Little Cora

I learned something today.  Our cashier, Cora, who I’m very protective of, is in the Air Force.  She’s out on medical leave because she broke both of her ankles, but expects to go back in 6 months. 

This is just not the picture I had of Cora.  She’s sweet.  I can’t imagine her going to work with a gun.  My brother is military and I don’t know anyone who would mess with him.  It’s impossible for me to put Cora in this same group. 

I’ve been worried about how I will react when some douchebag customer makes Cora cry.  Apparently someone tried on Sunday when I wasn’t there.  Now I know she could snap their neck without breaking a sweat.  I feel better, but I just can’t get my mind to wrap around it.

Cora isn’t the type to show up with a gun and fighting skills; she’s the type to show up with a Care Bear and hugs.  What the hell is going on?  My world is spinning off its axis.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 23:42:03

    Worlds off their axes are commonplace nowadays. It’s the new normal. And not all military personnel are programmed killing machines.

    Well, that’s a good thing. I can’t imagine Cora holding a gun let alone winning a marksmanship award. She could be a freaking sniper for all I know. When I ask my brother what he does he pokes me like the Pillsbury Dough Boy and says, “If I told you, I’d have to kill you.” He laughs, but he kind of freaks me out.

    Reply

  2. blogmella
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 00:35:05

    Hahaha! Awww! She seemed so sweet – but the strongest poisons come in the smallest bottles! Hahaha!

    When she told me I just stared at her. Then I asked, “Do you have a gun?” She nodded. I asked, “Do you wear it to work?” She said, “Well, it *is* part of my uniform.” I just stared some more. Then I yelled, “Darren! Cora takes a gun to work!” “Yes, Holly, I know. She’s in the military.” Why was I the last to know?!

    My b/f’s brother is a Military Policeman and built like a brick shit house… But his g/f has him running around like an obedient little dog. You never can tell.

    My brother is 6’4″ and about 220 pounds of muscle. He has arms like an orangutan. He thinks ‘The Simpsons’ is the only thing worth watching on TV. The picture I have of him in my wallet is of him standing beside a Humvee in Iraq holding a big assed gun. He is the funniest, goofball I know.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 01:11:51

    Maybe she was in nursing or something – the military has lots of positions, including lots of office ones.

    She is a helicopter mechanic. Interestingly, that is one of the dreamy ambitions I had way back when.

    I wonder how she broke both her ankles?

    I can’t remember what she said about the first one because I was still in shock about the whole military thing, but the second one she broke because of the cast on the first one. She slipped in the cast and fell which resulted in breaking the other ankle. This is part of the reason Cora and the military aren’t synonymous in my mind. 🙂

    But I’m sure she loves your protective streak. We all like to feel that someone is in our corner. 🙂

    She hasn’t seen me go apeshit on someone. I’ve only done that for Kayla and Mikey, who no longer works there.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 04:24:44

    I think people have this image that everybody in the armed forces are obviously in the armed forces, even when in civies. In my experience, the proud men and women who defend their nation are just like everybody else, only, they put on that uniform and where it with pride. Oh, and they’re fit. No flabbies in the army.

    I can see a different mindset when she talks about “my flight” than when she talks about being a cashier at the restaurant. It is like her brain is somewhere else until she starts talking military stuff, then she’s not my little Cora anymore.

    Then again, I’m Canadian and our armed forces is much smaller and maybe it recruits a different demographic than the US forces.

    It goes in waves. Some years they will take just about anyone, other years they are really strict in their selection. I think they are in a select phase right now.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 14:26:01

    Wow, I think that’s cool. And BTW I’m surprised you’re surprised about the gun… in Wyoming not just people in the military might wear a gun to work, right? They’ve everywhere…

    I wasn’t surprised about the gun; I was surprised that CORA had a gun. Guns in Wyoming are much less common than they used to be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

