Tourist Season is Here…

and it’s kicking my ass. I am so exhausted I want to crawl in a hole somewhere. 

Every night when I come home my dogs say, “Mom!  What happened to you?!”  My legs and shoes are covered with splashes of beer, wine, rib sauce, potato salad, Cole slaw, baked beans, sweet tea and various sodas.  I look like I’ve been wading around in a Dumpster.  Worse still, I smell like I’ve been wading around in a Dumpster.

I’m not even serving food to people, I’m slinging it like Jim Carrey in “The Grinch”:

Beef plate, pork plate, rib plate, Cole slaw, Cole slaw, beans, chicken plate. Yeah, that’s me.  I’m making a bucket of money, but it’s quantity not quality service, and I’m not proud of that.

My cooks aren’t helping matters either.  Occasionally people have their act together and ask for extras (ranch, sauce, sour cream) when they order instead of making me run back and forth from their table to the kitchen.  I love these people.  But when I write the extra item on the ticket and take the time to highlight it, it  pisses me off to no end when the customer has to ask for it AGAIN when I deliver their food.  It not only makes me look bad, but I have to run my tired, old, ample ass back to the kitchen to get what should have been on the plate in the first place.  Yes, I should check my plates first, but I am used to working with Zach and Darren and I don’t have to check my plates.  The fifth time I had to return to the food window for ranch, which was highlighted on the ticket I said, “Guys.  Please read my tickets and make sure ALL of my highlighted items are on the plate BEFORE you call me.”  Each cook (3 of them) had 3 excuses why they were half-assed doing their job.  It was excuseapalooza.  That’s fine, but I won’t ask nice a second time.  Just so you know.

My co-servers are just as overwhelmed.  Everyone has the general look of panic one gets when their hair is on fire.  All of the servers who were hired in the winter, who coasted by doing as little as possible now know what I meant when I said, “Wait until summer…”  Some of them are ready to find themselves replaced because no one has time to pick up their slack.  Nobody is standing around in the waitstation anymore.   Everyone power walks to their tables for 5 hours straight.  This means I’m ravenous and dehydrated when I get home, so I gorge on food and water before I fall into bed.  When I wake up in the morning I’m bloated and I slosh when I walk.

And it’s only the second week in June.  It will get worse.  I plan to be dead by July.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 03:40:00

    I’m thinking planning on being dead by July will slow down the money-making process for you.

    It’s tough to survive on summer income for a year. I’ve heard this from every person I’ve ever known who survived on tourism for a living. Summer SUCKS … and yet, so doesn’t.

    I’ll throw a prayer your way so you can hang on, survive the buckets of money, and THEN die. Funerals are expensive. 😉

    Summer sucks, but the money doesn’t. I’m just too fat and old for this shit.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 04:01:48

    If your dogs are talking to you, it’s time to take a vacation to room with padded walls.

    Talking dogs are the least of my worries.

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 06:48:14

    I think if you stop wading through the dumpster, your shoes would look cleaner at the end of the night.

    The Dumpster is the dining room and all the food and beverages I slop on myself in my haste to half assed serve people.

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 09:40:45

    Aw, keep it up! It will be so nice after Labor Day weekend when you can again put up your feet and relax. That’s only 3 months away! If you’re busy, it will go by fast.

    (whining) But I’m nearly dead now. I can’t even think about Labour Day.

    Just keep singing Money, Money, Money by ABBA to yourself. Maybe that will help. 🙂

    I do and damn the money is nice.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 11:22:47

    Wow, hang in there. I guess if you’re going to be that busy at least you ARE making good money.

    It’s just such a major change from winter. It didn’t get gradually slow so we could adjust; it was a madhouse overnight.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 22:50:57

    Well, you’ll have lots of money for a really nice funeral, right?

    Seriously though, everyone just has to find the summer groove, and it shouldn’t take long, especially if you’re that busy already.

    And just think of all that LMKIA is going to learn! Hahahahaha!

    HAHAHA! I think she figured out to stop pissing me off. She still makes me grind my teeth, but not nearly as much.

    Reply

  7. blogmella
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 12:54:59

    You need to be put in charge of training!

    I need to be somewhere that I can collect lots of money with my feet up. Okay, that doesn’t sound right.

    Reply

  8. Christy
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 13:40:27

    I love your blog, first of all. Second, it’s the opposite here in New Orleans, the summers are the slowest because everyone runs from the heat! We save for summer throughout the rest of the year. Keep up the good work!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    I wish we had more business in the winter than summer. Our busy season is only 4-5 months and the rest of the time is very lean with higher bills. It hurts me real bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

