Let’s Exaggerate

A little while ago I posted a story about a disagreement between LMKIA and another waitress who shall henceforth be called The Hypocrite.  I am The Hypocrite’s new least favourite person.

Some back story on The Hypocrite:

  • She asked one of the waitresses to stop saying, “Oh my God!” because it offended her.
  • Then she started smoking.
  • She told Jamie she was superficial.
  • She told one of the servers that Cora was going to be a bitter, old hag just like me by the time she was my age.  (Cora and I took it as a compliment.)

She has insulted practically all the staff, yet gets sand in her vagina if someone says anything to her.

Friday night she decided to eat in the dining room with one of her friends.  This is against policy unless the restaurant is empty and then it’s at the manager’s discretion.  It was around 8pm and the dining room was pretty full, so when she walked through the waitstation I asked, “You do know you can’t eat in the dining room, right?”

“Amber told me I could.”  Well, that would be great if Amber was any sort of management.

A few minutes later Amber walked through the waitstation and I asked, “Hey, did you tell The Hypocrite she could eat in the dining room with her friend?”

“No, I told her I didn’t know if she could or not, so she said she was going to do it anyway.”  Ah, different story.  Whatever.

Then Amber came rushing back into the waitstation, laughing her ass off, “The Hypocrite just asked me if you had attacked me yet and said I should be ready for it since you went for her blood over eating in the dining room.” 

WTF?!  It’s no skin off my nose if people violate policy.  I’m just giving them a heads up that they are and sooner or later it will come to Darren’s attention when he’s in a bad mood. 

I avoided The Hypocrite for the rest of the night since I didn’t think I could say anything nice, but it put her encounter with LMKIA in a completely different light.

Saturday night two of the servers and I made a bet on who could piss off The Hypocrite first and most.  Well, you know that’s not a bet I’m going to lose.

As I walked through the waitstation to the food window, I heard The Hypocrite tell the other servers, “…Jamie was at my table flirting with them, jiggling and flashing them, so they tipped her.” 

I stuck my finger in her face and said, “You know that’s not true and I’m not going to listen to it.”  I didn’t even break stride on my way to pick up my food. 

A little later The Hypocrite approached me and said, “You know I didn’t mean Jamie was literally flashing them, right?”  I laid into her about her lies, exaggerations, and all around hypocritical behaviour.  You can’t be all Jesus-y and then bear false witness against everyone around you.  That shit doesn’t fly with me.  If I hadn’t walked through the waitstation at that time, everyone would have believed Jamie was lifting her shirt for customers, and that’s straight out bullshit.  It is harmful gossip that could cost Jamie her job.  If The Hypocrite had read the employee manual she would know gossip of that sort is against policy and grounds for termination. 

So, I don’t know if I’m proud of winning both parts of the bet, but if she’s smart, she’ll start keeping her yap closed.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 10:23:59

    Good for you for calling her out on this. What really hurts is how this type of behavior from someone claiming to be Christian is extrapolated to ALL Christians hereafter. If one does it, we ALL must be this way. Doesn’t matter that this behavior runs rampant in NON-Christians and no one cares that it does; but Christians have to be hauled onto the carpet for it POST HASTE and then the failings and weaknesses of the ONE are applied to ALL. That’s PREJUDICE and BIGOTRY if it’s done to others. Do it to Christians and it’s observing behavior.

    It makes me sick and I thank you for making sure she hears about how unacceptable it is.

    Again, good for you! *Ovation*

    For years I had a tough time calling myself a Christian because of people like this. Now instead of being ashamed to be one, I challenge others who talk out both sides of their mouth.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:05:08

    Wait… if you didn’t walk by at that moment then the others would have believed The Hypocrite that Jamie was flashing patrons? Do they really think that highly of The Hypocrite and that low of Jamie.

    Jamie is a very pretty young woman and isn’t the most popular server. The others would have spread that gossip like wildfire just to get Jamie in trouble.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:51:25

    Keep them all in check, they sound like naughty kids! I hate liars.

    I hate liars and people who constantly create trouble.

    Reply

  4. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 13:49:43

    Hypocrisy is one of my pet peeves. I would have index cards with Bible verses of her specific hypocrisies.

    HAHAHA! Holy shit! She writes Bible verses on the back of her ticket books and asks us if we know the verse. I usually ignore her and walk away.

    Reply

  5. Still Waiting
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 17:08:26

    Yep, I used to have coworkers like that. You took appropriate action by calling her out on her lies about Jamie. I’ve been the subject of hurtful gossip at work before, and it doesn’t matter if it’s later proven to be untrue — it’s still out there and in people’s minds, and they DO remember.

    Thanks for sticking up for your coworker, even if she’s not well-liked by everyone. It’s nice to know someone is watching out for her coworkers instead of shooting them down.

    I like Jamie very much, but the other insecure bitches don’t. I don’t call people out on their opinions. People are free not to like one another and to air their feelings, but I won’t stand for outright lying about someone, even if I don’t like them.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 01:53:22

    Wow. What is her problem? Is she jealous because Jamie is prettier or something?

    It always makes me laugh when bitter people accuse other people of being bitter. I always want to ask them, “Looking for some company to love?”

    Good for you for calling her on the carpet for her BS.

    She is bitter and barely human, I think. She’s happiest when other people are miserable or facing misfortune. Who does that?

    Reply

  7. whatigotsofar
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 04:04:56

    You’ve got a waitress that flashes customers? Does she work on that all-you-eat chicken night. You know me. I want to kill two birds with one stone.

    Yes, I think she does. The only people Jamie has ever flashed in the restaurant are Kayla and I. I thought Kayla was going to pass out and I was so shocked I could only stare. For about a week after that all the guys stood really close to Kayla and I.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

