The Tools of my Trade

1. My pen. It’s mine and you can’t have it. I don’t come to where you work and ask to use your computer, chain saw, hammer, truck, calculator, or g-string & pasties. Don’t ask to borrow my pen unless you want me to stand at your table and stare at you until you give it back.

Also, when I tell you there are pens at the front desk, don’t heave a gigantic sigh and roll your eyes. My job is to bring you and those around you food and beverages, and to clean up your mess when you leave. It is not my job to fetch you a pen and the daily crossword, folded just right.

2. My apron. Keep your hands out of it. It is where I store my money, tickets and pen and you have no reason to grope around in it. Copping a feel is extra!

3. My hand towel. You may not have it to use as your personal linen napkin. I wipe my hands on it … my dirty hands, which have just cleaned off someone else’s plate. For you, it is a bacteria infection waiting to happen. For me, it keeps my apron from looking like I fished it out of a Dumpster.

Keep your hands off my stuff and we’ll get along just fine.

(Originally posted on 6/23/09)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 11:13:32

    If I keep reading your blog, I'm never going to eat at a restaurant again. I should know better.

    How MUCH extra for the feel? Just askin'. 😉

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 13:14:28

    The cost of the feel depends on who you are. Creepy, old men and impatient women looking for a straw will never have enough money. 🙂

    Don't get the wrong idea here. I like the majority of the people who eat at the restaurant. It is a chosen few who make me angry enough to write about.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 14:12:17

    Ewww, who would want to touch your hand towel? You wipe tables and stuff with it too – wanting to touch that is just … just … ugh! Nasty people!

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 17:08:21

    Disgustingly enough, I've had to fight people for my hand towel. I wear it tucked under my apron string and I've had people (notice I said "people" and not "a person")yank it off and wipe their faces with it. I always stand in mortified shock thinking about how many germs they've smeared all over their faces before I can yank it back.

    Reply

  5. blogmella
    May 29, 2010 @ 10:45:45

    When I was a care assistant, one old lady wanted me to rub moisturiser into her scaly purple legs, without my latex gloves on – as “other carers do it” and “those gloves make it feel horrible”…. Sweetie, I don’t CARE what anyone else does, I’m NOT ALLOWED to work without gloves and I DON’T WANT TO.

    Gross. I hope I’m never in need of a caregiver. It kills me to ask for help and I can’t imagine asking someone to do my dirty work. Blech.

    Reply

    • blogmella
      May 29, 2010 @ 10:47:05

      Sorry, that had nothing to do with your post really, did it? But people are just VILE is all I’m saying. 😉

      You can comment whatever you want. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Jamie
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 21:40:14

    oh ha this is a good one

    You know it’s true.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

