Yellowstone National Park, Part I

A while ago someone asked why we get so many summer visitors.  I gave the brief answer of Yellowstone National Park.  I will now elaborate with stolen Google pictures and research found on:   

 

HISTORY 

Yellowstone National Park (YNP) is the United State’s first national park.  It was established on March 1, 1872 and is located in the northwest corner of Wyoming.  More than 90 percent of YNP’s 3,468 square miles (8,980 km) is in Wyoming with smaller parts in Montana and Idaho. 

 

In 1807, John Coulter, a member of the Lewis & Clark Expedition, passed through an area that later became part of YNP.  He described a place of “fire and brimstone”, but his story was dismissed as delirium since he was found wandering naked and wounded from a battle with local Indian tribes. The area, which includes land around the town of Cody, was nicknamed “Coulter’s Hell”.  

 GUIDED TOUR 

The visitors we see are going in or coming out of YNP via the East Entrance. 

Typically not until mid-May, though.

 

The East Entrance is the only one that matters.

Visitors are given a stack of pamphlets at every entrance to YNP.  Most of them are warnings about staying away from the animals: 

Seriously, stay away.

  

Visitors are also given a map of the park and our guided tour will start at the East Entrance since it’s the only one worth mentioning. 

 

  

Yellowstone Lake is one of the largest high-altitude lakes in North America and is centered over the Yellowstone Caldera, the largest super-volcano on the continent. The caldera is considered an active volcano; it has erupted with tremendous force several times in the last two million years.  Rumour has it, if it decides to blow, we’re all dead.  

 

 

  

Fishing Bridge, built in 1902, it was once Yellowstone’s most popular fishing location.  I remember my grandpa taking me here as a kid and I had to fight for a small space on the bridge to fish.  

Fishing Bridge Then

Fishing is now limited to catch and release so hardly anyone stops. 

Fishing Bridge Now

Turning left after Fishing Bridge, you will find Natural Bridge.  This bridge is a 2 1/2 mile hike from the road so since I’m lazy and don’t want to be eaten by a grizzly, I’ve never seen it.  But here’s a picture. 

Not worth a grizzly attack.

If you turn right at Fishing Bridge (which is my recommendation since there isn’t much between Fishing Bridge and West Thumb except Natural Bridge and a possible grizzly attack) you will find the Mud Volcanos.  They are less “volcanos” and more “oozing pits of hot, muddy slop”, but that doesn’t look good on a brochure.  They also stink like rotten eggs. 

And they are somewhat perverted looking.

Mmmm...can you smell it?

  

 

 Continuing on, you will find The Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone.  This is probably the most photographed and painted sight in all of YNP.

 

Lower Falls

Upper Falls

  

  

  

The next stop is Tower Falls by Tower Junction.  I think this is a more impressive waterfall, maybe because it is less photographed. 

 

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

A nice resting place is Mammoth Hot Springs.  Lodging is available and it is well worth spending an extra day or two at the hot springs to see the splendor. 

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

 

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

 

This is also a nice place for this post to stop and rest since it is HUGE.  Part II will cover the area from Mammoth to the South Entrance.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 22:44:08

    One day I hope to see the park. It’s one of my “before I die” things to do. 🙂

    It is really worth a visit. I had to steal images from Google because I haven’t been there in years and all my photos are on paper. I might have to make a trip this summer for some digital images of my own.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 00:06:04

    That’s awesome. You’re awesome for crediting that censoring POS Google with the photos, too — no one else does.

    Screw Google. I was thinking of the little guy and I don’t want my ass sued for copyright infringement. If there was a copyright, I put the website in the name of the photo.

    It’s a magnificent park, and I have to see it someday. 🙂

    It is really a great place to visit.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 00:06:42

    That place looks absolutely amazing! Wow. That is now on my list of places to go.

    Wait for Parts II & III. You’ll be planning your next vacation as soon as you see the images.

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 06:48:13

    That is a lot of research.

    I’ve lived here forever so most of it just came from my brain. The pictures took a lot of time to assemble, though.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 14:35:40

    This is great. You should be a travel writer! OK, admit it, though… you came up with this idea after you learned I was coming out there this summer. 🙂

    I did travel writing for a while…remember all those brochures, magazine articles, magazine advertisements, and news articles I did for the resort in Belize?

    I came up with this idea when I had nothing else to write about and remembered Catherine asking why we get tourists in the summer. Besides, the words Yellowstone National Park will bring visitors to my blog. 🙂 Hope you find it useful, though.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Jun 22, 2010 @ 16:35:30

      Oooh, that’s right, I do remember Belize. And yes, I’m actually taking notes off your Yellowstone posts!

      I’ll get the animal one up tomorrow so you’ll know what to look for.

      Reply

  6. Kirby Jonas
    Jun 23, 2013 @ 14:48:21

    I don’t know if someone already told you, but your photo of “Upper Falls” is just a closer view of Lower Falls. 🙂 Great shots, though!

    See what happens when you steal pictures from Google! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

