Surviving the 4th

We all survived!  Yay for us!

We only had a couple of problems like the guy who brought his wife’s chicken to the food window, threw it at the cooks and yelled, “This is fucking RAW!”  I read the part of the menu to him where it says, ‘We use hickory wood to smoke our meat and while it gives the meat a distinctive flavor, it also turns it pink.  Please rest assured the meat is fully cooked.’  His mother-in-law laughed at him and he stared at the table all through my lecture on what raw chicken actually looks like.

The other problem was that a transformer (no not that kind) blew up and left most of the West Strip, including the restaurant without power until 2pm on the 4th.  That was a huge financial hit to the restaurant and the people scheduled for the day shift.

Other than that, we all rocked every single night of the four day celebration.  Hats off to the cooks, cashiers, hostesses, bus boys, dishwashers, prep cooks and other servers who made the weekend a success!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 12:51:49

    Wait… which kind of “transformer” because my first instinct is the normal power one but you told me “not that kind”, are you saying that Optimus Prime blew up on Independance Day? That sounds like a movie waiting to be made!

    I was hoping to head off all the Optimus Prime jokes, but it looks as if it happened anyway. If they make a movie, remember it was my idea!

    Reply

  2. blogmella
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 13:49:27

    Gah, trust that evil Megatron to cause trouble!

    It’s always something.

    I’m glad it mostly went well and I hope that guy learns to read soon.

    I doubt he’ll throw that sort of fit again anytime soon.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 15:16:28

    Okay, two people beat me to the Cybertron punch… Well, off to watch some TF cartoons.

    That’s what you get for showing up late for the party.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 16:22:31

    Oh man, that sucks about the transformer! It must have been really hot and a lot of people turning on the A/C. At least you guys rocked for the nights, woo! Hope you made the bookoo bucks!

    That guy cracked me up. Some people are really paranoid about chicken being thoroughly cooked. Hickory smoked chicken … mmmm *drool* I need to head over to your restaurant! You have lots of good stuff there!

    People need to learn what raw chicken actually looks like. We do have lots of good stuff.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 17:19:59

    Congrats on surviving the madness intact and sane! Well … okay, maybe you weren’t sane to begin with, but you don’t seem any MORE crazy today. 😉

    I hide the crazy well. 🙂

    Hope you had a nice holiday weekend.

    It was just work, work, work.

    Reply

  6. noe noe girl
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 12:34:26

    Survial of the fittest! Great job!
    <

    I’m beginning to think I’m too old for this shit.

    Reply

  7. izziedarling
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 05:45:07

    I think you rock … what kind of hillbilly would throw his food and curse the cooks? Do y’all have bouncers?

    I’m beginning to think we need them. I can’t believe the assholery of people.

    Reply

  8. tipsfortips
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 14:51:19

    I get this with fish alot. A table the other night said, “The wild salmon is delicious, but is it safe to eat it that rare?” It was about medium so I offered to bring it up a temperature if they wanted it more well done. They replied again that they loved the flavor, but were concerned if it was safe to eat undercooked. I couldn’t bite my tongue any more. I just said, “There are no health concerns. We serve it considerably more raw on the sushi side of the menu.” I tried to give her a way to not make me say it. Why do they make us point these things out before they stop making stupid statements?

    The other night I had the Dumbest Question again. I tried to give the woman an out without making her feel stupid, but she just wouldn’t take it. Finally she asked, “Well, do the beef and the pork taste the same?” Arg! I couldn’t stop myself and ended up with a 5% tip. Stupid is as stupid does.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

