Know What You Order!

Our special last night was All You Can Eat Chicken with a choice of 2 side dishes (NOT the salad bar) and garlic toast for $11.99.  We also have the same thing on the menu for $10.99, but it isn’t all you can eat.  The special is on the board and the hostess tells customers what the special is as she is seating them.

We were pretty busy for a Tuesday night.  Kayla seated me two people and when I went to take their order, the man pointed at the BBQ Chicken, right on the menu and said that’s what he wanted.  Many of our customers choose the chicken off the menu since, even for only a dollar more, the all you can eat is a lot of food.  I didn’t question his choice because he was a local.

After I dropped their food off and before I gave them their check, I made 4 additional trips to their table:  once to make sure their food was to their liking, once to refill his wife’s drink, once to offer him another beer, and once to pre-bus their table.  They never indicated anything was wrong.  He never said, “Hey, I want more chicken!” or “Where’s my all you can eat chicken?” or “You suck!”  However, when they paid he told Kayla he didn’t think I was doing a very good job since I never offered him any more chicken.  WTF?!

Since Kayla is our new supervisor she questioned me about it.  Back in the good old days, it would have been written in the manager’s log and a month later (after I forgot about it) I would have been called into the office and demoted for ruining the restaurant.  The new system is much better.  I showed her the ticket where I charged the menu price for the meal instead of the special price, and all was well.  Except I was pretty pissed off for the rest of the night. 

Don’t tell my supervisor I’m not doing a good job because you don’t know what you ordered.  It isn’t my job to read your mind or bring you what you didn’t order.  At the time, I had 6 other tables and they were all able to tell the difference between the special and the food on the menu.  And instead of bitching to the cashier, why didn’t you just ASK for more chicken?  I would have changed your ticket, you would have received more chicken, and I wouldn’t feel the overwhelming urge to beat you with a club. 

Asshole.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heif
    May 12, 2010 @ 09:00:57

    You can’t fix stupid

    You can get a boob job, a nose job, or a flat stomach, but you can’t fix stupid. It’s a shame too because I would rather wait on ugly people than stupid ones.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    May 12, 2010 @ 09:21:26

    I suddenly want chicken. I think KFC is in my future.

    Our chicken is much better.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    May 12, 2010 @ 12:52:13

    I guess I’m a weirdo. When I see a price disparity like that and I’m not clear on why the same thing appears with two different prices in two separate places, I ask. How hard is that?

    “Why is the special on the board more expensive than the non-special on the menu?”

    “Oh, well, that’s because the item on the menu is not the all you can eat special. But for only a dollar more you can have the same thing and receive more chicken upon request. Would you like to do that instead?”

    “No, thank you. I’m morbidly obese and all I can eat chicken might make them endangered. Rather than explode in your section of the restaurant, I’ll simply have the standard meal. Thank you for clearing that up.”

    See? Not hard.

    HAHAHAHA! Endangering chicken.

    I am 50% of the dining experience, the customer is the other 50%. I am not a mind reader, it is up to the customer to let me know when something is wrong. Typically I ask people to be sure they know what they are ordering, but he was very specific so I let it go. There were 4 times where he could have politely asked for more chicken and there were numerous times where he could have flagged me down. Instead he sat there like a dumbass, said everything was fine and complained later. I HATE that shit.

    Reply

  4. blogmella
    May 12, 2010 @ 14:59:13

    I had “Salt and Pepper Chicken Wings” tonight, from the Chinese Take-Away. Thank goodness, because otherwise this post would have made me CRAVE fried chicken.

    And yes, your customer was (what my boyfriend would call) a bell-end.

    Your boyfriend’s terms for stupid people almost make me pee my pants. I think he needs to make a list of all the things you can call dumbasses because sometimes dumbass just isn’t enough.

    Reply

    • Blogchik
      Jun 01, 2010 @ 21:15:19

      I love the word “bell-end.” I must find a way to work that into conversation! 🙂

      Did I make a typo I can’t find or did I create a new word?

      Do you find that people who order the all-you-can-eat special are, um, heavier than those who don’t? Just out of curiosity…

      We have some of the fattest customers around. The first summer I worked at the restaurant I nearly threw up every time I saw a big, fat woman in polyester pants two sizes too small at the salad bar. I still swoon, and not in a good way, when some man whose gut hangs out under his shirt asks for a table and admits he’s too fat for a booth, as if it’s a matter of pride.

      Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    May 12, 2010 @ 15:08:07

    The salad bar is $4.99 extra.

    Damned straight.

    Why do people expect a server to read their mind? I have never understood that. I think you should have beaten him with a club. Or at least leftover chicken bones.

    Tell me what you want and I’ll get it for you. That’s my job. Play “Guess what I’m thinking” with me and you will be disappointed.

    Reply

  6. whatigotsofar
    May 12, 2010 @ 15:28:13

    I stopped reading after “All you can eat chicken.” Why was I not informed of this beforehand? Next time, tell me. I will come, I will be a good tipper and a pleasant patron, but I will eat the restaurant’s entire chicken supply.

    We have nightly specials Monday-Saturday from Labour Day (first Monday in September) until Memorial Day (last weekend in May). They are:

    Monday: All you can eat spare ribs
    Tuesday: All you can eat chicken
    Wednesday: All you can eat beef ribs
    Thursday: Chef’s choice
    Friday: Prime rib
    Saturday: Surf & Turf (steak & coconut shrimp)

    It is no wonder we have so many fat people in Cody.

    Reply

  7. Bob
    May 12, 2010 @ 16:30:11

    I think WIGSF’s next trip will be on a tuesday and it will be to your restaurant.

    That’s fine as long as he keeps his promises.

    Reply

  8. Ahmnodt Heare
    May 12, 2010 @ 19:35:06

    If people have a habit of getting this confused, I would make it a point to mention both when taking the order. Personally, if i saw it was $10.99 on the menu and $11.99 as the “special”, I would be ordering something else.

    People don’t have a habit of getting it confused. Some people ask, “What is the difference between the special and the one on the menu?” The special is all you can eat; the menu version isn’t. Most people hear the special and don’t even bother looking at their menu.

    Reply

  9. trailerparkbarbie
    May 13, 2010 @ 16:19:38

    Ya know why he didn’t ask for more chicken and went to your supervisor behind your back….cause he was CHICKEN-SHIT. Why can’t people speak up and quit being closet-bullies? What a jerk!

    Nice to see you here!

    Most people who won’t say anything to their server, but complain at the register are angling for a free meal which equals being a chicken-shit.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Is KFC still open? « What about Bob?

Leave a Reply

