Not Worth the Time

I’ve been watching the TV series ‘Dead Like Me’ and they are always in an IHOP sort of place for breakfast.  It makes me crave waffles with fruit.  Like gnaw my arm off cravings.

Today I bought a cheap waffle maker, waffle mix, strawberries, bananas and cream cheese while I was on my 2 hour break.  I told Jamie and she said I should have just bought frozen waffles.

Oh no way.

Frozen waffles are, well, frozen and just wrong.  I want big, fat, crispy waffles.

So I came home after work, sliced bananas, mixed eggs and milk into the waffle mix, seasoned the new waffle iron and mixed peanut butter with the cream cheese.  The result was a big assed mess all over the waffle iron and counter, and thin, gooey waffles.  They were so not worth my time and certainly not what I was craving.

Next time I’m trying the frozen waffles.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 22:36:57

    Don’t try the frozen. They suck. I just got them a couple of weeks ago and they SUCK. Don’t do it. Craving? Get to an IHOP sort of place yourself and have a nice Belgian waffle, fresh, hot and brought to you. MUCH better.

    We don’t have any IHOP sort of places here. 😦 Maybe a better waffle iron? I only paid $7 for the new one knowing I could probably go to any thrift store and buy a better one for half the price.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 23:13:53

    Peanut butter and cream cheese?

    Why???????

    Mmmm…cuz I like it.

    Do a search for a waffle recipe – that’s probably the biggest problem you had. You can’t use pancake batter recipes for waffles because they’ll get all mucked up. And try to cook them plain and add your fruit as a topping – do you have a blender? You could make a puree with the fruit. Trying to mix it in with the batter and then cook it might also be messing up your mix.

    The bananas were separate from the mix. I’m going to spend some time making the perfect waffle. I had a blender until I let a friend borrow it and now she totally denies borrowing it. I know where it isn’t…

    Reply

  3. Catherine
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 23:30:11

    They sound delicious! I’ve never even seen a fruit and cream waffle, never mind tried one, I dont think they do them in the UK. And dont get me started on pancakes, I have always wanted a stack of pancakes…. And grits… no idea what they are but that doesn’t stop me wanting to try them. Oh, I’ve made myself so hungry now will have to go for a bowl of cornflakes and slice of toast. Boring, boring.

    Grits are something you develop a taste for and it’s best if you can get a southerner to show you how to make & eat them. Back when we served breakfast we had grits and I didn’t care for them. But I’m a northern girl so what would I know. Pancakes are really easy to make and very yummy, but don’t settle for cheap syrup.

    Reply

  4. blogmella
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 23:48:24

    I reckon a change of recipe might work. It’s worth trying, because having a waffle iron and knowing how to make waffles would be brilliant.

    I too am a Brit – but I’ve had a pile of pancakes in Florida (more than once) and (even better) I’ve eaten at IHOP in Seattle. IHOP is where I’m going to go, when I die.

    I’ve never been to an IHOP, but I worked at Village Inn (a knock off) when I lived in Laramie. I would have true horror stories to tell if I hadn’t blocked the entire experience from my memory.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 10:05:28

    OK, Catherine and blogmella have me just dying to know: do pancakes not exist in Britain? It had never occurred to me that they might be an American thing.

    I was wondering that too. I thought they were pretty much a breakfast staple.

    Grits, now, I knew were from the American South, and I didn’t figure they’d spread to the rest of the world. I’m a Northerner, too, so won’t say much on the subject, except to agree that they are definitely an acquired taste.

    The same goes for cornmeal mush. Ack!

    Reply

    • blogmella
      Apr 24, 2010 @ 11:50:03

      Haha! Yeah, we have Pancakes – hence we call Shrove Tuesday “Pancake Day”! But we don’t have IHOP, sadly. I don’t think we have them as often as Yanks and they aren’t really served in cafes as “breakfast”.

      We call something more like cookies “biscuits” and what you call “biscuits” we’d call savoury “scones”. I think. I’ve never tried “Grits”.

      Oh yeah, the biscuit/scone thing. I remember I ordered a scone once and thought, “It’s a freaking biscuit!” Scone sounds more tasty.

      Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 14:26:45

    Waffle batter includes malt, which makes the batter harden in the waffle machine.

    Really?! I did not know that.

    Just like you can’t make good waffles with pancake batter, you can’t make good pancakes with waffle batter.

    But yet they sell pancake/waffle mix. Bastards.

    Reply

  7. Bob
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 20:36:41

    dead like me was a solid show.

    I’ve only watched a few episodes and I’m undecided so far.

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 01:08:40

    ba ha ha ha ha I TOLD YOU SOOOO.

    Were they at least somewhat tasty?

    No. They were crap. I did make some pretty good banana/cream cheese/apple butter pancakes. Should have saved the $7 for the waffle iron and bought more fruit.

    Reply

  9. whatigotsofar
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 07:00:04

    there is a reason frozen waffles are available in every grocery store, they are just so much easier than making them on your own

    That’s true. Now if they could make them not taste like cardboard.

    Reply

  10. ohsomehowimanage
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 18:04:12

    Oh my god I love that show! George is my hero. And I’m sorry about your waffles. 😦 I have yet to get a nice waffle maker.

    I watched the first season and just couldn’t get into it. I think there was too much introspection. The frozen waffles were actually much better.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

    Reply

    • ohsomehowimanage
      Feb 05, 2011 @ 19:04:53

      No problem! This has actually inspired me to do a blog of my own because it seems like it helps you to not rip people’s heads off at the end of the night. I actually like this blog so much that I’m reading through it a second time! 😀

      Thanks for the compliment! I’ll give your blog a look, and yes, writing about it really does keep you out of prison.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

