You’re Not Our Server

Monday night we had some very impatient people in late at night.  We weren’t busy and one of the new girls was waiting on them.  I was on the other side of booths doing my fills when the lady popped over the divider and asked if they could get drink refills.  I said I would be right with them, put the napkins I was holding in the caddy, and started for the waitstation.

Less than 30 seconds had passed since the woman asked me for drink refills, yet there she was at the register yelling at Kayla.  “I want drink refills!  Why is it so hard to get some fucking service here?!”

Whoa.  Don’t yell at Kayla.

I was on her like white on rice.  “You JUST asked me for drink refills and I said I would be right there.  If you will go back to your table I will be right out.”

So she sat down and I took a pitcher of water to their table since I didn’t know what they were drinking.  The woman looked up at me and said, “Oh.  You’re not even our server.”

No shit.  Let’s break this down.

I am:

  • Blonde
  • 45 years old
  • Bespeckled
  • Round
  • Wearing a sky blue shirt
  • Wearing neon green Crocks and neon yellow socks
  • Wearing shorts

Your server is:

  • Brunette
  • 23 years old
  • Wearing contacts
  • Round
  • Wearing a red shirt
  • Wearing tennis shoes
  • Wearing pants

Apparently all round people look the same.  Just insert one tubby for another and feel free to scream at them.  After all, who gives a shit, we’re fat.  Or apparently all servers are interchangeable and less than human.  Either way, I’m not impressed.

In the end, they gave me $10 for filling their water and bringing another beer and glass of wine.  They also apologized to Kayla and I.  They even tipped the new girl (who made herself really absent when the yelling started) six dollars. 

I understand people traveling all day are tired, hungry, thirsty and crabby but seriously, stop being douchebags.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 11:50:20

    I like how your description including socks and shoes. I don’t think I have ever made note of my servers socks and shoes.

    They are pretty obvious. I recently had a woman track me across the restaurant and yank my arm to ask where I bought them since they are no longer sold in Cody.

    Reply

  2. redriverpak
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 11:50:28

    As a fellow 45yr old “round” person…I applaude your restraint. A lot of people in your shoes would have tossed that pitcher of water on them and let them have it. Glad they saw the error of their ways….

    People don’t pay a bit of attention. I’ve had people accost me when their server was a foot taller than I am. I’ve had people try to tip me rather than their 18 year old cheerleader server. That old saying, “If it was a snake, it would have bit you” is so true.

    Reply

  3. The Snide Server
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 11:59:08

    I hate people that think we’re all the same! I’ve ran starters off to a table for another server, and they proceed to give me the rest of their order. It’s rude and blind.

    I could maybe see it if everyone wore the same uniform, but we wear different coloured shirts. It really puts you in your place, though.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 12:21:12

    You know, only 2 year olds get away with having fits because they’re tired and hungry. For the grown-ups (?!) not so much.

    At least they apologized, which is a lot more than I can say about some of your other patrons!

    I see so many straight out bitchy adults in the summer. Once they have some food and/or drinks they go back to being human and some of them even apologize. I may be ready to kill all of my companions after a long drive, but I never take it out on my server.

    Reply

  5. Sherri
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 12:38:43

    Yeah, they sort of redeemed themselves when they apologized and tipped well. Everybody has crappy moments, but it’s how you handle it afterward that says the most about your character.

    That is true. They could have stiffed everyone and left in a huff after trying to get a free meal. In the end, they redeemed themselves.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 15:55:23

    Wow, an APOLOGY? I mean, a real, live HUMAN gesture? NO WAY!

    I was still reeling from the $10 tip so the apology almost knocked me over.

    Reply

  7. redriverpak
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 16:10:08

    I hope you don’t mind but I added your blog to my blogroll. If you do mind, for a $10 tip, I will gladly remove it…. 🙂

    I don’t mind at all and I could use the exposure…but a $10 tip…

    I’ll return the favour cuz your stuff is fun-ny.

    Reply

  8. whatigotsofar
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 16:29:27

    I would refuse to be served by a woman in socks and crocks. Just an FYI.

    I’m funny. You’d get over it.

    Reply

    • whatigotsofar
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 06:45:41

      Wearing socks in crocks kinda defeats the purpose. But most of all, I hate crocks. I think they are ugly as sin and if I were king, I would outlaw them and punish all who wear them.

      I have to wear socks in the restaurant. Ohhh…punishment. Would it be a light spanking or a full on caning?

      Reply

  9. blogmella
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 22:54:26

    You young people sure wear a lot of crazy colours! I was the same back when I was 45… Those were the days.

    HAHA! I’ve always worn crazy colours and ones that don’t match. I’ve been dumped for being too colourful.

    Reply

  10. PurpleGirl
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 03:58:29

    I FUCKING HATE THAT SHIT! I used to think it was just that all restaurant employees are interchangeable. Then I noticed that I never got confused with the skinny women. But at my old restaurant, I was constantly mixed up with another fat girl who had flaming red hair that hung past her belt. I have blonde hair, shoulder-length at the time. Now, I get confused with another fat woman who has very dark brunette hair and wears glasses. I’m still blonde and don’t wear glasses. Or with another woman who’s my size, but Mexican.

    It makes me want to throttle people. More than usual.

    I’ve been confused with women who are a foot taller than I am. I think people just don’t pay a bit of attention nor do they care to.

    Thanks for stopping by. I’ve received a ton of hits since you added me to your blogroll and I much appreciate it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

