No Matter Where You Go…

Yesterday I had lunch at a restaurant where a friend works.  Sunni used to work with me, but after 5 years at the restaurant, she burned out and had to find a different set of people.  Where she works now is a nice restaurant; linen napkins, tablecloths, a wine list, and an expensive menu.  The servers all wear black pants and white shirts, tasteful jewelry and appropriate footwear.  It’s pretty much the exact opposite of where I work.

As I was enjoying my pasta dish, a couple came in for lunch and before the door closed they started asking no one in particular, “Can we have a booth?  We want a booth.  Is it possible to get a booth?  Can we have a booth?”  Sunni greeted them and took them to a booth in the back.  I heard them say, “We don’t want this booth, can we have one up front?”

“Up front” is right next to the kitchen under this awning type thing where the buffet used to be and, to me, it is the least desirable place to sit.  What do I know.  Sunni offered them a choice of the two booths and brought them their drinks.

The woman complained that the table was wobbly and asked if Sunni could fix it.  Sunni went to the storeroom and found two thin pieces of cardboard, which she folded to place under the table leg.  She got down on her hands and knees, crawled under the table and wedged the cardboard under it.  She stood up and asked the woman to test the table.  The woman said, “It’s still wobbly.  How many pieces of cardboard did you put under there?”  When Sunni told her two, the woman suggested she try it with one.

Sunni got back on her hands and knees, crawled under the table and removed one of the cardboard pieces.  She stood up and asked how the table was.  The woman complained it was still wobbly and asked Sunni to find a different type of cardboard.  Right about then, an evil chuckle escaped my lips and I had to put my head down on the table.  I heard Sunni hiss, “Shut up, Glory.”

Sunni went into the kitchen and came out with a thick piece of cardboard, which she wedged under the table, again by getting on her hands and knees and crawling under the table.  The woman complained that it was the worst piece of cardboard yet and Sunni should put the first two pieces of cardboard back.  Once more on the hands and knees and under the table.

By this time I was nearly under my table laughing at this blatant display of assholery.  The first time the woman complained about the table I would have said, “That is why we don’t seat people at these booths.  Would you like to move to a booth in the back?”

This goes to show, no matter where you go, no matter how fancy the place, people are always willing to be assholes to the hired help.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brknhrt75
    May 08, 2010 @ 09:15:58

    I could never be a waitress. I think after the 2nd complaint I would have gone into the kitchen, come back with a sharp knife and said, “I could stab you with this repeatedly in the ear so your sense of balance ‘improves’, or you could shut the hell up. Which do you prefer?” Of course in reality, I would just spit in their food to get my retribution. Because I’m passive-aggressive like that. 😉

    HAHAHA! I like the stabbing in the ear idea. There is no way I would have put up with that shit and I was dumbfounded when Sunni did. After all, she is *MY* friend.

    Reply

  2. blogmella
    May 08, 2010 @ 11:22:21

    I think being rude to people who are serving you is tragic. Fancy that woman showing herself up so badly… I’d have got down on the floor and helped, if I’d been her.

    We have wobbly tables where I work and people shove their own damned napkins under it. Of course, they then go shit on the men’s room floor, but at least they don’t ask me to crawl around on my hands and knees.

    Mind you, ages ago we were in a VERY expensive restaurant, in Brighton, and a French waiter was “helping” us. I sat down and the table was wobbly. I told him and he put card under it – then explained, “The table was OK before, but the floorboards are quite flexible and when madam sat down…” he pulled a face. When he had gone, Dave started laughing “OMG! He just blamed you and said you were FAT!”. We were amused by his rudeness though.

    OMG! HAHAHAHA! I would have punched him in the balls or made gay comments throughout the meal. Americans need to get a dose of French service.

    Reply

  3. tipsfortips
    May 08, 2010 @ 11:42:40

    The price of the restaurant does not reflect the class of the patrons any more than the wealth of the patrons reflects their class.

    I work at a relatively fancy restaurant in the midwest. $30+ entrees and a 100 bottle wine list. We have one table where over the years guests have deemed it appropriate to carve a series of deep holes in the table. Every monday someone fills them with putty and by Wednesday they have been carved back out. I have stood and watched guests dig away at the table as I am serving them lobsters.

    Are you kidding me?! I would lose my shit and yell, “WHAT THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU’RE DOING?” They would then be asked to leave the restaurant, most likely after the staff beat their asses.

    The grass may look greener on the other side, but the hassles are just different.

    It may be that people think they are entitled to more since they are paying more. My daughter works at a high dollar hotel and people make all sorts of demands they wouldn’t if they were staying at Motel 6.

    Thanks for stopping by. I like hearing stories from others in the trenches.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    May 08, 2010 @ 12:39:33

    You can take the trailer trash out of the trailer park, but … well.

    You certainly have a disproportionate amount of assholery — or, as we in Darcland call it, assholitude — in your tiny li’l burg, Holls. Poor Sunni.

    When I go to restaurants in other towns I never see this sort of crap. I don’t know what it is about this area. Maybe we are over a Hellmouth.

    Reply

  5. whatigotsofar
    May 08, 2010 @ 13:15:08

    Or maybe it’s just time to get the heck outta Dodge.

    I’ve been thinking that for the last few years. My plan was to buy a pull-behind trailer and go south for the winters, but it’s hard to actually put the plan in motion.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    May 08, 2010 @ 13:46:10

    I don’t know where this whole idea of having a right to be rude to people comes from. Sure, patrons have a right not to sit at a wobbly table. In that case, if it bothered them, I would seat them at another table. They don’t have the right to expect me to crawl around on the floor for them. I am their server, NOT their slave. If you don’t like the wobbly table, then do something about it yourself. I’ll tell the manager to have it repaired, and there my repsonsibility for the table ends. I don’t understand your friend either. Whatever they tipped, it wasn’t worth it.

    I am kind to the people who serve me whether it is the woman at the gas station or a fellow server. The world runs on thankless jobs and people should be grateful there is someone willing to do the things they take for granted.

    I don’t know if Sunni was going above and beyond to impress me, but I remember her doing that kind of stuff when we worked together. I’m too old and fat to crawl around under someone’s table.

    Reply

  7. brknhrt75
    May 08, 2010 @ 17:57:42

    I am always nice to the waitstaff because I am grateful for being served. I’m really lazy and someone bringing food to me and making sure my glass is always full makes me happy. 🙂

    Except for once when I was out to eat with my beau and the waitress only looked at him, ignored me, and brought the check to him, even tho I was paying that particular evening. I get the whole chivalry thing and maybe bringing the check to him was what is expected, but it annoyed me that she was flirting with my guy to get a bigger tip and just ignored me. I didn’t leave a tip (which I won’t do anymore. If I’m unhappy, I only leave $1) and my boyfriend thought I was being a bitch. Oh well, it made me feel better. 🙂

    We are told to make eye contact with the woman first and talk mostly to the woman. However, unless the woman grabs the check out of my hand, I always give it to the man.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      May 10, 2010 @ 13:45:03

      That’s interesting. When my husband and I go out I always pay. I handle the household accounts, and I’m better at figuring the tip, so I just always do it. We like it that way. I’ve noticed that servers almost always give him the bill. Although some do try and lay it down in the middle.

      I know most women handle the household accounts, but I still give it to the man and smile at the woman. I also know she’s responsible for my tip.

      That crap about flirting with him and ignoring you is just inexcusable, though. I wouldn’t have put up with that, either.

      Reply

  8. Bob
    May 09, 2010 @ 21:03:10

    I wouldn’t be able to take all that shit.

    Me neither. I would have moved them to a different table and been done with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

