An Open Letter to My Verizon Store

You people are idiots.

Two years ago when I purchased my son’s phone I also purchased an insurance plan.  When his phone broke last month, you told me I didn’t purchase an insurance plan.  This was an outrageously expensive phone for a 17 year old, for which I paid a ridiculous amount with an upgrade discount.  Of course I bought an insurance plan.  Rather than argue with you, he borrowed his sister’s back up phone until it is time for his upgrade.  His sister doesn’t believe in sharing, so this didn’t happen without a headache for me.

Last night while going over my bill, something I don’t do frequently, I noticed my mother’s line had almost doubled in cost.  When I looked at her detailed bill, I found the insurance plan.  For two years I paid $4.99 a month to insure a phone I purchased on ebay for twenty dollars.  All I can say is, YOU SUCK!

When Halo ate my Centro and I had to revert back to my Treo, you told me I had to add the $30 a month data package.  I told you I didn’t because it was an older version of a smart phone, but you insisted it was mandatory on all smart phones.  Then you neglected to add the data package, which made me crap my pants when I opened my bill and saw I had $181 in data charges.  When I came to the store, you acted like I should go screw myself and you gave me the number for Verizon so I could fix your mistake for you.  Customer service at its finest.

I called Verizon and imagine my hatred for you when I discovered I DID NOT need the data package, just as I told you, but now I have to pay for 3 months of it to fix your error.  If you hadn’t told me the data package was mandatory, I wouldn’t have used the internet on my phone, just as I haven’t for almost 2 years, and I wouldn’t have to pay $90 to negate the $181 dollars I racked up without the package.  Again, YOU SUCK!

I plan to visit with you tomorrow about these issues and I hope I can pull it off without becoming a screaming lunatic.

Assholes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    May 05, 2010 @ 20:51:51

    that sucks. Almost sounds like it is time to change companies.

    My contract expires next month. If they don’t make things right, I will look for someone who will.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    May 06, 2010 @ 00:15:50

    Now I feel guilty that I’ve only had good service with them.

    Deep breath hon – you show them who’s boss and don’t take no for an answer. Oh, and be sure to mention AT&T. They hate that.

    We have two choices here: Verizon or Altel. I’m not complaining about the service, they are usually very helpful and friendly. I want them to honour the insurance plan I’ve been paying for and I don’t know what to do on the phone internet thing. The horse has left the barn on that one. If the store can’t help me, I’ll go directly to Verizon and cut out the middleman.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      May 06, 2010 @ 18:52:47

      I hate to break this to you, but I think Verizon bought Altel…. and I’ll be happy to provide an alibi if you need one, you just say the word.

      I thought they did, but out here they operate as separate entities. There’s also a rumour that AT&T is buying Altel, but that might be wishful thinking.

      My son got home late today so I plan to talk to the Verizon store people on Friday. Remember, the alibi is for FRIDAY.

      Reply

  3. blogmella
    May 06, 2010 @ 01:57:20

    You paid for the data thing, because they LIED to you, and your contract expires next month – two good reasons for them to see sense. There might be somewhat of a grey area concerning the insurance (it seems obvious what happened but proof might be needed that you didn’t make the mistake yourself?). Maybe they will find a middle path and pay MOST of what you want. I hope they pay ALL of it, of course. And yeah, if you get no joy, go higher – it can’t hurt.

    The salesman was the one who added the insurance to the wrong line. I want a replacement phone.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    May 06, 2010 @ 03:37:10

    Cellphones are evil.

    Yes they are. I never thought I’d have one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

