Random Things

Last night I went in the beer room to get a beer for Jamie and someone (Tom) had left the Snake River Lager tap running.  The five gallon overflow bucket was full and had a nice foamy head, like a cupcake, and beer covered the floor.  Basically an entire keg of beer went down the drain last night.  I’m glad I’m not figuring cost and loss for the restaurant.

Everything was funny last night and I don’t know why.  I can’t pinpoint a specific incident either.  I guess I worked with funny people last night rather than people with sticks up their asses.  Nobody was freaked out, running around yelling, or pissed off.  It was a very unusual night.

One thing is under my skin though.  All the years I’ve worked there, the servers have tipped the busers 2% of their sales.  ALWAYS.  The owner decided that my son made too much  money the first night he worked…more than the dishwashers on an 8 hour shift…so he cut the percentage to 1.5.  On one hand this means I keep .5% more of my money, but on the other hand it sounds like Quinn is being accused of working the system.  He was paid no differently than any of the other busers I’ve worked with for the last 3 summers or the other little buser girl working now.  So I’ve either been screwed for the last 3 summers or my son’s getting screwed now.  I’m a little irritated.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 13:52:41

    It seems pretty mean to change a system that has been in place for so long.

    That’s what I thought. In all fairness, the owner hasn’t been hands on for all the time I’ve been there. This is the first summer he’s taken an active part in running the restaurant. Maybe he did think it was unfair for the servers to pay out that much money regardless of who it went to. Perhaps it was presented to me in the wrong light. But then that means I’ve overpaid busers more than a thousand dollars in the last 3 years.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 14:01:41

    That sounds hinky about changing the pay scale for no clear reason. Is there any way you can look into it?

    I’m going to ask Darren on Monday.

    I’m glad you had a fun night though -those are nice to have. 🙂

    They are nice to have.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 15:01:32

    Fun nights make it all worthwhile. Or they did, back when I worked in food service. Or at all. Fun times at work help the medicine go down.

    Is Darren the owner? If not, is he the right guy to take this to? It’s coming from the owner, right? Can you ask him?

    Darren is the manager. The owner only comes to the restaurant in the mornings and since I work nights, I don’t see him.

    Reply

  4. blogmella
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 15:47:43

    Good luck with asking, I’d be pissed off if it was one of my sons.

    I’m still a little annoyed, but I plan to be adult about it and ask first. There were some things going on with the old general manager which are just now coming to light. He was the one who set up the pay scale for the busers and maybe he was wrong. Just because something happened for years doesn’t mean it’s right. I think I’m more annoyed that I overpaid the busers for years rather than my son is being paid a half a percent less.

    I’m glad you had fun though! The wasted beer is a shame but at least it wasn’t wasted JD and Coke. 😉

    HAHA! It’s funny you were the only one who commented on the wasted beer. That’s what I would have noticed too.

    Reply

  5. zmanowner
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 04:01:49

    Cat

    Thanks for the kind words. Things are getting better and with friends like you….a speedy recovery is easier, your support and friendship help immensely lets me know how much people really do care….*zman leaves 100 dollar tip*…zman sends

    Thanks! There is something to be said for the power of group thought.

    Reply

  6. NayNay
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 08:47:34

    This post reminds me of the job I had hostessing one winter. My tip-out, as well as the bartender’s, depended on the number of servers working. There was even a chart in the kitchen to remind everyone. Well, one night we had a staff training meeting and the owner starts rattling off completely different tip-out percentages. When I called her out on it, she tried to say that I was mistaken. I said, “Um, no. When you hired me, you said that my tip-out would be X, Y, or Z%.” I reminded her about the chart in the kitchen.

    The next day the chart was gone.

    It’s funny how things change, sometimes in mid-stride. It makes you wonder who benefits from the change in percentages.

    Thanks for stopping by. It’s always nice to see new people.

    Reply

  7. izziedarling
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 16:23:32

    Sorry but that just sucks. It’s not right. Surely they will come to their senses. Ridiculous. Glad you had some funny moments ….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

