Happy Day, Bummer Night

I took advantage of the nice day to fix the electric dog fence.  I threw it up temporarily in the dead of winter because I didn’t know if it was going to work and, well, it was cold.  If it wasn’t going to work, I wasn’t going to put a lot of effort into it and I wasn’t going to spend hours outside in subzero temperatures.  It works beautifully.  The dogs don’t even approach the fence.  If they happen to wander too close and the alarm sounds, they turn and run in the opposite direction.  And I thought they were stupid.

So today I spent two hours attaching it to the physical fence and Best Dog Otis stayed by my side the entire time.  When we moved into the duck yard, he left my side only two times to taste a duck.  I love all my dogs, but Otis is extra special.  He’s the only dog who doesn’t have a shock collar because he stays where I put him.

He's a good boy.

I did get way too much sun though, and I can smell cooked meat.  I think it’s me.

I was feeling pretty good about things when I got to work.  That lasted about 5 seconds.  There was a very negative vibe in the waitstation and it didn’t take me long to figure out that Anna had a hate-on for LMKIA.  We all know LMKIA gets under my skin, way under my skin, but I can ignore her.  Anna vibrates with her dislike of LMKIA.  I don’ t know what happened, but it had something to do with marrying the BBQ sauce and LMKIA going on the floor early.

Whenever I work with Anna and she starts going off on LMKIA and all her perceived special treatment, I want to stick a knife in my head and/or quit.  It makes me paranoid.  She has nothing nice to say about the managers, the cashiers or any of the servers.  She makes it sound like the restaurant is going straight to hell and it won’t be long before complete chaos ensues.  After talking to her for 20 minutes I’m so dissatisfied with my job, my co-workers, the managers and the owner I’m ready to see if I can find a better job with the carnival. 

Then she leaves and I look around and realize things are the same as they have been for the last few years I’ve worked there.  By and large, everyone works hard and does what they are supposed to do.  LMKIA annoys me with her obsequious behaviour, but dead assed drunk people annoy me a lot more.  We don’t have any drunks now.  Things could be way worse.

I’m looking forward to tourist season when we are so busy no one has time to talk.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    May 16, 2010 @ 08:13:03

    I have a few facebook friends like that. Their status updates make me want to shoot myself. Then I hide them and voila! I’m happy again.

    Oh how I wish this was an internet situation, or a TV one where I could mute everyone.

    I must thank you for changing to a white background. Some days I couldn’t read your post because something about the white-on-black is hell on my eyes. And I don’t like missing your posts. 🙂

    You should have let me know sooner! I’m here to please. The new background is called Contempt. I thought it was fitting.

    Reply

  2. Sparty Girl
    May 16, 2010 @ 10:31:10

    I agree with Sherri, the new background is great. Nice and clean, more like reading a book.

    I think there are people like Anna everywhere, unfortunately, because they make me want to poke my eyes out.

    She has never been this bad. She has been talking of retiring and it is probably time. I’m worried she’s going to have a stroke over LMKIA and Darren.

    Reply

  3. beckyb26
    May 16, 2010 @ 10:45:31

    “Obsequious.” Was that a word-a-day calendar word? 😉

    No, that is a normal word. I think it’s stuck in my head forever because of a Steve Martin song, but I can’t remember which one.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    May 16, 2010 @ 13:13:15

    Sounds like Anna needs some happy pills. Or at least a dose of trying to find the upside to every situation she finds herself in. I know it’s hard, but still, at least don’t spread it around. They say misery loves company, but I think that’s a misunderstanding. Miserable people are usually alone and friendless.

    Anna needs to retire.

    I like the white background too. 🙂

    Reply

  5. blogmella
    May 16, 2010 @ 14:17:40

    Anna sounds like Oscar the Grouch – don’t let her get to you. There are poisonous people everywhere but you just have to tune them out.

    She wasn’t like this until recently. Maybe she’s going through a bad patch and needs to vent, but she’s depressing the shit out of me.

    Otis looks SO handsome in that picture!

    He IS so handsome and he sorta knows it.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    May 16, 2010 @ 17:47:47

    Well, I for one think I’m like Anna. I bet a lot of other people think I am too. And that’s all fine as long as they give me money when I publish my books.

    Glad it got better. I have bouts of downer too, but then, I try to be alone during those times or not let them show. I think I suck at it, though, but I do try.

    It got better, but for about an hour or two I seriously considered walking out.

    Reply

  7. Bob
    May 17, 2010 @ 08:06:01

    I hope it gets busier soon!

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    May 25, 2010 @ 21:57:08

    i couldn’t agree more with this blog. oh the gossiping must stop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

