Week of Weird, Part II

I have a black folder for my tickets.  I also keep pictures of my kids, comic strips, and notes customers have left for me in it.

Saturday night (again) I had a table of an older couple and a local couple in my age group.  The older man was a borderline douchebag from the moment he sat down.  He kept making snide comments that weren’t challengeable, but weren’t really nice either.  He snarked on my intelligence, my abilities as a server, my weight, and my appearance, but not enough to make me dump something in his lap; just enough to be an annoyance.

As I was prebusing their table, the younger man asked for their ticket.  Since I had my left arm full of plates, I set the ticket folder on their table and started looking for their ticket.  Of course it had to be the last one, and when I picked it up, the old fart could see the pictures of my kids.

“That’s HORRIBLE looking!” he nearly shouted.

By then I had closed the folder so I opened it again and asked, “You mean my son’s hair?”  (In the picture my son has a mop of curly blonde hair.)

“No!  That girl.  She’s HORRIBLE looking.”

I wanted to straight out punch him in the face.  I’ll tolerate your snarky comments about me because I can see you’re an asshole, but you better keep your mouth shut about my kids. 

“My daughter is NOT horrible looking.  She is NOT even plain, homely, or average looking.  She is a beautiful young lady and you should learn to keep your mouth shut.”

That was the first of four fights I’ve been in with customers this week.  Arg.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 14:49:38

    Definitely should have dropped a drink on him or something.

    I wanted to stick my foot up his ass.

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 14:52:31

    Wow. I have no words.

    I do and they none of them are fit for polite company.

    Reply

  3. Heifer
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 14:56:15

    Bastard. I hate him

    Me too.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 14:56:22

    Your daughter IS a beautiful girl and that guy was a complete jerk. Even if she WAS homely he should have more manners than that. Did he tip? I’d like to think he felt bad and left you an extra-big tip.

    The people he was with paid and tipped 10% as do most locals.

    When I yelled at him he said, “I didn’t know that was your daughter.” Well who else’s picture would I carry around?! I obviously care about her if I’m carrying a picture. People need to learn to keep their pieholes shut.

    Reply

  5. izziedarling
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 18:46:20

    I would have thought it perfectly fine if you’d dumped a tray of goo on him and then stabbed him. Inexcusable.

    I like the stabbing idea…

    I keep reminding my co-workers that I have a van without any seats in the back. I also have a tarp and a shovel for disposing bodies.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 20:51:04

    Ooooh boy. Them’s fighting words.

    My granny once ripped out a hank of hair of a woman who said something bad about one of her sons.

    HAHAHAHAHA!

    I’d have been livid too. I know it must have been incredibly hard to restrain yourself.

    People think they can say any old shit to a server and she has to take it. Then they meet me.

    Go ahead and complain to the manager about being a douchebag. I dare you. You may not tip me, but just like the kid who has his weed stolen by a teacher, you’re not going to tell someone in authority either.

    Reply

  7. blunt delivery
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 21:45:44

    you did not EVEN say that.

    Yeah, I did. Tact and diplomacy are not my strong points.

    if you did, i love you even more.

    You’re going to love me even more when you read tomorrow’s post about the fight with the gay guy.

    Reply

  8. DarcKnyt
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 00:29:38

    OhmyGod I’d so KICK HIS ASS right there in the restaurant. That’s beyond reprehensible and despicable. That’s truly a case for the “He needed killin'” legal defense.

    I don’t think a jury would convict me.

    That might be the worst thing I’ve read on your blog. That’s inexcusable rudeness and he deserves to be struck for those words.

    I grew up around men who were emotionally (and sometimes physically) abusive. They would say shitty things and if you pitched a fit and stood up for yourself, they would say “you just don’t have a sense of humour”. They would take no responsibility for their assholery, it was YOUR fault you “couldn’t take a joke”. My ex-husband (yet another reason why) was a master of this. Well, guess what?! A joke is only funny if more than one person is laughing. People also make excuses for this behaviour: Oh, he’s just *that* way. Yeah well, he needs to find a different way to be around me cuz I’m not putting up with the shit.

    Hope it gets better.

    Just wait for tomorrow’s post…

    Reply

  9. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 04:40:13

    You are a better person than I am. I would have become clumsy with hot liquids.

    Actually, if he had said that at the beginning of his meal, he would have had some additives to his food.

    Reply

  10. whatigotsofar
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 04:44:42

    Thus proving you are not a bear. When something gets in between a bear and it’s cubs, the bear kills that something.

    He was ignorant and not worth going to jail for.

    Reply

  11. beckyb26
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 07:56:02

    That’s nuts. Who does that? I don’t understand where or how that would be an ok thing to say to someone. 😦

    Jerks abound.

    Yeah, even if it wasn’t my daughter it was obviously someone I cared about. Jerk.

    Reply

  12. blogmella
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 16:31:36

    What a fucking asshole. Oh my stars, I hope the other people in his group told him off later.

    Most likely not. They sat there with stupid grins on their faces since they were happy he was dishing out his abuse on someone else.

    Reply

  13. tipsfortips
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 23:24:27

    Oh hell no. I am all for politeness and not taking things personally, but that is beyond general inconsiderateness. While i would never advocate such things, this is the lesser known reason Visine was invented.

    I’ve found sanitizer water works better. It isn’t as traceable. Oh, did I say that out loud?

    Reply

  14. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 14:18:47

    What an asshole! What makes him think he has the right to say that to you? If he’s a local maybe he can get additives in his food next time. Warn the other servers about that guy’s assholery…The NERVE of some people! And right after you’d pointed out the other picture was your son!

    He deserved to have his ass handed to him.

    I don’t advocate putting additives in people’s food, but more people need to think it’s a possibility. If people thought there was a chance of that happening I’ll bet a lot of attitudes would change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

