Not a Good Night

Every. Single. Order. the kitchen put out last night was wrong.

Ordered:  Beef plate with Cole slaw & beans. 

Received:  Beef plate with French fries & potato salad. 

Ordered:  Pork plate with potato salad & French fries; pork sandwich with Cole Slaw; beef sandwich with corn.

Received:  Pork plate with Cole slaw & corn; beef sandwich with French fries.

And on and on and on.  My very first order was wrong so I started checking the plates BEFORE I hauled them to the tables.  I said, “This is wrong” so many times last night I finally got tired and just started rehanging the tickets and asking for a do-over.  It was pathetic.  Somebody needs to learn the abbreviations.

Then during the height of the dinner rush one of the cashiers dropped a bowl of beans on the floor by the buser station.  The Mexicans “cleaned” them up by sweeping them in the butler, leaving bean goo on the floor.  I stepped in the bean goo while carrying a stack of plates.  One second I was up, the next I was on my ass on the cement floor, surrounded by broken dishes.  Yay me.  I got to continue working with bean goo on my ass.

Last night was not a good night.  That’s all I have to say about that.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 10:06:19

    New cooks haven’t learned the abbreviations yet? Is there any middle ground you can find so that the orders will be correct?

    Other than me standing in the window telling them the food’s wrong…no. Some cook never learn and they are demoted to prep or dishwashing.

    Reply

    • Bob
      Jun 15, 2010 @ 13:17:55

      Do you have to use abbreviations? (Excuse the possibly stupid question)

      Yes. They are standard and everyone has to learn them.

      Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 10:22:40

    Bean goo on your ass.

    Sounds much more fun than it actually was.

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 11:39:26

    I’m glad you didn’t get hurt to seriously, but I bet you are sore today. =) Back in the day when I worked as a waitress in a truck stop, I once had a customer come up behind me and as I turned he bumped my arm, I dropped the coffee pot and then I slipped on the tile floor and landed with my hand in the glass…that was fun.

    Ouch. I don’t know how I didn’t end up in the glass. I fall down at least once or twice a summer so I’m pretty good at it.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 13:13:49

    Ouch!! I’m sorry about the fall. I hope you weren’t hurt. I’ve had tailbone problems for years so even hearing about a fall like that makes me gasp in imagined pain.

    In my younger days I was a skater and skiier. It’s almost a reflex to land on one side of my butt or another. My left cheek has lots of padding so all’s well.

    Sounds like it’s time to start smacking the cooks. 😉

    Oh, the cooks…Grrrr.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 14:13:23

    OMG! I’m glad you’re ok. I think some cooks and some Mexicans need to be slapped. Hard. I hope your customers were patient with the extra-long waits that screwed up orders must have led to.

    I think they felt sorry for me after my undignified tumble (oh yes, I did it in full view of nearly everyone in the restaurant).

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 15:18:00

    Hopefully, it was but one night in futility. There is a Wendy’s near where I used to lived that ALWAYS got my order wrong. The worst was when I ordered a small coffee and ended up getting a large cola and a medium french fries.

    I hate ordering at the drive-thru. They fuck you in the drive-thru.

    Reply

    • Ahmnodt Heare
      Jun 16, 2010 @ 19:02:34

      That Wendy’s didn’t have a drive-thru. I had to go in and order.

      HAHAHAHA! Somehow that’s worse. It says, “We don’t even care about trying to get your order right.”

      Reply

  7. DarcKnyt
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 17:36:56

    The idea of beans in goo isn’t appetizing at ALL. I know what you meant but … ICK. Goo. You say goo to me and I think of that thick, ropey shit Shamu leaves on people’s faces, necks and hair when s/he “kisses” them, or the stuff that trails away from the guano when a bird craps on your windshield.

    Haha! Not that kind of goo at all. Bean slime might have been more accurate.

    I’m glad you didn’t get hurt, though.

    Me too. I’m old and fragile.

    Reply

  8. blogmella
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 00:36:49

    I feel sorry for you after that lot… But I also feel hungy now.

    You might want to wait a bit before you order ‘cuz who knows what you’ll get.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

