There’s Always One

During the summer there is always one group of people going to the rodeo who didn’t plan ahead.  This means they expect to walk into the restaurant and have everyone drop what they are doing and attend to their needs.  Screw everyone else who did plan ahead and got there before them.  They are going to the rodeo, damn it, and they are more important than everyone else.

I had that group last night.

Kayla told me I had a group of 4 at Table 10 as I was getting the drinks for Table 11.  While I handed out drinks to Table 11, one of the guys at Table 10 started doing the monkey dance, bobbing and weaving, trying to get in my line of sight.  Maybe he thought I would tell Table 11, “Screw you guys!  These  people are much more important than you are and even thought you got here first, you can wait.”  Fat chance.

After handing out the drinks, I settled in to take their order and the guy practically climbed onto their table to get my attention.    I said, “Sir!  I will be with you in a moment” and pointedly turned my back on him.  After I finished the order, I put a pitcher of water on Table 10 and told them, “Let me hang this order and I will be right back.”

I walked to the waitstation, put the order in the computer, and hung the ticket.  I noticed I had food up for Table 12 so I grabbed the order and started walking to my section.  The total time that elapsed since leaving Table 10 was all of 2 minutes.  As I was walking to my section I heard Raecheal say, “She’s right there taking food out.  Go back to your table and wait for her!”  I turned to see what was going on as the guy reached out and grabbed Cora.  Cora stopped right in front of me and I rear ended her, dropping a plate of food. 

After I dropped off Table 12’s food, I had to go back to the kitchen and re-order what was on the floor.  So now the elapsed time was closer to 5 minutes.

When I got to the table the guy pointed at his leg and said, “Look what you did to my pants!”  His jeans were splotched from ankle to hip with rib sauce.  I gave him the blank stare.  “When you dropped that plate, you splattered me with sauce.”

I laughed, “Oh HAHAHAHA! Yeah I did.  You grabbed Cora and caused me to drop someone else’s food and now he has to wait for his dinner while his family eats.  Guess you were in the wrong place at the wrong time.  Don’t worry, it washes out.”  I was completely unsympathetic.  Cora was unsympathetic.  Kayla was unsympathetic.

By not waiting his turn, the guy actually slowed me down so it took longer for me to take their order, and he got to go to the rodeo with stained pants.  His inconsiderate behaviour ruined someone else’s meal and caused more work for the staff. 

So, for disrupting my entire section with your impatient, selfish sense of entitlement:

Next time, plan ahead!

Asshole.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber Roberson
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 13:34:11

    Douchebag is one of my alltime favorite words. We don’t use it nearly enough in our everyday speech!

    I use it pretty frequently…douchebag, bag of douche, or just plain douche. I find it can be applied to practically everyone in one situation or another.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 13:37:06

    Is there no fast food places they can go to if they are in such a rush?

    Yeah, Arby’s is right down the street or they can buy hot dogs at the rodeo, but noooo…

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 13:42:11

    I’m with Bob, why go to a really busy restaurant if you are running behind? Some people aren’t born with logic or common sense… but usually have too much entitlement issues. *shakes head*

    The more I deal with the general public, the more I realize they drink from the Fountain of Stupid.”

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:08:50

    Good grief! What a spoiled brat! I bet his parents let him run around screaming like a banshee in restaurants when he was a kid too. This is how they grow up.

    Probably. He was older than me and no doubt in need of a good ass kicking.

    Reply

  5. whatigotsofar
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:11:20

    People who don’t plan ahead do indeed suck. The question is, what do they suck? Do they suck monkey balls? Do they suck goat anuses? Or do they just plain suck? I’ll let you decide.

    I’m going with goat anuses.

    Reply

  6. blogmella
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:21:49

    Some people think that self-esteem is the same thing as thinking you are the most important person in the whole world. I’m glad he got spattered!

    Me too! I laughed right in his face and there was no way I could hold it back. I wonder if he’ll think twice before he pulls that shit in another restaurant…doubtful.

    Reply

  7. DarcKnyt
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 18:28:46

    Ah, the douchebag award winner for the day. Nice.

    First, WTF with that behavior from a grown man?!

    It happens at least once a night and it’s always a man who can’t possibly wait one more second. In all fairness, men probably wait for hours for the wife and kids to get ready and now they are late so he has to get impatient with the server. She’s the only one he has any hope of controlling and even that’s not likely.

    Second, AAAHAHAHAHA at the sauce on pants.

    That was freaking priceless. What was better was I didn’t even know it happened until he threw a fit about it. Sit your ass down and things like that won’t happen to you.

    Third, who the f**k at a RODEO cares that he has a stain on his pants? Aren’t they watching the rodeo? Blink and you miss something. Who’s studying a douchebag’s pants?

    He looked like the type to take his jeans to the dry cleaners so they could be perfectly pressed. He was pretty much a mess when he left and nobody gave a shit.

    Sheesh.

    Reply

  8. beckyb26
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 21:05:43

    Rude people suck.

    That’s all I have to say.

    ‘Nuff said.

    Reply

  9. trailerparkbarbie
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 08:20:00

    With a little luck, a hungry animal sniffed the sauce on his pants and ate him!

    HAHAHA! I didn’t think of that.

    This is the type of people who feel the urgent need to post everything that they do…from going to the 7-11 to going to the bathroom…on FaceBook. Jerks!

    You’re exactly right. They are so important, everyone needs to know it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

