New Products

I have two new products and a TV show to rave about.

The first is the Roku player I bought to stream Netflix movies to my TV.  This little gem not only streams movies and TV shows from Netflix, it also allows me to rent new releases from Amazon for $3.99 per title.  This is fabulous since I live out in the Middle of Nowhere and sometimes decide I want to watch a movie at 2am.  The most amazing thing though, is Pandora Internet Radio.  I can create my own radio stations, which play only music I like, for forty hours of free listening per month.  After that it’s just 99 cents for the remainder of the month.  Pandora is also available on my computer or cell phone, but the TV’s surround sound is where I like it best.

The other product is the 3 in 1 laundry sheets by Purex.  Toss one of these sheets in the wash then transfer it to the dryer.  There’s no measuring, no bottles, no little sheets stuck in a sleeve.  Where detergent is concerned, less is better, so I cut the sheets in half for regular loads and quarters for small loads.  It ends up being cheaper than buying a bottle of laundry soap and a bottle or box of fabric softener.  When the laundry sheet comes out of the dryer it’s thick and hard to miss, unlike dryer sheets which always end up on the floor for the dogs to eat and puke up at 3am.

My new favourite TV show is ‘The Office’.  I’ve heard about this show for years, but I was never interested in it until my son made me watch a few episodes while I was in Laramie.  I’m about halfway through the second season and I can’t stop laughing.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 01:14:00

    Those sound like all good things to try. I’ve wondered about those laundry sheets. Less expensive, you say? How do they smell?

    They just smell like regular laundry stuff, nothing special. They seem expensive at first, but if you downsize them they are cheaper and you don’t have to dispose, carry, or store all those bottles.

    I’ve heard about The Office too. Never seen it but I heard it’s really funny. Good to see you laughing. 🙂

    It is so freaking funny. Christmas Party, Booze Cruise and The Injury are my 3 favourite episodes so far. I thought I was going to break a rib during Booze Cruise.

    Reply

  2. blogmella
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 01:36:41

    Laundry sheets? WTF? Don’t think we can get those yet.

    Dave and I are just working our way through our collection of the British (original) version of The Office, for the millionth time. The whole thing is genius. Our version is a little more uncomfortable than your US one, I think.

    I watched an episode of our version about a year ago and didn’t get it because it *is* uncomfortable and it’s shot as a mocumentary. Once I understood the concept and became familiar with the characters it was more enjoyable. I watched a brief bit of your version on youtube and yours is way more uncomfortable. I don’t know if I could stand that level of discomfort.

    Here’s a clip where they discuss the American use of the word “fanny” (which here means your vagina!). (They’re dressed up for a charity event in this episode). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDsfzJXGAo8&feature=related

    It didn’t embed (damned thing) so I don’t know if I watched the right one or not.

    Reply

    • blogmella
      Apr 28, 2010 @ 13:40:08

      No worries. The clip I linked is called “Bumbag” or “Fannypack” on Youtube but it isn’t SO funny that I’m going to quiz you on whether you’ve watched it. Hahaha!

      And yeah, our version is hardcore SQUIRMING but we can take it, with our stiff-upper-lip mentality. ;D

      “He used to fancy you, but now he’s found someone better.” HAHAHAHA!

      Reply

      • blogmella
        Apr 28, 2010 @ 23:50:18

        You found it! Yeah, Keith is a legend. “Over there, fanny means your arse… NOT your minge.” 😀

        If I watched that show I would have to you what the hell they were saying. If you hadn’t explained it beforehand, I wouldn’t know what a minge is and it wouldn’t have been that funny.

        Reply

  3. Bob
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 04:39:15

    Who is your favourite character from the office?

    I like the people from the lesser cast more than the lead characters: Kevin kills me, Toby, Angela, Creed, Stanley, Oscar & Meredith set up the best jokes. Of the lead cast I would say Dwight is my favourite because the best jokes are set up on him. The show would be lacking without him.

    Reply

  4. darcknyt
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 09:41:53

    I’ve not heard of those laundry sheets, but people all around me have been raving about The Office for years. I guess one of these days I’ll have to break down and watch a couple of eps.

    I don’t know if you can jump in the middle of this show. It’s much better if you can start at the beginning. I didn’t think it was hilarious until about halfway through the second season. By then the characters started to grow on me and I lost the uncomfortable feeling it brings out.

    Reply

  5. Zombieman
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 12:34:30

    Dang your endorsement of Roku should give you a kickback, as now I want one and ‘must have one’. I too, live in the country and stream Netflix through the Xbox, but I have been debating whether to get a device to stream the service to the basement television. I was kind of holding off for a blue-ray player with the capacity…but this looks better and I kinda think that ‘disks’ will be supplanted by streaming anyway.

    I think digital entertainment is our future. I know you can stream from xbox, playstation, blue ray and now wii, but Roku gives you The Channel Store where you can access things other than Netflix. I don’t know if the game consoles do that. I bought the cheapest player ($80) and it works fine for me. If you have an HDTV or are obsessed with picture quality, the more expensive units would be better. I think the most expensive one is $130 so that’s still not outrageous. I have to say the Roku player is the most impressive thing I’ve purchased in years.

    Office = Good. I’ve watched all of the UK version, plus the Christmas Special and maybe two seasons of episodes of the US version, it all seems to be worth viewing to me.

    I’ll have to look for the UK version. I watched a brief bit and it seemed too uncomfortable for me. Maybe once I got to know the characters I would be okay.

    Ooh if we are sharing series worth seeing before you die try the UK version of ‘Coupling’, I think you can stream it off Netflix now, the first two seasons of that are solid gold.

    I’ll have to look into that. Sometimes I forget other countries have TV and movies worth watching. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Sparty Girl
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 14:30:14

    Can you use Roku without wireless internet?

    No, you have to have a router. The cheapest one I could find was $30 at Wal-Mart.

    Reply

  7. Jamie
    May 02, 2010 @ 11:01:17

    you and your god dam dryer sheet contraption….

    You’re just jealous that I can do laundry.

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    May 02, 2010 @ 11:01:43

    at least your kidneys arent failing, and your not still drunk from the night before.

    I might start being drunk from the night before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

