Pow Wow Weekend

I forgot this was Pow Wow Weekend in Cody.    

My first clue that things were going to be out of control.

 

My second clue was that the restaurant parking lot looked something like this:  

Arg!

 

 And any thoughts of a peaceful night were dispelled by the sight of the lobby:  

Crap.

 

Okay, so I exaggerate, but I’m not lying when I say the restaurant was jammed from before I got there until I served the last meal at 10:30.  We didn’t finish closing until a little after midnight.  It was crazy.  

Even with that many people, we pretty much rocked.  Cora and Brittney handled the hostess and cashier duties.  They kept a nice flow of people in/people out.  The cooks, Cody, Chris, and Chets were at the top of their game and I must say they kicked ass.  April, LMKIA, Raecheal, Amber and I ran our asses off and had a ton of fun doing it.  Raecheal started bitching early in the evening, so I grabbed a bus tub and cleaned off three of her tables.  Then I slammed her with three groups of people.  Find time to bitch now.  I didn’t hear another word out of her.   

I love summer when the restaurant runs like a well oiled machine and everyone is cracking jokes because they are high on endorphins.  It’s why I do what I do.  

Okay, so now that I’m done patting myself and everyone else on the back, you are probably wondering what the Pow Wow is.  It is a weekend of costumes, dancing, music and wares at the Joe Robbie Pow Wow Garden of the Buffalo Bill Historical Center.  Below are some images of past contestants.  (All images were taken from Travel Web Shots and all credit goes to member “menramerika”)  

  

  

  

  

  

If you go, be sure to bring your camera.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 12:20:30

    Do you ever find time to go to the Pow Wow yourself?

    This year was the 29th annual one and sadly, I’ve never actually been. It’s horribly crowded and usually hotter than Hell, two things I try and avoid. The pictures are beautiful and some day I would like to go, but it really is more of a touristy thing to do.

    Reply

  2. Catherine
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 13:24:44

    You didn’t mention your tips. I hope you made enough to keep you smiling through the quieter winter days. You gotta make hay while the sun shines!

    The money was good, but Native Americans aren’t known for their tipping generosity. I can’t complain so I guess I won’t.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 15:14:21

    Wow! Pow! Pow Wow! Good tips then? I’d think so but hey … I’ve learned not to assume anything reading this blog. 😉

    Glad you had a good night though.

    The money has been good all this month and that’s a blessing. I’m happy we all didn’t get our asses handed to us like we usually do.

    Reply

  4. blogmella
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 16:07:44

    That looks very impressive! 😀

    Glad everything went well.

    I think it gets bigger and more colourful every year. Someday I might actually go.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 20:35:02

    That looks like so much fun! I’d love to go to something like that. It’s so colorful too. 🙂

    I’m ashamed to say that in all the years I’ve been here I’ve never been to a Pow Wow. Maybe you should visit and we can go together.

    Good for you for heading off the bitch session at the pass. Sometimes, busy has it’s good moments. 😀

    I’m good at heading off bitch sessions or giving people something to bitch about. These young girls are so much fun.

    Reply

  6. beckyb26
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 21:15:23

    That does look like fun.

    Money, money money…..Yay!

    Yeah, any time I see a line of people out the door, I hear the sound of money falling from the sky.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

