Problem Solved

Last night I seated three men in my section and when I went to their table one of the men said, “Before you pour water, can you seat us away from the screaming kid?”

I looked around and there was a little girl sitting at the next table, quietly eating her dinner.  There was a small boy on the other side of the restaurant who had been screaming, but he was quiet then.  So I said, “There are kids on the other side of the restaurant, too.  Where would you like me to seat you?”

He flailed around in the booth, slammed his menu around and said, “I don’t like your attitude.”

I said, “I’m sorry, but this *is* a family restaurant and it *is* dinner hour…”

He flailed around some more, slammed his menu shut and said, “You know what?”

I flashed him the peace sign, said “See ya!” and walked off. 

As they were leaving the restaurant I heard one of the men say, “Well.  I guess she told you.”

You know you are.

It’s no secret I don’t like kids in restaurants or dogs at  picnics.  If I owned a restaurant, it would be kid free.  When I go out to eat, I pick places which don’t cater to kids or I eat at off peak kid times.  Not too long ago I yelled at some  people who let their toddler scream for 45 minutes in the sushi restaurant at 8pm.  Kids, sushi and late night don’t go together.

However, I felt this guy was out of line.  He was rude.  He complained about the little girl loud enough for her young parents to hear and it hurt their feelings.  As far as I was concerned he could eat shit.  Also, someone who is going to complain about a child just because it’s a child is going to complain about the food and the service.  He was going to make me wish I had called in sick.  I don’t know where he was from, but in my world he was a problem waiting to happen and I don’t want that in my section.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 09:46:18

    Nice job! It is amazing how many stories you have weekly from work!

    When you work with the general public there’s no end to the things you see and hear.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 10:57:39

    Amen to this. I’m a parent and I DON’T let my kids scream in public. When they do they’re dealt with so they won’t do it again. And if someone is going to complain about them, they can kiss off.

    I could take my daughter anywhere. My son was a first rate brat. We had to leave many public places early because he was unfit for social outings.

    This guy calls a little girl quietly eating her dinner a “screaming kid”? Yeah, he’s a problem waiting to happen.

    Kids are kids. They all have the possibility of screaming. If you don’t like it, don’t go where kids are. If I had been that girl’s parent (and yes, they heard him) I would have come undone on him.

    Good for you. Peace!… now leave. Awesome.

    The coolest part of the story that I forgot to include was the little girl was under 2 years old and there was no way she understood my exchange with the man, but when I walked by her she gave me a high five. It made me tear up.

    People who are assholes miss out on so much in life.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 11:54:54

    Hahaha! He didn’t like your attitude, he didn’t like the kid… He was a right old misery guts. ;D

    If he had stuck around I’m sure he would have liked me a lot less. I have no patience for bullshit.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 15:07:16

    You go, girl. What a jerk.

    You know I’m always good at putting people in their place.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 15:07:45

    Family restaurant at dinner time is going to be loaded with kids. Only an idiot would think there was a “kid-free” section in such a place at such a time.

    The restaurant is very small so when I asked, “Where would you like me to seat you?” I was dead serious. I wanted him to tell me where I could seat him that he would not hear a kid screaming. It’s not like I could take him to our upper level or out to the patio. Before he decided to open his mouth and be a jerk he needed to look around. He went from “jerk” to “stupid asshole” in the blink of an eye.

    Yes, some parents let their kids run wilder than dingos, but some of us parents do teach our children manners too. If the kid next to him wasn’t causing any problems, he should have kept his pie hole shut. Ironically, he was causing more trouble than the nearby child was! LOL

    Yes he was. Since most restaurants in Cody are family restaurants I hope he had fun eating at a convenience store.

    Reply

  6. whatigotsofar
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 17:40:35

    Can’t speak for your part of the world, but around where I live there are restaurants that don’t let children in. We call them strip clubs.

    Here they call them bars. Many of them serve food. Personally, I’d rather deal with kids than drunks.

    Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Jun 03, 2010 @ 04:04:29

      Some of the strip clubs ’round here are a bit classy. The nastiest one has been closed down.

      We don’t have strip clubs here. Cody people would flip shit if one tried to open. Instead, we have skanky bars where women take it off for free, then they puke.

      Reply

  7. brknhrt75
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 18:53:29

    You should teach a class on how to not take shit. I would totally attend it. 🙂

    HAHAHA! One of the new servers had a lapse in judgement and said, “Cora is going to be just like Holly when she gets older.” It was meant as a criticism, but we took it as a compliment.

    If I start teaching that class, I will let you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

