Bob’s Bleach Bucket

Dishwasher Bob insists on soaking the towels in a bucket of 3/4 water and 1/4 bleach.  This irritates me to the point of a meltdown every time I see it.  The towels sit in this bucket of greasy slime until someone (other than me) needs one, then they fish it out and rub greasy bleach water on all the restaurant surfaces.  My head is pounding as I type this.

  • Bleach is not a degreaser.  It would be much better to rinse the towels in a solution of bleach and water then soak them in dish or laundry soap. 
  • More is not better when it comes to bleach.  I’ve watched Dishwasher Bob pour half a gallon of bleach in a five gallon bucket and put two gallons of water on top of it.  Half a cup of bleach would be more than enough in that little of water.
  • Bleach degrades the cotton in the towels.  The reason the towels are soaked is so we can reuse them and cut down on professional laundry expense.  If you shake one of the towels when it’s dry, little cotton fibers fly everywhere.  BECAUSE THE BLEACH IS EATING THE TOWELS!  No one listens to me when I try to tell them they are ruining the towels rather than cutting down on laundry expense.
  • Bleach ruins clothes.  Yeah, all those new shirts I bought?  Keep your bleach towels away from me because if I end up with bleach spots, I’m going to get angry, and you won’t like me when I’m angry.

Life would be so much easier if everyone just listened to me.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 14:15:15

    You should run the restaurant.

    Screw that. I should run the world.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 18:53:47

    Why would I listen to you? You’re a woman.

    You are a woman, right? Because this one time…

    You should listen to me because I know everything. If you don’t believe me, just ask.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:56:58

    Hide the bleach! Ugh, they are destroying those towels, not to mention probably ruining some of their own clothes too with the splashes! Sheesh!

    Just a tiny bit is needed for disinfecting, that’s all, not gallons. Yes, they should listen to you.

    And, I should be queen. 😀 Deal? 😉

    Well, no. If you were queen then they’d have to listen to you.

    Reply

  4. Catherine
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 00:17:45

    I think some people have a bleach fetish and just cant get enough of it! It’s useful stuff in moderation but do we want all those unnecessary chemicals entering the water supply?

    Bob’s an idiot.

    Reply

  5. blogmella
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 05:34:46

    My brother had a tiny stain on his shirt once and my Mum tried to get rid of it with bleach. Later she washed the shirt through and it fell apart.

    People should listen to you but men always think they know best.

    Who knows more about laundry? Men like to make jokes about a “woman’s place” so they should listen to us when we are talking about our domain.

    Reply

  6. progressboink
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 16:56:47

    I have had the exact same argument with dishwashers/bussers at other places I’ve worked…and have the bleach-stained uniforms to prove it. UGH.

    For some reason people think more is better with bleach. You’d think they would catch on when their skin starts shedding off like a snake’s.

    Also, I added you to my blogroll; I like your posts!

    Thanks! I added you to mine so maybe all 4 of my readers will visit you. 🙂

    Reply

  7. izziedarling
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 05:28:01

    You are right, we should always listen to you. I do.

    That’s good! 😉

    Reply

  8. beckyb26
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 07:08:08

    People think bleach and hand sanitizer are what is going to save the world. Little do they realize that it’s actually what’s destroying the world by creating super bugs. Stupid people. 🙂

    I know. All hand sanitizer does is rub dead germs around on your hands. Soap and water, people!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

