My First Poll

As it turns out, the Fed Ex driver had a brain and he called me to verify my address.  But not until I spent an hour on the phone with Verizon trying to do 2 seconds worth of paperwork to change my address.

Once I received the phone I couldn’t activate it.  I had to drive to Cody and it took more than 2 hours with customer service, a tech guy from Verizon and a tech guy from Palm before we could activate the phone.  It required 2 manual resets, and one accidental 911 call.  I was ready to throw the damned thing in the parking lot and run over it with my van.

It’s working now and it’s about the coolest thing I’ve ever seen.  The internet connection is pretty amazing…it might be worth the extra $30 a month since I can see myself using it all the time.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blogmella
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 12:56:51

    A happy ending! Yay! But what a bunch of wankers they sound!

    Luckily an upgrade only happens once every two years or I’d be batshit crazy.

    Reply

  2. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 14:35:04

    @Blogmella-I love the word ‘wanker.’ British English has the best insults. 🙂

    It does, doesn’t it. British insults always make me laugh.

    @Holly–Hooray for new phones! But that’s ridiculous, what extra trouble they put you through to get it working!

    I’ve never had that much trouble. I hope it isn’t an indication of future trouble with the phone.

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 16:05:03

    This is why I’m afraid to take my 5 year old cell phone in. I don’t need all that fancy stuff, I’m on the Internet far too much already. lol

    I really liked my Centro and didn’t want to upgrade, but my daughter has a way of stealing upgrades. I knew if I didn’t do it now, it may not be available in a month. I do like the phone, but I think it’s built more for people who have busy lives. My schedule is the same, I don’t have dates or appointments. It’s just the same shit everyday.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Jun 11, 2010 @ 14:49:09

      I hear ya, Cindy. I hate to go through the hassle of upgrading. Not to mention I’m cheap and it seems to just be a way to add on more and more costs.

      I’m annoyed at the required data package, but very soon all but the most basic phones will require some sort of data package. Hopefully, that will drive the price down.

      Reply

  4. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 04:37:52

    My niece sent flowers to my sister for Mother’s Day via UPS. She had them shipped “overnight” the Wednesday before Mother’s Day. She didn’t get the flowers until the Tuesday after Mother’s Day because they were sent to the wrong address and the wrong street. The flowers were almost dead.

    But yet she had to pay for them, right? This is why I order stuff online where I type in the address. There are fewer errors than telling someone your address.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

