Have a Completely Average Day

The new server, Elizabeth, and the Eye Candy are a little on the religious side.  It doesn’t bother me since I would rather be around people who do good deeds and have a positive spin on things than people who are drunk all the time or busy manipulating their co-workers.

Contrary to what some of you may think, I’m not pessimistic; I’m realistic.  My views on specific people and people in general are based on years of observation and experience.  I’m not shooting from the hip here.  My life is a research project on just how low we can go as a species.

With that in mind, even I was shocked at the number of complaints Elizabeth received when she wrote, “Have a blessed day!” on her tickets.  People said they didn’t like the religious connotation and that religion should be separate from business.  WTF?!

Why on earth would someone get their panties in a twist because a server gave them a blessing?  And why would they take the time to actually complain about it?  Is it because Elizabeth seems content so they want to ruin her day?  In that case, they NEED the blessing. 

I want to write ‘Fuck off!’ on about a third of my tickets.  Would the people who don’t want the blessing prefer that?  If customers haven’t met their daily quota for douchebaggery, I can always give them something valid to complain about.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 12:43:20

    I am not surprised that they complained. Religion is such a polarizing topic. People get their backs up over the most minor things when it comes to religion.

    I just don’t think it is a valid complaint. People leave religious handbooks for servers all the time and we don’t chase them down and bitch about it.

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 12:53:31

    That is pretty silly. She didn’t say “May the Christian God bless you,” she said to have a blessed day. That’s not pushing religion on anyone.

    I agree.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 12:58:08

    You have to figure something. You’re in a country that was founded by (the descendants of) people who felt so strongly in their own religious beliefs and felt so much difference to their neighbour’s insignificantly different religious beliefs that they felt the need to emigrate across the Atlantic Ocean. Not by plane, but by boat, a boat trip that takes three months in which death by scurvy was a possibility. And not to a nation of prosperity, but to a vast, untamed land inhabited only by nomadic peoples. Therefore, no houses, no infrastructure.

    This is true, but like Sherri said, she didn’t tell people what to believe, just to have a blessed day. I don’t see where it’s different from saying ‘Have a nice day.’

    I used to work in a store that was located in a neighbourhood made up almost entirely of Jewish people. While working at that store, I was, on many many occasions wished a happy hanukah. I always replied with “Thank you. Happy hanukah to you too.” I’m not Jewish. But if somebody wants to wish me good tidings and cheer, I’ll take it and respond in kind.

    Exactly. And they weren’t trying to convert you, just wishing the good tidings of their holiday would reach you. In my opinion, we need all the blessings we can get.

    Reply

    • Ahmnodt Heare
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 06:50:15

      I also was wished a “Happy Hanukkah” by Jewish people. For people who are that offended by religion, feel free to give me your cash. U.S. currency has “In God We Trust” written on it and I don’t want them to be offended so I will be happy to take their money from them.

      There’s a movement to change that.

      Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 07:52:59

      You see, people are so fanatical about their own beliefs (being unreligious to a point where they are anti-religious) that they interpret anything that may look religious as an assault on their own unreligious-ness.

      Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 13:30:09

    Complaining that someone was nice to you. *eyeroll* I guess some people really DO want to be b*tch-slapped! That ought to make their day!

    They should have had me as their server. Then they could complain.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 14:30:54

    This is stupid. Even if she HAD said “May the Judeo-Christian God bless you and yours,” it’s STILL not telling them what to believe. Saying “Have a blessed day” could mean she’s wishing Cthulu would bless you. It sounds like they just don’t want to be blessed, which is fine. More for those of us who DO believe and will receive it.

    Too bad we can’t take blessings away from those who don’t want them, huh.

    Go ‘head and write “f**k off” on your tickets when you want and see if that works better. In the meantime, God bless you.

    You don’t know how bad I want to write that sometimes. And thank you. I take all the blessings I can get.

    Reply

  6. blogmella
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 18:58:30

    Oh I saw a lot of that on LiveJournal. Somebody would tell us about something dreadful that was happening to them and somebody else would comment “I hope things improve, I will pray for you”. Then person number one would get all offended and say “I don’t want you to pray for me! I’m offended!”. How rude… The fact that someone is doing their best to help should be enough for them to at least be polite back.

    There was a time when I lost my religion, but I never turned down prayers or blessings. People are idiots.

    Reply

  7. Becky
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 21:15:15

    I used to hate having people pray for me, too. However, the older I get the more I appreciate the kindness of the gesture. It only means that they are thinking of you and want good things to happen to you. Who can be offended at that?

    For a few years I was uncomfortable with all things Christian, but I still believed in God. It was just his followers who annoyed me.

    Unless of course they want to pray for you because you’re gay, or are having an abortion or something controversial like that. Then it’s offensive. Clearly not what Elizabeth is doing.

    And these would be the followers I was referring to…

    Reply

  8. Zombieman
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 06:31:37

    Pessimism is dead! Long live realism! Wait there was more to the blog than that…

    At my job we pass ‘Bless you’s around all the time, between two Christians, a Muslim and an Atheist, no one gets offended at all. If my server wrote ‘Have a blessed day’ on my ticket it would be a bit unusual but nothing to complain about.

    Sometimes I think people just look for a reason to complain.

    Reply

  9. whatigotsofar
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 07:54:10

    And one more thing, have a blessed day.

    Thank you. You have a blessed day as well.

    Reply

  10. Badgerpants
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 21:58:54

    The “have a blessed day” thing would irk me slightly, but not enough to complain to management about it. I’d just put on my big girl panties and deal with it, y’know? “Thought that counts” and all that rot.

    99.99% of the general public should just grow the hell up already. I did my time in the waitstaff trenches, and it never ceases to amaze me how people go absolutely raving bugpoop mad when food is involved.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

    I am always dumbfounded by how much people will flip out over a six dollar burger, but they will pay that much for crap at a fast food place and never complain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

