A Night Out

Me and my girl

My daughter and her roommate, Carly, are here for Carly’s birthday so we planned a dinner and movie night out. 

 We went to see The Sorcerer’s Apprentice and it was entertaining.  It wasn’t great, but it wasn’t horrible either.  Nic Cage is usually fun even when he attempts an accent and fails.  He didn’t have an accent in this movie.  It was a nice action/adventure flick which was completely predictable, but still watchable.  I’d wait for DVD or catch a cheap matinée, though.

After the movie we joined Carly’s parents for dinner and karaoke, which means “tone deaf” in Japanese.  Dinner was a big, fat disappointment. 

I have to admit I have issues about eating in strange places and my anxiety level red-lines as soon as they hand me the menu.  I really have issues when I’ve heard nothing but bad things about the restaurant, but hey, I was along for the ride and wasn’t going to suggest somewhere else.

I like “fancy” food.  I do not like “old school” food.  I do not like breaded shrimp that every low scale restaurant used to sell back in the 70s and 80s.  I like the big, fat, tempura battered shrimp or grilled shrimp, or shrimp scampi, but NOT those nasty, cheap butterflied shrimp which sell for $1.99 a box.  I also hate those little popcorn shrimp.

Guess what was on the menu.  Cheap shrimp and beef.  Lots and lots of beef.  And the shrimp weren’t inexpensive.  I had an anxiety attack so bad I thought I was going to pass out.  Deep breaths.  Deep breaths.  I ordered a Fat Tire and rolled with it.  If nothing else, I could eat my baked potato.

Brandy and Carly’s sister ordered chicken alfredo and the second the waitress put it on the table, I could smell that the cream had soured.  I told my daughter to eat her toast and pick the chicken out of the sauce, but to leave the rest alone.  I ran into the cook outside later, and I gently told him that the alfredo sauce was bad.  Turns out his brother is Dishwasher Bob.  Small world.  He checked the sauce and asked the waitress to comp the two dinners.  That was good for the server since I left her the cost of my daughter’s meal as a tip. 

We moved over to the karaoke part of the restaurant and sang like a bunch of fools.  Brandy & Carly sang “Tequila”, and “Somebody to Love”.  We all sang, “Harper Valley PTA”, “Sweet Home Alabama”, and “Baby Got Back”.  I was not drunk enough to be anything but embarrassed.  I don’t know if there’s enough booze in the world to make me think I sound good. 

It was nice hanging with my girl and her roommate.  I don’t see them often enough since they live so far away.  We have plans for next month when I take my son back to school, though.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 04:03:49

    Oh, you haven’t heard karaoke until you’ve heard me rock the mic.

    I don’t care who’s singing as long as it isn’t me.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 04:59:54

    Sounds like a fun night, too bad the food wasn’t great.

    I was hoping for a good meal since I seldom get to go out for dinner. Next month we’ll go to some good places in Laramie.

    Reply

  3. izziedarling
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 07:23:32

    Snaps for your pretty little self, yellowcat. Glad you had fun with the girls. Promise on bad cream, my voice is much worse than yours could ever be, but I’ll team up with you for “Sweet Home Alabama” any day of the week.

    It was a very humbling experience, but it was fun.

    Reply

  4. blunt delivery
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 08:09:28

    i’m borderline thinking of protesting you because you don’t hate nicolas cage.

    i’ll let you know what i reach a verdict

    HAHAHA! I don’t hate Neil Diamond or mayonaise either, but now I think of you whenever I hear Neil Diamond or order food from Wendy’s.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 09:47:54

    Ah, Karaoke! Memories!

    I won’t go there.

    GREAT pic of you and the girl, sweetie. What great smiles you both have. 🙂 Glad you had fun.

    Thanks. I wasn’t smiling, I was grimacing. The flash is so bright on my phone I was blind and bracing for the next shot.

    I’m rather sorry to hear about TSA being predictable and cliche, though. I had such hopes for it. Ah, well. 🙂

    It had to be predictable…young hero, unknown powers, learns from a master, saves the world, the end. It was fun, though.

    Reply

  6. blogmella
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 13:42:25

    Awww, pity about the food. Still, it sounds like fun and it is always good to catch up with your kids.

    It was fun. It would be nice to be able to do it more often.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 13:59:58

    Aww, look how happy you 2 are! The pride just oozes out of you, mom. 😀

    I’m glad you had a nice time, but sorry the food was bad. That really sucks. Kind of weird how the cook was related to Dishwasher Bob though! At least the company you were with was good. 🙂

    The Dishwasher Bob connection was kinda weird. After that I was freaked that he might show up.

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:27:06

    Not too weird on the Dishwasher Bob relative, it’s not that big of a town. 🙂

    We were out of town and Dishwasher Bob is from Michigan. It was weird.

    I’m glad you guys got to hang out, sweetie, it sounds like you had a great time.

    Next month in Laramie will be better. I’m so tired right now I’m not much fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

