The Mexicans

Every summer we have a crew of Mexicans who do the jobs the Americans don’t want to.  For the last few years it has been the same group of guys:  Pablo, the Pervert (age: 35); Cesar, the Needy (age: 24); and Cerillo, the Quiet (age: 22).  There are many benefits to the Mexican workers:

  • They show up on time. 

They don’t:

  • Complain
  • Create drama
  • Call in sick
  • Steal
  • Get drunk and come to work with a hangover
  • Talk/text on their cellphones
  • Take a cigarette break every 15 minutes
  • Leave work early because of some imaginary illness or because they’ve “worked too hard”

However, there are things they do which make me wish they would stay in Mexico:

  • Pablo & Cesar:  We do NOT need to renew our acquaintance EVERY TIME we pass one another in the restaurant.
  • Pablo:  You do NOT need to yell my name EVERY TIME you see me.
  • Cesar:  You do NOT need to ask me, in English, what the English version of a word is.  For example, “How do you say ‘Salad’?” just makes me want to stomp on you.
  • Cesar:  You do NOT need to ask me if I’m angry every 30 seconds.  Look around.  I’m BUSY.  Two very different emotions.
  • Cesar:  STOP standing in doorways.
  • Pablo:  I’m not married.  I’m not getting married.  You still have no chance.
  • Pablo:  I do not want to drink beer with you.
  • Cesar:  STOP following me around being needy.  I don’t have the time.
  • Cesar:  STOP whining that I’m not nice.  I am nice in the winter.  I’m busy making money in the summer.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 11:34:21

    I thought it was hysterical you defined “busy” as an emotion rather than a state of being. Very telling.

    You mean it isn’t an emotion?

    Happy weekend. Make a mint! 🙂

    Thanks! You too!

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 13:46:30

    I am nice in the winter. I’m busy making money in the summer.

    Hahahahaha! One can’t be busy AND nice at the same time! LOL That’s why moms often seem so cranky, too. 😀

    No. I have a limited supply of nice and I have to save it for my customers.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 15:13:34

    Every time I see immigrants doing work locals refuse to do I want to go to the welfare office with a gun and just start shooting. Now mind you, if there wasn’t a market for immigrant labour, I’d have been born in a shitty little hole in Italy and have no prospects for my own future unless I got up and went to Canada/USA. But it sickens me when I see people from Canada/USA refusing to work because they are either too lazy or think they’re too good for some jobs. Heck, I don’t know what these people think. They suck. Fact is, somebody has to dig ditches and scrub toilets. We’ve all had jobs we didn’t like but we took them because we didn’t want to starve.

    Amen.

    The guys who work in the restaurant come up here legally. They pay taxes and social security just like the rest of us. They are paid a fair wage. We don’t hire them because they are cheap, we hire them because they WORK.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Jun 05, 2010 @ 15:54:23

      WIGSF, I couldn’t agree more. I wonder how many of those same people who won’t clean toilets or pick grapes then turn around and complain about immigrants. And get over the “learn to speak English” comments… most immigrants to the US speak far better English than those who complain speak Spanish (or Italian, or Japanese….)

      We have a large population of migrant workers due to the sugar beet fields. People complain about them all the time, but you won’t catch a white person hoeing the beets in the summer sun. All I can say is ‘kwitcherbitchin’ unless you want to do the job for the same amount of money. They aren’t taking anything away from white people.

      Reply

      • Ahmnodt Heare
        Jun 06, 2010 @ 05:14:03

        Sparty is correct. Many “English-speaking” people get confused between “your” and “you’re.” They also get thrown for a loop with “there”, “their”, and “they’re.”

        Reply

  4. blogmella
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 18:13:43

    They want you.

    I’m not interested.

    Reply

  5. blunt delivery
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 18:19:28

    it never fails. every time you work in a place with a kitchen (even the nursing home where i currently work) there are skeezy mexicans.

    they come up to the reception desk. they linger. they ask what i’m up to after work. every day i give the same response: bed. they must think i’m the most boring person alive. yet, it does not phase them.

    There are certain words I never use around the Mexicans and “bed” is one of them.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jun 06, 2010 @ 05:17:49

    I had a temp job a long time ago and was astonished that the company that had a few of us temp workers on the site also had many illegals. We wouldn’t be complaining about illegals if it was the doctors and scientists crossing the border. It is the poor, uneducated, and sometimes illiterate (even in Spanish) that cross over.

    I understand it is a problem in the border states, but here our migrant workers are legal. They pay taxes just as we do. These guys come up here and work like dogs for 5 months, 7 days a week; 14 hours a day, then they go back to Mexico and live like kings the rest of the year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

