Malfunctioning Robot

Winter is so boring I run on auto pilot and do my job by rote, sometimes half asleep.  Lately I feel that my auto pilot is broken or that I am a malfunctioning robot.  

Over the weekend: 

  • Three out of four times when I went to pick up food I yelled, “Order, please!” instead of “Thank you!”
  • There are certain foods which we have to call back to the cooks.  I randomly called back tossed salads and desserts.  This created a chorus of “Get it yourself!” from the cooks. 
  • Once, instead of calling, “Order please!”  I bellowed, “Have you decided?!”
  • Once, instead of saying, “Thank you!”  I hollered, “Would you care for anything else?!”

When I approach the food window, the cooks look like this: 

Get it? They are boy cooks.

 

I’m like that kid in “Artificial Intelligence” who flipped out.  Somebody better push my Reset button or soon I will be disowned and replaced.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 09:32:30

    I hate when the signals get scrambled in there. Yeah, we need a reset button, don’t we? How great would life be with one of those on our backs?

    It would have to be where we could reach it ourselves. I don’t know that I would trust anyone else with my reset button.

    Reply

  2. Heif
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 09:36:54

    I’m glad this is only seasonal for you. I mailfunction like this all the damn time! I’ve actually answered the phone at my desk,”oh crap” instead of hello!

    HAHAHA! It may be seasonal and it may be age related. I’m just noticing it now. If it’s age related, I probably won’t notice it for long.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 10:42:14

    After you requested a tossed salad, did anybody offer to toss your salad?

    Uh, no. I think they wanted to toss me out the door.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 12:36:47

    I think it’s going around. I was on the phone with a friend of mine last night and blanked out like 4 times, those stupid brain freezes. She said it’s been happening to her a lot this past week too. I think it’s a seasonal thing, post holiday slump or something. I don’t know but I want it to stop! Do you have any idea how embarrassing it is to say “cooking thing” instead of crock pot? *eyeroll*

    In the winter I had brain freezes. I could NOT think of the most basic words. Now it’s like I’ve shortcircuited and everything is just pouring out.

    Reply

  5. brknhrt75
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 14:30:11

    Maybe we should all start doing crossword puzzles? I heard they help exercise the brain muscle. 🙂

    I used to do crosswords all the time, but I stopped because I didn’t like the new one in the newspaper. Any puzzles are good for your brain.

    I once was stopped for speeding on my way to a college Spanish class. The officer asked me a question and I answered, “Si, Senor.” He thought I was trying to be a smart ass, but I was honestly just prepping myself for an exam! I was so embarrassed.

    I hate it when people think you are being a smart ass when you are being serious. Happens to me all the time.

    Reply

  6. blogmella
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 10:13:31

    Oh dear! Hahaha! I think it is age related, I know I’ve gone MENTAL since the menpause set in. I can’t remember anything some days.

    I’m definately menopausal and I hope that’s it and not early onset senility.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

