Day of the Dead

After six days of the restaurant looking like this:

I’m starting to look like this:

and feel like this:

Only one more day until I have a day off.

Every time I looked at the door last night there were just more and more and more people.  We went on the waitlist at around 4:45 and didn’t get off it until about 9:30.  At least on the nights of the 3rd and 4th I couldn’t see all the people camped out on the lawn waiting for a table, but last night was cold and everyone stood inside in the way.

My highlight of the night was an exchange with a redneck woman: 

Redneck:  “This was supposed to be on garlic toast!”

Me:  “I’m sorry.  I didn’t hear you ask for it.” 

Redneck:  “I didn’t.”

I have got to stop wearing my tin foil hat to work if I’m ever going to be psychic.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 14:43:16

    that picture of the cat collapsed in the kibbles is hilarious

    I have cute pictures of kittens passed out in all sorts of things, but they aren’t digital so I have to steal other people’s pictures.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 14:44:47

    What the?! You were supposed to intuit her order without her saying anything? What, does she watch too many episodes of Star Trek? Thinks people can communicate just with their thoughts now? LOL What an idiot!

    She was an even bigger idiot for admitting the mistake was hers, yet still being pissed off about it.

    I hope you enjoy your day off hon, and that nothing crops up that demands your attention, except dreamland. 🙂

    My sister is here from Michigan and we are going to be tourists in Cody then go to a movie. Don’t know which one yet.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 14:49:02

    Oh my goodness. I hope your Bank Manager is pleased though. 😀

    No, but my bill collectors are. 🙂

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 15:28:08

    I just don’t see why you didn’t understand the lady’s order. She had to have given body language hints, right? Don’t you spot those things? What’s the matter with you?

    I was tired and my feet hurt.

    And how ’bout you guys having a COLD night?! Awesome. It’s been horrid hot and humid here, but to be fair, it’s always horrid here.

    July started out horrid, then I remembered I have A/C in the van. After that, it got cold.

    LOVE the pics.

    Thanks, I love stealing.

    Reply

  5. whatigotsofar
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 15:31:16

    And by the way, I would prefer the garlic toast should the situation arise.

    I’ll keep that in mind.

    Reply

  6. Heifer
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 16:18:04

    Of course ESP was on the application when you applied

    Of course it was, but I lied about it just like I did about all my other abilities.

    Reply

  7. Still Waiting
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 23:14:08

    I actually got smart-ass with a customer over just this situation once.

    “Where’s my side of sour cream?”
    “I don’t recall you ASKING for one.”
    “I didn’t!”
    “Okay. So you’re upset that I didn’t bring you something you didn’t ask for?”

    I got chewed out a bit for that comment (by the guest and my manager), but I felt that I was being fair in that statement.

    lately, I’ve had several people bitch at me for not bringing them what they didn’t ask for. I don’t know what the hell is going on except more stupidity.

    That was at the Mexican food restaurant where I worked for one sad, painful year before moving on to my current place of employment. I’m making 2-3 times as much now. There’s something to be said for the clientele…

    During the winter I always think I need to move to a restaurant where the locals aren’t assholes, but I don’t know which restaurant that would be.

    Reply

  8. noe noe girl
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 08:36:50

    Wait!!! Mind reading is not apart of the job???
    <

    Only on days which end in Y.

    Reply

  9. The Idiot Speaketh
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 07:29:55

    You should have got some garlic toast and beat her to death with it! 🙂 How you do what you do….without going postal….is beyond me…. 🙂 You are a strong woman!

    Lots and lots of medication. 🙂

    Reply

  10. thoughtsappear
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 06:24:06

    Great picture of the passed out kitten!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

