I decided to send it priority and use the free tape.

Now, I have an issue about my hair.  I have to wear it up for work and it’s always in a bun or braid to keep it from getting damaged, but I worry that it will mold if I put it up when it’s wet.  My hair is down to the middle of my back, curly, unruly and each strand has a life of its own.  As I approached the tape dispenser my hair chuckled. 

First, I couldn’t get the tape to dispense.  The mail clerk helped me.  Then I think he summoned a co-worker from the back to watch the party.  With the tape dispenser in one hand, I tried to wrestle the box into submission so I could strap the bottom flaps closed.  The box slid off the table and the tape dispenser clattered to the floor.  Oops.

I tried again and got the bottom of the box closed.  Then I put the item in the box and taped the top flaps down…with my hair stuck to the tape.  Talk about damage.  I asked the clerk for some scissors.  “NO!”  I had to peel the tape off the box and untangle it from my hair, tie my hair back (ack!  mold!), and try again.

After I successfully got the label on the box, the mail clerk’s co-worker said, “You do know we video tape customers.”

D’oh.  Two thumbs up for me!

If that shit shows up on youtube, I will take it graciously.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 14:29:36

    I have to chuckle because, until I cut it a couple of years ago, my hair was 3′ long and no matter what I did it always seemed to blow into something, and I hate putting it up too. So, I can relate to the hair in the tape and wrestling with the box. That’s so my life too! LOL

    HAHAHA! Recently I complained because I had hair in my food. When I pulled it out of my mouth, it was still attached to my head. I’ve never had long hair because it’s enough of a pain when it’s short. I haven’t cut it in about 2 years because I always keep it up and I’m too cheap and lazy to make a hair appointment. I’m always shocked when I take it down for a shower.

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 14:44:49

    Oh man, I can’t WAIT to see that! LOL

    Me neither. Postal employees need a laugh too.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 14:47:34

    Hahaha! They shouldn’t waste it on YouTube, they should send it to a TV show that pays for clips!

    When I was a Care Assistant I had to be at the first client’s house by 7:30am sometimes (and I don’t drive) – I had a shower every morning and put my hair up, wet, straight after. Nothing bad happened, I promise you.

    I doubt it would mold, but it still freaks me out. And the entire time it’s down I’m freaking about all the damage the wind is doing to it. Maybe it’s time to cut it off and find something else to worry about.

    Reply

  4. Heif
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 17:02:40

    I can’t wait to tell the girl I work with who comes in everyday with her curly, wet hair up in a clip that she should look out for mold. You know she’ll blow me off at first, only to come back a few hours later and ask if I was serious. I can’t wait to see how this plays out. Yet another way to torcher those I work with

    HAHAHA! In your humidity it is a possibility. Maybe. I don’t know. I’m not taking any chances.

    Reply

  5. brknhrt75
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 17:13:38

    I totally googled the whole “wet hair/mold” issue and there was no definite answer. I always used to wonder that too, but figure as long as you wash it every day or so you’re ok.

    See that’s another thing. You shouldn’t wash your hair every day. Shampoo strips your hair of the natural oils and causes it to split and break. I shampoo my hair every two or three days, rinse and condition it every day. I never use heat on it and I don’t colour it. Yes, I’m a bit obsessed with my hair.

    And that’s funny about the hair in tape thing. I always hate when you’re chewing gum and get hair in your mouth and it gets stuck in the gum.

    It’s just another day in my life. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Catherine
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 22:51:20

    I’m fascinated by the mold thing. I’ve never heard of it, when I read your post I thought you must mean that if you tied it back wet it would mold into a different shape. I’m with Blogmella though, I used to have long hair that I regularly tied back wet and it never went mouldy. Cant wait to google it now, before I go onto Youtube and look for your video!

    My hair is really thick and heavy. It stays in a bun or braid for about 23 hours, until it’s time for another shower. Sometimes it’s still wet when I take it down for a shower. Mold seems possible to me.

    Let me know if you find the video.

    Reply

  7. DarcKnyt
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 23:37:17

    I find the aversion to hair mold hysterical in the extreme, and have no idea why. As funny as this story is, I think the mold concern’s funnier.

    If you only knew the things that keep me awake at night…

    And if it ends up on video, they’re dumb as the box you taped your hair to; AFV pays for that sort of hilarity. 😉

    I think they were more exasperated than entertained by me. 😦

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 15:42:04

    In my experience, postal employees don’t have much of a sense of humor… they needed the laugh but probably wouldn’t take it. 🙂

    Yeah, they didn’t seem too amused. Probably why they bring guns to work.

    Reply

  9. Jamie
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 01:12:03

    kharmas a bitch

    lol

    dont forget my toe rings tuesday.

    you can sell them out of the back of your van if you really want to get into your persona.

    Shut up or I’ll put YOU in the back of my van.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

