Darren’s Harem

Darren has a harem of jealous women.  It’s absurd.  I think this should be his new work outfit. 

Darren, ready for work.

 

Every day someone has to tell me how Darren was flirting with this server or that one.  One server actually called me at home to tell me Darren was dating another server and they were making her uncomfortable.  Seriously?!  Grow a set and tell him yourself!  

First, why do they think I care?  Darren is neither my son, my brother,  nor my boyfriend, so what he does isn’t any of my concern.  Second, what do they think I can do about it?  Am I supposed to tell Darren he can’t talk to anyone at work?  What about when I’m not there?  Am I supposed to call him every 10 minutes to make sure he’s not flirting?  Maybe I should set up cameras with a live feed to my house so I can make sure he’s not acting like Keifer Sutherland on a bender. 

This is a problem.

 

It all boils down to female jealousy and fear that someone else might get special treatment.  In the restaurant, if the manager is paying attention to one server, she’s not working.  But what about the down time when there aren’t any customers and all the sidework is finished?  We all stand around the waitstation and talk then, but is Darren supposed to stay locked in the office just because he’s the manager?  What about when Darren talks to Zach?  Are they dating?  Is Zach going to get something I’m not? 

As far as I’m concerned, it’s petty and childish.  After all, I’m Darren’s favourite.  I know this because he frequently says, “Wow!  Surprisingly, you were the only waitress I didn’t feel like punching in the face tonight.”  That right there, my friends, makes my heart swell with pride at being the chosen one.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    May 06, 2010 @ 09:21:37

    Keifer Sutherland, making Canada proud.

    HAHAHA!

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 06, 2010 @ 09:24:13

    I dated a girl when I was very young who worked in a restaurant before we met. The manager, a guy in his late 20s or early 30s, slept with ALL the young, under-21 waitresses, and they liked it. He shagged ’em all at the same table, though I don’t know if he shagged ’em all a the same time. I think a couple times he’d shag one in the office and another one later.

    Restaurants in general seem sort of creepy to me. I figured the 80s were over, things had changed, sexual harassment laws made that sort of stuff tough to get away with, and it would be a clean, decent workplace environment.

    Evidently, I was wrong. Hail, Chosen One. 😉

    Our owner would fire all of us and start over if we were having sex in the restaurant. He DOES have a live feed going to his house and his kids watch it. There is no hanky-panky going on in the restaurant. Outside the restaurant is nobody’s business.

    Reply

  3. blunt delivery
    May 06, 2010 @ 10:36:16

    well that automatically means the girls will be hating on you now if you’re the one he doesn’t want to punch.

    thats how the girl logic works, you know.

    ah restaurants… i don’t miss you a BIT

    You would think, right? But they just run to me all the more to tell me their tales of woe. I don’t care.

    I was away from food service for a while and when I came back it was like any soap opera; you can pick it up right where you left off, even on a different show.

    Reply

  4. blogmella
    May 06, 2010 @ 10:47:39

    Darren is very astute. He doesn’t just know what to say to THEM, he knows what to say to YOU too! Go Darren!

    Yeah, Darren is pretty astute. Since I told him about the jealousy, he’ll fix things. He’s a good people person.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    May 06, 2010 @ 11:38:42

    I wonder if Darren says that to all the servers? Just sayin’. 😉

    HAHAHA! No. He tells them all that they did a good job, but I’m special.

    Class act, that Keifer, huh? Wowee, what a man. *eyeroll*

    When I saw that I nearly fell out of my chair. Apparently he has a drinking problem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

