The Couple from Hell

There is this couple who eat at the restaurant several times a week.  Early on I waited on them pretty often and was uncomfortable with the man’s constant staring.  I was always friendly and went out of my way to make them happy since they were regulars.  Regulars who tipped for shit, but money’s money.  Then one night I heard the woman tell the hostess to seat them anywhere other than in my section.  Well screw you.  I busted my ass to make you happy and you make a comment like that which could potentially get me fired?! 

After running the rounds of servers, they now insist on being served only by Anna.  Several times over the years they have been seated in my section and I’ve given them (and a table) to Anna.  They won’t be happy with me, so Anna can have them.  However, if we’re busy I lose the money from that table, which isn’t fair.

Seating this couple only in Anna’s section isn’t a problem during the winter.  We are seldom busy enough to fill the restaurant and no one else wants them.  However, we are all there to make money and when a server is skipped to please this couple, it creates a hardship. 

One night when I was a cashier I seated them in Amanda’s section.  Anna already had several tables, which she was bitching about, while Amanda barely had any.  Overloading Anna would piss her off; not giving Amanda any tables would piss her off.  It was a lose/lose situation.  Later this couple bitched to Anna, who in turn bitched to Darren, who in turn bitched at me.  Lose/lose.

So fine.  I will NEVER seat these people anywhere, but in Anna’s section.  Got it.

A few nights ago they came in when we were two tables away from being on a wait list.  Cora seated them in my section since Anna’s section was full and, oh hell no, they wouldn’t wait for a table.  They tried to get Anna to wait on them.  In MY section.  At MY table.  MY table that would make twice as much money for me if someone other than them were there.  Go fuck yourself.  I’m waiting on you and you’re going to like it.  I hope your husband stares so hard his eyes fall out.

As usual, the woman was rude and treated me like shit.  Darren says it doesn’t matter how people treat us.  We are there for the customers, not the other way around.  I don’t expect people to kiss my ass, but some common decency and politeness from people you see on a regular basis, who you’ve tried to please, would be nice.  Yeah, whatever.  After they left I suggested to Cora that they never find their way into my section again.  If Anna doesn’t have a table, they can wait for one to open up because I’m done giving up my tables to please them.

Last night they came in for dinner on Anna’s night off.  They were seated in Jamie’s section and she begged and  pleaded with me to wait on them.  “No fucking way,” was my answer.  Jamie bit the bullet, ran her ass off so they could treat her like shit, and got a whopping 10 percent tip.

My question is, why do they come in on Anna’s night off?  They make such a stink if they aren’t seated in her section and create hard feelings about giving up a table so Anna can wait on them, why do they come in when she’s not working?  And if any of us are good enough to wait on them when she’s not there, why aren’t we good enough to wait on them when she is? 

These people piss me off.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 16:27:58

    You know, I’m a regular at a couple of places. I hope they don’t think ill of me. I often get the “Hello, how are you” and stuff like that which people ahead of me don’t seem to be getting. I know I’m a memorable patron, I just hope it’s a positive memory, not a negative one.

    If you are pleasant and tip the appropriate amount, the servers are probably happy to see you. If you act like an asshole and expect special treatment, the servers aren’t at all happy to see you. There are way more regular people we enjoy seeing than those we hate.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 16:41:58

    What the frig is their problem??

    A few years ago Darc and I used to go to this one restaurant pretty often and got to know the people there pretty well. The manager would tease me about naming my son after him when I was expecting. We never asked for any particular server, even though we had our favorites. We figured the management had done a good job of hiring people in the past so surely a new person would be nice too.

    I just don’t understand people like this couple. Regulars – good ones – are treasured by the wait staff and they will bend over backward to please you when they see you coming. Why wouldn’t you want to cultivate that kind of relationship with all the servers if you really like the restaurant? Then you’ll know you’ll get great service no matter what night you go on.

    There are regulars we fight over, people who are so nice and fun to wait on that we all want to be their server. Eventually, most of us end up at their table, goofing off and having fun. If a new server gets them, we tell her to make sure she’s nice and treats them well.

    I don’t understand why more people can’t figure this out.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 05:05:29

    They sound like a right pair of morons. I hate people who get all drunk with power the moment they get to boss somebody about. Wankers!

    I’m going to start calling more people wankers. I don’t know if I can keep a straight face, thought. Other culture’s insults are always so funny.

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 05:19:03

    I wouldn’t blame them for coming in on Anna’a day off. They probably don’t know her work schedule. Sounds like the husband liked you.

    Anna’s had the same schedule for years and they damned well know what it is. They just want to cause trouble. “Don’t be rude, I touch your food.” The husband is not my type, his son on the other hand…

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 14:22:00

    I’m with you, DarcsFalcon, these people are morons. All the servers should band together and get Darren to tell them to shape up or they’re no longer welcome. I’ve seen it done.

    I’ve heard of it happening, and it has happened at the restaurant before I worked there. As long as Anna’s willing to wait on them, the rest of us have to grin and bear it whenever we are stuck with them.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 19:56:10

    I only lasted one year in the restaurant field. People drove me nuts. Too many things could go wrong to ruin a good tip.

    Food service isn’t for the faint at heart. Every time I have to tell a customer that they can’t do something (share the salad bar, replace their side dishes with the salad bar, have free food) I feel my tip slipping away. By the second or third negative response I wonder if I should even bother going back to the table.

    Reply

  7. darcknyt
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 22:32:55

    If I continue to read this blog I’m going to be afraid to ever eat out again. I wonder what people in restaurants I frequented regularly thought of me? Yikes.

    Well, are you an asshole? If you aren’t, then people are happy to see you. If you are, maybe you should cook your own food ‘cuz you’re probably eating a lot of spit. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

