Playing Games

Darren hired two new girls while I was on vacation, Raecheal and Amber.  I’ve worked with each of them a few times; Amber seems nice, but shy, Raecheal is funny and flamboyant, but lazy and selfish. 

Two Saturdays ago Shannon, Raecheal and I were scheduled to close.  When 7:30 rolled around and people were still coming in to eat, she flipped shit.  Hello!  We serve until 8:00.  Instead of using the time to clean while customers were eating, she went outside and smoked and played with her phone.  She stayed outside for about 20 minutes while Shannon and I did the bulk of the closing duties.  When she finally came back inside, we had almost everything finished except for vacuuming.  Raecheal hauled the vacuum out of the closet, vacuumed the rugs and left, leaving the vacuum on the floor of the waitstation.  I mentioned to Darren that Raecheal wasn’t the best closer in the world and maybe her schedule should reflect that.

This most recent Saturday Shannon, Raecheal and I were again scheduled to close, but Shannon called in sick.  Anna felt bad that I would get stuck doing all the closing work so she stayed late to help me.  I sent her home because I had some games to play.

Little girls.  Just when they think they have it all figured out, they meet someone like me who has their number and is better at manipulation. I’ve been doing this shit for a long, long time and I have a passive/aggressive streak.  The other servers want to get out of the restaurant so they will hurry up and do all the work while she is outside and be pissed off for days.  Glory doesn’t play that.  Glory feels that if somebody is going to be pissed off, it may as well be YOU.  

While Raecheal was outside smoking, I did nothing.  I puttered around my section, talked to Cora, stood in the waitstation, and slowly did the closing duties.  Raecheal came in and checked on her table and went back outside.  I continued to putter.  When Raecheal’s table finally left, she came in and expected to clean off her tables and leave.  She expected me to say, “Everything’s finished except cleaning off your table.”  Instead I said, “We still need to do the bathrooms, the beer room, the silverware, and the waitstation.  Your section still needs swept and mopped.  Oh, and Tom bused your tables so you should kick him a couple of bucks.”  I acted all innocent while she stormed around the restaurant having a temper tantrum.  In the end I still did the majority of the work, but she sure as hell didn’t get to collect her tip and leave.

I figure she will either bitch to Darren about how I stuck her with the last table and it took me f.o.r.e.v.e.r. to close the restaurant, and he will move her off Saturday nights.  Or she will take a  hint and get her ass in gear if she wants to get off work at a reasonable time.  Or she will quit like she keeps threatening.  If none of those happen, we will go back to closing duties by section and she won’t leave until she finishes her work, while the rest of us who use our time wisely, will be able to leave.

Girls, girls, girls. (shaking head)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 11:14:07

    I don’t get it. Why is she allowed to hang around outside? Shouldn’t the manager be yelling at her at that point?

    HAHAHAHA! Yes he should, but Chetto doesn’t tell anyone what to do. He believes we are all (cough) adults. Everyone loves working with Chetto since they can screw off all night.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 11:21:57

    You think working with girls is hard. Try dating them.

    Uh…no. I’ve been watching that show ‘Big Love’ and I can’t imagine anything like that. How on earth could you have more than one wife??!

    Reply

    • Bob
      Apr 26, 2010 @ 11:23:53

      What is hard about dating girls? I have found it pretty easy. They usually reject me immediately or in small cases, they don’t reject me.

      Reply

  3. blogmella
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 12:28:03

    Oh dear, hahahaha! You’ll get her sorted out in no time, now that she knows you don’t take any shit. I’m hopless at standing up to people like that – I’ll do everything and then bitch about it.

    I still bitch about it, but I don’t leave mad. I have my ways…

    You’re awesome and that will have its own rewards, I hope. 😀

    Why, thank you!

    Reply

  4. Jamie
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 13:33:11

    I completely agree. I would’ve done one better if I had to close with her. She is usually pretty good about closing with me, but she probably realized Iwill kick her ass if she doesn’t work like her life depended upon it. Mu ha ha ha. You’re awesome! can’t wait for tomorrow…..

    I have toe rings and a swimsuit catalog for you!

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 16:22:35

    hahahahaha!!!! Keep up the good work Eventually she’ll learn not to play that crap.

    I think she’ll quit. Her list of reasons to quit are endless.

    Reply

  6. darcknyt
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 22:36:32

    Well, that’s one strategy. I think it’s interesting how much goes on in this tiny little restaurant. It’s worse than any of the big companies I worked for, and pays a LOT less. Are you SURE you wouldn’t rather do something in a cubicle farm?

    Yes, I’m sure. I make way more money in a lot less time than I would in a cubicle farm. Besides a cubicle farm is B.O.R.I.N.G. and I don’t deal well with boredom.

    Of course, look who’s talking … I’M the one out of work for the last year and a half! HA!

    Nevahmind that bit about cubicle farms. I still find the amount of catty behavior and childishness amusing though. 🙂

    It’s a bunch of women, cattiness and childish behaviour is to be expected. 🙂

    Hope you had a great weekend, if not fun.

    It’s that time of year where it’s too hot to be inside, but too cold to be outside. It’s a little frustrating, but I found lazy things to do.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 02:36:11

    You crack me up! Seriously, that’s just awesome revenge tactics! I bow to your superior passive-aggressive manipulation! LOL

    I’m the master of passive/aggressive manipulation. I don’t know if I should put that on a resume or not.

    You really need a TV crew to secretly film all the crap that goes on there. Who knew life in a small restaurant could be so fraught with drama?

    A camera crew would be hilarious. It’s a bunch of women. Honestly, we get along a whole lot better than any other restaurant I’ve ever worked. I could tell you real horror stories about other places.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

