The Caddies

Why do people throw their trash in the caddies?

We have these cute western horseshoe caddies for napkins, sugar & sweetener, salt & pepper, ketchup & barbecue sauce.  They keep everything organized and clean.  That is until people use it as a personal garbage can.

I routinely find toothpicks, straw wrappers, shrimp tails, used napkins, silverware wrappers, and gum in the caddies.  People place their dirty plates on top of the napkins on the caddy.  The worst offenders are people over the age of 40.  Men in their 60s are absolutely disgusting with what they do to the caddies.  

Most restaurants don’t replace a caddy after each visitor so the next time you go out to eat, remember the one on your table is only as clean as the last customer.  If you are an offender, please be considerate of the next guests.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    May 28, 2010 @ 09:48:30

    Talking of absolutely disgusting, your post brought back memories of when I did waitressing as a Saturday job aged about 16. I used to hate it when old men would give their nose a good blow on the paper serviette and then leave it on the table for me to move. Gross!!

    A couple of years ago a woman came in the restaurant with a gusher of a bloody nose. She WOULD NOT go in the restroom and take care of it; she prefered to sit at the table and bleed all over while her dinner companions tried not to barf on the table. I finally told her she had to either leave the restaurant or go in the restroom. She went in the restroom and got herself under control. When they got ready to leave, she thought she was going to leave all her blood soaked napkins on the table. Oh no you don’t. The trash is right over there.

    But I have a confession, I think I was quite disgusting then as well, if someone left a scone with just one bite out of it I would eat it in the kitchen so I didnt need to spend money on lunch. Makes me shudder now.

    In the summer people freak because our chicken is pink (the hickory wood we use to smoke turns all the meat pink) and they send it back. I can’t tell you how many times I have wanted to eat the chicken or baby back ribs they didn’t. I think if one of the staff started eating the returns, we all would.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    May 28, 2010 @ 11:46:57

    Aren’t they jerks? I never understood that. When I was a kid, the lessons were, “Leave a place as good or better than you found it, return a borrowed item in as good a condition as you found it, and if you accidentally damaged it, then you’re on the hook for replacing or repairing it.”

    Now people act like they have to “leave their mark” on everything, like dogs pissing on fence posts.

    The best mark to leave is none at all.

    I agree. The biggest offenders wouldn’t like finding a caddy the way they left it.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    May 28, 2010 @ 13:28:17

    I really cannot understand this. It is a matter of personal pride that I leave things reasonably tidy. It seems like some people actually flaunt their ignorance!

    One of these days I’m going to sneak some pictures of the messes people leave behind. You will be dumbfounded.

    Reply

  4. Zombieman
    May 28, 2010 @ 14:18:51

    Maybe it is a little OCD, but I stack everything up and wipe the table down with a napkin when I am done.

    HAHAHA! I’m the same way. I don’t want to leave a mess for someone else to clean up.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    May 28, 2010 @ 18:54:31

    EEEEEWWWW! I swear I am NEVER going to eat out again, EVAR!

    I think most people would stay at home if they really thought about the cleanliness of restaurant tables.

    Reply

  6. whatigotsofar
    May 30, 2010 @ 05:16:58

    Seems like many people in your town have no manners whatsoever. But you already knew that.

    Summer season has started and I have seen fewer and fewer locals. For that, I am rejoicing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

