The Week of Weird, Part I

Several people have commented that there is something strange going on in the world.  My “Week of Weird” started on Saturday, but I haven’t had a chance to write about it.  Don’t worry, I took notes.

I put gas in my van every night after work.  If there’s one thing I know, it’s as soon as I shell out 75 dollars to fill my van with gas, it’s going to be dead beside the road.  Therefore, I keep it under half a tank and add a small amount every night.

Saturday night I was standing at the pump, half asleep after working 11 hours of pure hell, when this 60-ish year old woman in a newer Pontiac Vibe pulled up behind me.  She rolled down her window and asked if I could buy her some gas.   

Okay, hello. 

I’m driving a 15 year old van and she’s driving a new Vibe.  I just finished running my ass off for 11 hours, and yes I have money, but it was hard earned money that I need to catch up on my bills from the winter.  I don’t mind helping those in need, but she didn’t really look needy.

I shook my head no and she drove from the pump to the front door of the gas station.  Then I felt bad.  She looked tired and worn out.  What if she had to make a cross country trip to her kid’s funeral and she was on fumes trying to get home?  What if she was fleeing an abusive husband?  Oh sigh.

As I walked to the gas station to pay, I decided I would ask why she needed the money.  When I got to the store, I noticed she was out by the pumps asking other people for money, so I asked the counterperson if she had been bumming it all night.  They said she hadn’t. 

Then this other woman in an ugly western style shirt got her panties in a bunch about the woman in the Vibe, interrupted my conversation with the counterperson and got up in my face about giving her money.  Apparently, she was against it.  I was too tired to give a shit.

I finished paying for my stuff and as I walked out, the Vibe woman walked in.  I asked her why she needed the money.  I said, “I don’t mind giving you money, but I don’t have a lot of money to give.  Before I give you anything I would like to know this isn’t a scam or a hoax.  You are well dressed and drive a nicer car than I…”

“Who the hell do you think you are?” the woman in the ugly shirt screamed at the Vibe woman.  “I saw you get money from that young guy, and while he might be good looking, we picked him up hitchhiking on the road, so I know he doesn’t have any money.  If you don’t need the money, he does.”

“I’m sorry.  He gave me five dollars…”

“YOU don’t even have license plates on that car!  YOU are scamming people out of money!  YOU should get in your car in leave!”

The Vibe woman looked her in the eye and said, “Yeah, and YOU have terrible taste in clothing.”

I looked at her and said, “Um yeah, I’m going to have to agree with her on that one.” 

In the end I gave her the 6 dollars I had left after my bank deposit and gas purchase.  Hopefully she made it to wherever she was going.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 15:09:46

    So you think she was legit?

    I’m not sure. I didn’t feel good about giving her the money. Usually when I do something nice, I feel good about it, but it made me feel queasy. The next night the counterperson told me she ended up collecting about $100 and she bought gas, cigarettes and junk food before they told her she had to leave. Still, if you’re out of money and trying to get home I suppose those are reasonable purchases.

    Reply

  2. Cindy
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 15:28:49

    The Vibe woman looked her in the eye and said, “Yeah, and YOU have terrible taste in clothing.”

    I’d give her 5 bucks just for that. 😄

    That’s kind of what I thought. 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 16:25:04

    That is totally freaking weird. I have never seen anyone do something like that.

    Me neither. She had California license plates so maybe that’s how she travels.

    But the exchange between Vibey and Uglyshirt was hysterical! I might have given her the spare change in the little coin thingy just to see that. 🙂

    It was priceless. And what was with the “I know the hitchhiker is good looking and all…”? Both of these women were in their 60s and the Vibe woman was begging for money, not checking out the single guys. I think the other woman wanted to ditch her husband and get a little hitchhiker action.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 21:31:13

    Uh … that’s creepy. Sorry, I don’t do strangers and money for some reason. I’ve bought a couple of people burgers and such, but I don’t pass out money anymore. Just … me, though.

    Well, like I told her, I don’t have a lot of money to hand out. If you’re pulling a scam, you can do it on someone else.

    Ever find out why she had to panhandle?

    No. After she got in the fight with the other woman I tracked her down in the parking lot and she still wouldn’t tell me why she needed money. She said, “Are you going to help me or not?” That made me heave a gigantic sigh and hand over the money. She acted like I was slowing down her begging with all the questions.

    Reply

    • Bob
      Jun 11, 2010 @ 06:37:06

      If she was going to be rude and not give you a reason (even a made up one) then I wouldn’t have given the money but that is just me.

      I think at that point I knew I was being scammed so I just gave in. I know how low people can go, but I like to believe it isn’t true.

      Reply

  5. blogmella
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 00:00:57

    I love the way you invented reasons that she needed the money and therefore reasons to feel guilty. Haha! Awww.

    I’m good at feeling guilty.

    In this instance (and I know it probably encourages drug addicts to beg etc. etc.) I might well have done the same as you. The way I look at it; if she is legit I’ve done the right thing… If she is lying, I’ve TRIED to do the right thing but SHE is going to burn in Hell. 😉

    I really think she was scamming, but then I don’t know. I have heard of people who beg for a living. Some of them earn more money in a year than I do going to a regular job. Begging is their regular job.

    Reply

  6. whatigotsofar
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 03:43:15

    What ever happened to the lovable hobo, going from town to town by hopping up on a moving train?

    Apparently they have seriously upgraded their begging talents. I’m thinking of begging come winter if I can score a new car.

    Reply

  7. Sherri
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 06:44:04

    People do travel that way. Several times, people have asked me to buy them gas. Usually they’ll have an excuse ready. Once a guy said his car ran out of gas and his wife and kids were trying to get to another state. I’d have given that guy money if I’d had any on me, just in case he was telling the truth.

    I could afford a new car too, if I didn’t buy gas.

    Or cigarettes or junk food.

    People do the dine and dash in the restaurant as a way to cut travel costs. They usually tip an adequate amount then leave one at a time. Luckily, the server isn’t stuck paying the tab.

    Reply

  8. Becky
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 14:37:27

    I don’t think it matters if she was scamming you or not. All you have to think about is that she needed something and you gave it to her. It was only $6 and if she DID scam you, then shame on her, not on you.

    You’re just racking up your karma points. 😉

    That’s true.

    Reply

  9. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 14:21:51

    I did have that happen to me once. On the way to a wedding. And back. Not enough money for gas, and not enough money in my bank account. Had to beg strangers for it at the gas station. Humiliating. Not fun.

    I can see how it could happen and I would hate to be unkind and not help a person out, but I also hate getting scammed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

