Prayer at Work

 Last night an absolutely horrible family from Meeteetse came to the restaurant for dinner.  They are horrible because they are cheap, inbred, filthy, and lack manners.  They make my skin crawl every time I see them.  I don’t think any of them are worth running over.

I lived next door to one of the sons when I moved back to Meeteetse.  We had numerous run-ins, all of which involved either the police, the Humane Society or both.  Our un-neighbourly relationship ended when he came around the corner of my house to kick my ass and found me standing on my deck with a baseball bat and a smile.  He left right after that.

The sister had a kid a few years ago and it’s rumoured to either have an uncle dad or a grandpa dad.  About a year after the kid was born, I was sitting in the park with my kids after the 4th of July parade.  The sister, mother and the other brother walked by us and my daughter’s mouth dropped open.  The sister was wearing green polyester pants with a blood stain that ran from her waistband down to God knows where.  Every other woman on the planet would have been mortified to tears, but not this pig or her mother.  I believe they see feminine hygiene products as a waste of money.  The same goes for soap, shampoo, conditioner and regular bathing.  

The mother and father are pure evil.  The father went to jail last year for fighting with his neighbour.  The fight culminated with the father laying nail studded wood on the side of the road in the hopes the neighbour’s horse would step on it.  And he also tried to hit the neighbour with a shovel while he was on the horse.

Awful, evil people.

So when I saw the father, sister and her kid in the doorway at work last night, I started praying like I’ve never prayed before.  I didn’t know who’s turn it was.  I didn’t know if it was only going to be the 3 of them and they would fit at my 4 top.  I didn’t know if they would request me.  The sister likes to request me so she can yell at me throughout the meal, but even if she’s in someone else’s section she feels free to spill shit all over and yell for me to clean it up.

“Please God, don’t let it be me.  Please God, don’t let it be me.  Please God, don’t let it be me.  Please God, don’t let it be me.  Please God, don’t let it be me,”went through my head and came out my mouth the entire time the hostess looked for a table.  If I could have prayed on my knees, I would have.

They ended up going to one of the new servers. 

I thanked God a couple of times,and said a Hail Mary and an Our Father.

Then the new server stomped into the waitstation and said, “That fat bitch just slapped her kid in the face right in front of me!”  If she’ll walk through City Park on the 4th of July with a blood stain on her gigantic ass, I’m sure she has no qualms about smacking her kid in front of a lowly waitress.

Awful, evil people.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heif
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 18:05:31

    There’s a special spot in hell for people like that.

    Hopefully, I’m not with them.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 18:14:37

    Thank goodness your prayer was answer as you hoped. That prayer is a GREAT way to have God build your character and personal inner strength and patience. 😉

    My patience with those people ended a long time ago. The only personal inner strength I have when dealing with them is the ability not to throw up on them.

    Reply

  3. tipsfortips
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 20:53:29

    I thought this was going to be about guests praying at work. Which doesn’t bother me. Except for the times they ask me to join them. Which is odd and uncomfortable.

    That would be okay with me.

    I have had people tell me they were going to pray and ask if I had anything on my mind that I would like them to include. That always struck me as sincere and thoughtful.

    I’ve never had people ask me to join or to pray for me. They usually say a quick prayer while I’m picking up the extras for their meal and I return to the table just as they are finishing.

    Reply

  4. Still Waiting
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 20:58:59

    ^ I’ve never had a table ask me to pray with them, but I suppose it’s a nice gesture. As long as they tip me well.

    Yellowcat…God answers prayers. He smiles down upon you. Don’t piss him off. 😉

    I know he does and I’ll have to do a charitable deed in return for that prayer.

    Reply

  5. blogmella
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 00:07:42

    Hahaha! Oh dear me – I’m glad you avoided that lot! They sound as rough as f*ck.

    They’re disgusting.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 00:28:19

    As long as you’re praying and God seems to be listening to you, would you send one up for us too? 🙂

    I don’t know if it was God or the hostess heard me praying. I send one up for you guys pretty frequently.

    I can’t believe – it’s like part of you thinks there’s no way in hell people would actually behave like that, especially in public, and then you see them. They almost seem like caricatures of themselves somehow, you know? Or a really bad stereotype of themselves. Shameful. They give human beings a bad name.

    I looked for pictures on Google to represent these people and even with all the awfulness Google has to offer, I couldn’t find anything that bad.

    Reply

  7. whatigotsofar
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 05:12:31

    Okay, I’m a little uneducated on such matters. Are you saying that a woman had noticeable period blood running down her pants? Because, if that’s so, then you need to rent the movie Superbad.

    Yes she did. I tried to watch Superbad the other night and just couldn’t get through it. It was a little juvenile even for me. My son says the real life version was worse than the Superbad version.

    But yeah, yikes. Looks like the only thing you missed was that they were drinking moonshine in the parking lot before entering the restaurant. And not even from glasses, but straight from a jug with “XXX” scrawled across it.

    That sounds about right.

    Reply

  8. Sherri
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 06:14:32

    I always feel sorry for people like that. The kids, at least, the parents are a lost cause. I hope to heck they are able to grow up with enough kind, understanding people around them that maybe they can get out of squalor when they grow up. Break the cycle of horrible nastiness.

    The adult children are lost causes. The poor kid is going to be a lost cause as well. It’s just a sad cycle of abuse and neglect.

    Reply

  9. The Idiot Speaketh
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 08:01:37

    I could almost swear that I could hear banjo music playing in the distance as I read this!…. 🙂 Deliverance Part Two: The Wyoming clan…..

    That’s no lie except I think hillbillies have more class than these people.

    Reply

  10. Becky
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 17:23:17

    I often joke about being from Ohio and the ill-bred people there, though nothing measures up to this. Yikes. It makes our jokes about people from Michigan seem lame and kind in comparison.

    We don’t make fun of people from other states since we have so many natives to make fun of.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Jul 15, 2010 @ 18:09:18

      Hey! Watch the Michigan jokes….

      These people are sad, sad, sad. I’m glad your prayer worked. 🙂

      Me too. I would have lost my mind if I had to wait on them.

      Reply

  11. izziedarling
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 05:05:51

    Report em’ to the Health Department, CPS, DPS, CIA, FBI – surely SOMEONE can incarcerate the whole nasty lot.

    I think they’ve been reported to every agency and no one wants them. They are icky people.

    Reply

  12. Bob
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 18:38:03

    it is amazing the characters you have coming into your restaurant.

    I’d put them all in a book, but it would probably summon the anti-Christ.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

