Updates & Quickies

I went to the grocery store last night right after work and I ran into one of the local crazy ladies.  Usually if I see this woman anywhere, I turn and walk quickly in the opposite direction.  I was looking at the sour cream when she came up behind me.  

“Are you still working at the restaurant?” she asked.

“Yes.”

“Really?!”

I’m not quite sure how to take that.  Is it:

  • “Really?!  I can’t believe they haven’t fired you yet.”
  • “Really?!  I can’t believe you’ve held a job this long.”
  • “Really?!  I can’t believe you are so unmotivated that you are still waiting tables.”

Luckily someone else walked over to the dairy section and diverted her attention long enough for me to scamper away.  It wasn’t important enough for me to clarify her surprise at my continued employment.

**********

Creeper Jim came in the restaurant tonight.  WITH A DATE.  She wasn’t bad looking, but we figured she was in it for the free meal since she brought her son.  HAHA!  Dude.  You are so not getting laid.

Kayla seated them in my section and I dragged my ass out to their table.  It was totally worth waiting on the freak and not getting a tip just to watch him squirm while the woman and kid ordered.  “How much does that cost?” he asked after every single thing they ordered.  He even had Kayla print him a ticket right after they ordered just to make sure he had enough money.  It was freaking hysterical.

But he mistook my laughter and smirk as a sign of friendship and soon started flirting with me and calling me to their table by yelling my name across the dining room.  I guess he thought I wouldn’t nut punch him while he was on a date.  He almost guessed wrong. 

I tried to strong sell a strawberry shortcake (the most expensive dessert we have) to the kid and that’s probably what cost me my 2% tip.  But watching the kid pitch a fit while the creep made a dash to the door made it all worthwhile.

**********

This couple came in for dinner tonight and they asked to be seated with someone other than Jamie or I.  HAHAHA! 

 Assholes. 

The only other server was Raecheal and they fawned all over her, but only after they noticed the three of us talking at the food window.  They assumed we were talking about them (we weren’t) and told Raecheal, “Don’t believe what any of the other servers here say about us, unless it’s Anna.”  (She says they used to be a couple of nasty drunks, but I don’t think that’s what they were referring to.)  Of course this made Raecheal haul ass back to the waitstation to ask what they were talking about, so we enlightened her.  Obviously they have guilty consciences or they wouldn’t try to be Raecheal’s new best friend.

Assholes.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    May 19, 2010 @ 03:50:48

    Wow, the crazy ladies seek you out in grocery stores? Your job is WAY too high profile for me! 🙂

    Yes. This is laughable, but I’m a minor celebrity in Cody. If I go to Wal-Mart during the day I’m met with, “Hey! I know you! You were our waitress two weeks ago!” I get this at banks, gas stations, and bars. It would be funny if it weren’t so creepy.

    Reply

  2. blogmella
    May 19, 2010 @ 03:54:06

    I love the fact that the nasty couple KNOW they’re hated but still come in to your restaurant! WTF?

    I don’t think they realized it until last night. I told Darren about it and he thought they should get their food to go on nights Anna isn’t working. Okay, not really, but he did joke about it.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    May 19, 2010 @ 04:10:58

    Does your community have any positive aspects? Or is it just that your blog is where you go to vent all the bullshit you encounter?

    The blog is for my pissed off side, hence the title. But yeah, Cody is full of assholes.

    It would be nice to see the other side of your little corner of Hell, should the other side exist.

    I’m not sure it does, at least when dealing with the public.

    Reply

    • Bob
      May 19, 2010 @ 06:35:43

      Very good point WIGSF. I never thought about how she makes it sound like her community is full of weirdos and such.

      It is.

      Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      May 19, 2010 @ 13:27:26

      Hey, cut her a little slack… after all, we hear some great duck/dogs/kids stories!

      But not everyone is as enamoured with the duck/dog/kid stories as you are.

      Maybe this summer she’ll have some real nice tourists to wait on at the restaurant. Or even a visit from family that she hasn’t seen in a long time. Then she’ll have lots of pleasant, and maybe even funny, stories to relate.

      Gee, I wonder who that would be? 🙂

      Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    May 19, 2010 @ 12:42:37

    I about died when I read what Anna says about them! If they only knew! Hahahahhahaha! Maybe someone should tell them – that would surely keep them out of the restaurant forevermore.

    I know! They think she’s their best friend and most of the time she makes a growling noise whenever she sees them.

    And seriously, what’s up with the woman at the grocery store? That’s mildly creepy.

    She’s strange. No matter what grocery store I go into, no matter what time, she’s there babbling to everyone in sight. I think her husband used to beat her a lot.

    Reply

  5. sandysays1
    May 21, 2010 @ 15:05:05

    I told my human about your blog and that it seems there were lots of assholes out west just like in Florida. He said, “Yep, you often hear Barnum’s quote about a sucker born every minute, well, they don’t mention he also said, ‘and there are two rectal apertures (translation = assholes) born for each sucker.’ Arf arf Sandy

    HAHA! Sandy, it sounds like you should meet my dogs. They are smart like you.

    Reply

  6. Jamie
    May 25, 2010 @ 22:04:01

    yeah they seem to be coming in everyday now. i planned their demise as i was getting ready for work tooday. it was after the dentist so i can blame it on the drugs

    They weren’t in tonight that I saw, but we were screaming busy so I may not have noticed. Creeper Jim did manage to stick his face in mine and say hello. I was too busy to tell him to eat shit.

    Reply

  7. Blogchik
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 20:51:32

    Wow, the glory of small towns…you can’t even have peace at the grocery store…

    And people in small towns think they know you well enough to say whatever pops in their heads. There are no mouth filters in small towns. When I worked for the visitor center a woman complimented me on my dress. I thanked her and she said, “It makes you look less fat than the one you wore yesterday.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

